inet7
04-16-2001, 01:55 PM
I've been getting a few phone calls today (and customers) from people that are trasferring from addr.com saying they received notice that addr's CC database got hacked...and their bank is dropping funding so addr.com must close down.
Now, if it were just one call....I wouldn't post. But there's been a few. Can anyone Validate this?
(if so.....THANKS ADDR.COM!)
Ken
Yes, We have had the same requests. I cannot say for sure because of the hoax that was out last week about them, but this time customers are coming to me and are nervous.
avara
04-16-2001, 02:35 PM
From what I've heard, this is just a hoax by one of addr's competitors.
inet7
04-16-2001, 03:28 PM
Someone is certainly doing something very nasty then.
A little FYI for furiousstyles:
The information I've gotten from people is very similar and I can verify they are "gun shy" when I ask for their CC number.
They are all receiving the information via email and report that it is directly from addr.com
Good luck!
Ken
Deb Suran
04-16-2001, 04:32 PM
There was a notice sent to many ADDR.com customers that ADDR.com was closing, from an e-mail address in the UK (Duh!). The e-mail was a hoax, almost certainly by someone those of us who have been observing the industry for a while know well. This was preceded by another e-mail campaign, probably from the same individual, to get customers away from ADDR.com, or at least get their credit card numbers: http://www.msnbc.com/news/553615.asp?0nm=T22E&cp1=1
But don't let me stop your customers from finding another host. ADDR.com has been on my "avoid" list since I started keeping one. See the last link in my signature.
It is sad and unfortunate that there are people out there doing these things! :angry:
GeorgeC
04-16-2001, 05:57 PM
I must say this is rather disgusting that someone would scoop this low, either for vengeance, or to drive business to to their own company. When ***** had that major crash, countless hosts began spamming its customers trying to woe them away. It's definitely a cut throat business.
Tim Greer
04-16-2001, 06:35 PM
The email was obviously bogus and I think we all know it's Davey doing this:
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?threadid=8311
inet7
04-16-2001, 06:37 PM
(After doing a search on this site for addr, it appears this isn't a new subject. My apologies for not doing so before I posted the new thread.)
I agree that it's not good any way you look at it, whether its a P.O.'d former customer of addr or a nasty compeditor. (Although I find it more likely the 1st, since any compeditor would try to direct the addr customer to their own service in some way)
Deb Suran
04-16-2001, 07:20 PM
any compeditor would try to direct the addr customer to their own service in some way
He did that first.
Dare I say it... Search the forum for 'True Hosting' and 'TrueHosting'.
Enough said.
That hoax email that was posted on another thread was actually sent out. I have a few clients tell me that they wanted to leave addr.com because they got an email from the company that they were going out of business.
I know the email was a hoax, but I guess whoever wrote it mailed it out.
And I do think experthosting is the 'True Hosting' or 'TrueHosting' guy as BC stated.
Only question I have about this 'True Hosting' guy is did burst.net really buy him? Or was that a scam too?