View Full Version : Newbie Needs advice from pros!!!
greatgraddage 04-15-2001, 10:41 AM I have narrowed my search which has lasted about 3 months down to three hosts:
Aletia Hosting (http://www.aletiahosting.com)
Servus (http://www.servus.ws)
Calipsys (http://www.calipsys.com)
I have decided that I want one of these hosts, so this post isnt looking for more offers. Servus has the best support :D but they host adult sites :(, will this cause much of a problem to me? Calypsis has the worst support. I can't notice any glaring errors in their sites, but if any people who are good at this sort of thing could have a look? Also if anyone has had any good/bad experiances with these hosts could they please tell me?
Many thanks for helping out a poor first timer like me :(
greatgraddage 04-15-2001, 10:51 AM Calypsis is out, they have NO ENCRYPTION on their order form :angry:
greatgraddage 04-15-2001, 03:59 PM Registrant:
Aletia Corporation
237 Tramway Drive
Suite B
Lake Tahoe, NV 89449-6957
USA
Registrar: Go Daddy Software (http://registrar.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: ALETIAHOSTING.COM
Created on: 02-Mar-01
Expires on: 02-Mar-02
Last Updated on: 02-Mar-01
Administrative Contact:
Administrator, Domain dnr@aletia.com
Aletia Corporation
237 Tramway Drive
Suite B
Lake Tahoe, NV 89449-6957
USA
1 (866) 422 7284 Fax -- 1 (866) 728 0154
Technical Contact:
Support, Technical support@aletia.com
Aletia Corporation
237 Tramway Drive
Suite B
Lake Tahoe, NV 89449-6957
USA
1 (866) 422 7284 Fax -- 1 (866) 728 0154
That is the whois data for aletiahosting, not the text in bold, is that something to worry about? I had a good comment about servus on the freewebspace forums, but I cannot do a whois on it???!!! How can I do a whois on a .ws domain?
greatgraddage 04-15-2001, 04:58 PM I got a friend on linux to do a whois on servus and he got this:
Domain Name: SERVUS.WS
Registrant: Donovan G.
Domain created on 30-JAN-01
Domain last updated on 30-JAN-01
Name servers:
ns1.tera-byte.com .... 216.234.161.11
ns2.tera-byte.com .... 216.234.161.12
Should I be worried about the bits in bold?
Not at all - Tera-byte is a great company.
greatgraddage 04-15-2001, 05:03 PM I know but does this mean that they might just be tera-byte resellers or something?
Not at all. They may be colocating their servers with them and are using ter-byte DNS servers. I heard that tera requires their users to use their DNS, but I am not sure
hmmidontthinkso 04-15-2001, 06:00 PM About your topic name:
I want to remind you that this board has a very tiny percentage of pros most pros wanabie or just plain stupid.From looking who reponded to your post looks like pros.
c0bra 04-15-2001, 06:07 PM Servus rent RAQ servers from tera-byte's cheap www.4webspace.com deal. Tera-byte are a good company but I've experienced more than a few connectivity problems of late with our 4webspace RAQ3 server.
4webspace customers are now asked to use tera-bytes DNS as a measure against DNS hacks.
Yes, we rent from 4webspace. It isn't 100% required. I heard that if you send a mail to tera-byte, guarantee that you won't be making any trouble with your own DNS, they will let you use it. But I think that their DNS are more faster, reliable and stable.
I don't think that Tera-Byte have any reseller program, do they?
I don't know why, it just doesn't show up all the info on my domain name. LoL . I thought what have happened right after I bought the domain, but now I am used to it already. Maybe someone can tell me, how to whois a .ws domain ?
-Edward- 04-16-2001, 07:51 AM Originally posted by Donovan
I don't think that Tera-Byte have any reseller program, do they?
Nope
greatgraddage 04-16-2001, 11:27 AM I have put a comparison of the hosts and the hosting packages I like the look of here (http://greatgraddage.tripod.com/Hosting.htm). Is it me or does Aletia look like a "too good to be true" hosts. Donovan, could you perhaps fill in the ??? on the chart for me? I would really love anybodys opinions on these hosts as I want to get this right first time :(.
greatgraddage 04-16-2001, 11:42 AM I got a friend running Linux to whois your domain, I cannot find anywhere on the web to do it.
Mark Vockler 04-17-2001, 03:21 AM Originally posted by greatgraddage
That is the whois data for aletiahosting, not the text in bold, is that something to worry about?
Some people have asked the same question; so don't worry as you're not the first. :)
We are a new spin-off (registered Feb 2001) from our parent company ActivLabs/Oasis Design, who has been helping businesses succeed on the Internet since 1997.
You might want to do a whois check on our other domains "aletia.com", "activlabs.com" and "oasisdesign.com" (newest to oldest).
Oasis Design started off as a web development agency, but the hosting aspect of it grew so quickly that the company thought it would be best to create a division that specializes in web hosting. Hence AletiaHosting.com.
Hope this helps. If you have further questions please feel free to contact us and we will be happy to help.
Mark Vockler
Aletia Hosting
Great, I told you about that in FWS yesterday.
Emm... I don't know what's wrong with .ws , but looks like every .ws domain won't be showing info as details as normal .com domains.
Try register.com whois system.
|