Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : akashik.net rip


akashik
11-02-2002, 01:33 AM
smell the loser:

http://www.akashik.net <-- us

http://******************.com <-- *sniff*

Not only do did they rip someone that can 'pay them a visit' by bus, but they snagged a two year old design...

*sniff* I smell loser...





*sniff*

Greg Moore

Samuel
11-02-2002, 01:38 AM
******************.com

hahah, I think I guessed who it was, victoria?

Yep, sure did it's a serial site ripper, Greg, I'm going to PM chicken, and tell him it was a good move to rid the board of him again and point him to this thread.

webhosting victoria . com

interactive
11-02-2002, 01:39 AM
whats the url (its banned so you see the little ***) :( stupid rippers

akashik
11-02-2002, 01:40 AM
that's the one:

w-e-b-h-o-s-t-i-n-g-v-i-c-t-o-r-i-a.com

(sincere apologies to the mods for tricking the censor)

Greg Moore

Andrew
11-02-2002, 02:18 AM
Wow, that's the first honest to God rip I've seen around here in a while.

AussieHosts
11-02-2002, 02:19 AM
Wow...Tom certainly has made a name for himself.

Samuel
11-02-2002, 02:31 AM
Its the 9th honest to god rip by him I've seen lightnin, he has been doing it for awhile =)

Andrew
11-02-2002, 02:32 AM
Originally posted by Samuel
Its the 9th honest to god rip by him I've seen lightnin, he has been doing it for awhile =)


LOL...same guy, nine rips? hehe...I guess it reaches the point of being comical sometime...that's gotta be close

Samuel
11-02-2002, 02:33 AM
Yep... same guy

akashik
11-02-2002, 02:36 AM
and to think if he'd put the same effort into a single design of his own he'd be done in a day or two and wouldn't have people on his back. :rolleyes: Sometimes I'm amazed just how much work lazy people put into living :D

Greg Moore

akashik
11-02-2002, 02:38 AM
hey, it's changed already - I guess he got my e-mail...

Greg Moore

Samuel
11-02-2002, 02:40 AM
It's the same here Greg

AceWeb
11-02-2002, 04:00 AM
akashik,

It is still the same. And yeah, congrats on haveing such a great design that others want to rip.

akashik
11-02-2002, 04:20 AM
pfft :) It's a two year old junker now in my opinion. We've been getting to updating it for over 6 months now. Other work just keeps getting in the way.

I'm seeing a different site still so maybe my IP's being redirected since I e-mailed this guy. He did reply saying

"more than 30% of the site is different, from which copyright laws allow"

which is wrong of course... he also claims it's a designer who did it, which I very much doubt reading the posts above.

Oh well, time to drop a note to the lawyers and see what they say.

Greg Moore

Samuel
11-02-2002, 04:22 AM
http://phpbb.*******************.com/viewtopic.php?t=66 lol

Another person sent a cease and desist

http://phpbb.*******************.com/viewtopic.php?t=44

Kaumil
11-02-2002, 04:22 AM
Wow, that sucks!

Samuel
11-02-2002, 04:25 AM
DV2 hosts the slime ball, and last account he was using MCHost reseller services.

Just to get MChost to do anything on the first rip was a nightmare.

Wonder who he is fawning off of now.

Removed the IP to protect the other resellers on that network

~samuel

Samuel
11-02-2002, 04:30 AM
I've removed the contact information for the anonymous domain name per the request of the owner to protect his other resellers.

~samuel

Aussie Bob
11-02-2002, 04:33 AM
Originally posted by Editor
Wow...Tom certainly has made a name for himself.
Toooooommmmmmmmmmyyyyyyyyy....:D

Samuel
11-02-2002, 04:38 AM
Well that rules HTTPme out (Bob, thought maybe you hosted him), but I only thought that for 3 seconds =) (How's the youngster and mommy)

Aussie Bob
11-02-2002, 04:42 AM
Originally posted by Samuel
Well that rules HTTPme out (Bob, thought maybe you hosted him), but I only thought that for 3 seconds =) (How's the youngster and mommy)
Hey :D his money's as good as anyone else's *nudge - nudge - wink - wink* ;)

Mrs Aussie Bob and Peter are doing just dandy, thanks. :agree:

CritticAge
11-02-2002, 07:19 AM
Atleast the person didnt link off of your server :o :stickout:

richy
11-02-2002, 07:35 AM
thats such a blatant rip, its appauling, he didnt even make a decent job of it. whats with his logo? looks like a 3 yr old had a drunken session with an etch a sketch?? its just a random line. 30% different lol did this guy go to school?

Chachi
11-02-2002, 09:08 AM
He seems to have Ceonex's logo as well right at the bottom in his copyright statement.

interactive
11-02-2002, 11:11 AM
some people are just naturally stupid....so stupid they were kicked out of nut houses...you gotta feel bad for them..