Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : markethosting.com - new spammer on the block


Blind Freddy
11-04-2002, 03:24 AM
I registered a domain name on behalf of a client 3 days ago using an address that has not been used anywhere else.

Didn't take long for new spammer Daniel Spring at markethosting.com to dig it out.
Owner of the domain is
Arsony, Jane (MOOYJZKSFD)
Postark, DN 1043
Postark, DN 1043
DK

As markethosting haven't rated a mention at WHT before, I thought I'd let you all know.

Ang golly gosh gee whiz! they even throw in a free mySQL database valued at $50.

Hot Dang ! What a Bargain!!!

I don't think that even suckasshost can match that one.

Cop this Daniel - :sickface:


Eric G.


DANIEL'S SPAMMY OFFER BELOW:
========================

All great websites needs a reliable web hosting provider, we are here to provide you with superb hosting for an affordable price and exceptional support.

Here is our special offer to you:

Signup here: http://find.markethosting.com/host

For $9.99 You will recieve:

* 5000 MB of bandwidth
* 1 Gig of Diskspace (Nobody beats this feature!)
* CGI access for your scripts
* FULL SSH/telnet access for full control of your website
* Online Email manager
* FREE Website Statistics (So you can see full details of your visitors!)
* FREE 1 MySQL Database ($50 value)

* And Best of all 30 day money back guarantee. We stand behind our service and know you will love it!

You can signup by going here:

http://find.markethosting.com/host
Daniel Spring

Karra76
11-04-2002, 10:38 AM
Gotta love spamm :) .

sonjgi
11-05-2002, 12:12 AM
why would you want to spread their adert. You should at least take out the hyperlinks

Blind Freddy
11-05-2002, 12:50 AM
Originally posted by sonjgi
why would you want to spread their adert. You should at least take out the hyperlinks

Couple of reasons:

1. So that curious people can easily go to the site if they want.

2. If they are monitoring their traffic, they will see visitors from WHT. If they follow the links, they'll find this thread

And perhaps change their ways ( but I wouldn't hold my breath on that)

3. If I hadn't posted the link, I'd probably be asked for it anyway

If it offends you, don't click on it :-)

Regards,
Eric g.

sonjgi
11-05-2002, 07:32 PM
Good point :-) go to http://www.spamcop.net and submit their e-mail to be blacklisted.

ChrisTech
11-05-2002, 09:31 PM
They emailed me twice, after a nasty email, no more...

spiral
03-12-2003, 12:53 AM
Yep they are still at it,

my story is the same as blind freddy.

registered a domain for a client

client, forwards email to me asking if it was from my company.

i said no, have reported it to www.apple.com (mac.com email address and spamcop)

intellec
03-12-2003, 01:14 AM
what is worse than spam are those phone calls from webhosts selling $99 websites. And if you say NO, they put their supervisor online to talk you into it.

Hey I'm getting used saying "NO" "didn't I tell you NO?" "when I say NO I mean NO" "can you grasp the concept of the word NO?"

And I'm developing an art at slamming the phone back on the hook. Maybe there should ba a national contest on the best phone slammers.

spiral
03-12-2003, 01:28 AM
lol, that sounds bad,

thank god we don't get hosts selling over the phone in Australia

Gnomercy
03-12-2003, 02:02 AM
Well, thankfully Dubbya signed the national "do not call" list into law yesterday. Linkage here (http://www.msnbc.com/news/883783.asp?0dm=C13JB). I'm actually kind of anxious to see how effective it really turns out to be.

Serious Sam
03-12-2003, 02:31 AM
5000 gigs of transfer for that price? Wow :D

kneadingu
03-12-2003, 02:37 AM
you need to find out what data centre they operate from and notify the network/abuse department. This is fine but the power lies within those who own that IP their domain resloves to.

Reptilian Feline
03-12-2003, 08:02 AM
"Do-not-call"-lists? We have those in Sweden. As far as I know they work fine (most of the time). Then again, we don't have that many telemarketers aimed at consumers. Most target different companies.

sprintserve
03-12-2003, 08:04 AM
Originally posted by serious-sam
5000 gigs of transfer for that price? Wow :D

5GB.

SoftWareRevue
03-12-2003, 08:50 AM
Originally posted by Blind Freddy
. . . . . I don't think that even suckasshost can match that one. . . . . . . And you would be correct. :blush: