View Full Version : Watch your inbox for the Latest SCAM
Joana 11-01-2002, 12:39 PM Just got 5 different copies of an email offering partnership from a person works for viaden.net.. Copmany claims to be in Montreal with big business and looking for hosting partnership.. Please be aware that this person is using a .net domain of a known company name viaden.com .
A little search reveals the following..
Domain is hosted in China (where else..)
Registrant whois info address does not exist
Phone number not in service
Company (.net) is Not registered in Canada
So, be ware..
:mad:
Tallon 11-01-2002, 12:50 PM I just got 2 of those within the last 45 minutes :(
Akash 11-01-2002, 01:02 PM Anyone know who's hosting them?
filburt1 11-01-2002, 01:03 PM What is it with China and spam/scams?
Joana 11-01-2002, 01:12 PM I have sent that Olga person a reply back and let's see if I get any answer back .. :)
-------------------------------------------
Thank you for your interest in a partnership with our firm..
But before we discuss any details, few things comes to mind regarding your letter to us, Like:
1- Domain is hosted in China while you mention that your firm is in Montreal, Canada.
2- Company (.net) is Not registered in Canada
3- Address of company does not exist
4- Phone number not in Service
5- Even though we have tried to load your portfolio page through different direct connections, all attempts faild with "Server not responding" message.
If you can answer our concerns mentioned above, that will be great..
Awaiting your response.
--------------------------------------
Jedito 11-01-2002, 01:28 PM I got 6 of those today :(
binasys 11-01-2002, 01:29 PM Suprise suprise, we got this one too. :rolleyes:
MattF 11-01-2002, 01:36 PM Same here, the name Olga Roy rings a bell, *wishes kept black book*
SoftWareRevue 11-01-2002, 01:40 PM Originally posted by Jedito
I got 6 of those today :( :bawling: I only got four. :mad:
AussieHosts 11-01-2002, 01:50 PM Originally posted by MattF
Same here, the name Olga Roy rings a bell, *wishes kept black book*
This turns up an Olga Roy who seems to be associated with viaden.com so there is possibly a link between the .com and the .net and they're using China to send out some mail? Either that or I just need more/less coffee. :)
http://www.google.com/search?q=Olga+Roy+viaden&hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8
Gary
AussieHosts 11-01-2002, 01:57 PM Originally posted by Joana
5- Even though we have tried to load your portfolio page through different direct connections, all attempts faild with "Server not responding" message.
It loads here. The .com and .net are all tied in. Olga has a .com email address listed on the .net site.
Not that any of this excuses the spam we've been receiving...
Cheers
Gary
JKLIVIN 11-01-2002, 02:28 PM can someone send me some, I haven't received one yet.....: P
Joana 11-01-2002, 02:51 PM Originally posted by JKLIVIN
can someone send me some, I haven't received one yet.....: P
Would you like 1 copy or all copies??
:)
List me all of you different email addresses and will send them to you.
Chachi 11-01-2002, 03:02 PM How many posts do you need to have to get those spam emails?
:D
Synwave 11-01-2002, 03:02 PM Yeah....I got one today also.
Is it possible that she is harvesting the addresses from this forum?
When I tried to access the link provided it didnt work.
Does anyone know how the scam works?
Here is the email.
===========================================
Greetings,
I'm Olga Roy, Chief Business Analyst of web design and programming company Viaden Inc. We are situated in Montreal, Canada, and have been working in the fields of web and graphic design for over 8 years. In this scope of time we have gained the best specialists as our stuff and have become one of the leading and most experienced companies in the industry (you can check our portfolio at http://viaden.net/design/portfolio.html).
I know that you have been in web hosting business for quite a while and are considered to be real professionals. The range of services you offer and your approach prove that it is true indeed. This is the main reason why I've turned to you.
Our company is growing intensively and looking for potential partners in a number of spheres:
- currently, we are interested in finding opportunities for our US clients to be located on your servers;
- we are also eager to find possibilities of collaboration in web design, redesign and
programming for your potential clients.
I do believe we could find a most beneficiary solution for both our companies. Besides, our rates are the most affordable at the market (we charge only $20 per hour).
In case you are interested in cooperation, I am ready to provide a general proposal document where you will be able to see the complete Skills list and the Price list of our services.
We are looking forward to work with you!
Best Regards,
Olga Roy,
Chief Business Analyst,
Viaden Inc
olga@viaden.net
Chachi 11-01-2002, 03:05 PM "best specialists as our stuff"
Pity they didn't hire the best spellers :)
MilkMan 11-01-2002, 03:16 PM LOL I just got one a few minutes ago.
Synwave 11-01-2002, 03:20 PM But I dont understand how its a "scam"?
AussieHosts 11-01-2002, 07:24 PM It's not a "scam" as such...not in the true sense of the word. It's just annoying spam. :-)
Gary
net-trend 11-01-2002, 10:23 PM I got it too, they got all our email addy's from Host Pulse.
ChickenSteak 11-01-2002, 10:25 PM *Didn't* get one:bawling:
Kaumil 11-02-2002, 04:37 AM I got one of these e-mails too. I knew there was something wrong with it.
coight 11-02-2002, 08:52 AM Received 2, anyone noticed they designed alwayswebhosting :rolleyes:
progex 11-02-2002, 09:06 AM Well, what do you know... This "Viaden" company is also very well known at eLance.com.
http://www.elance.com/c/feedback/main/Details.pl?action=sellstats&view_person=-Viaden-
|