Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : ********.com


seagate
04-05-2001, 05:01 PM
Does anyone know about these guys? I was looking at their site, and it seem professional, but are they a fly by night company? Does any of their reviews hold water?

Cheers,
Seagate

MikePalmer
04-05-2001, 11:52 PM
Not too sure but here is what I do know.

The domain was registerd in 26-Jul-2000. On the site is states: "They enable you to search for over 16,000 Hosting Companies, and over 64,000 Hosting Plans. And it's so easy to use."

My question is how did they aquire information about 16,000 hosting companies and 64,000 hosting plans in less than a year? Does not add up, but I could be wrong. Anything is possible.

m6.net
04-06-2001, 12:01 AM
Dear Mike,

You never know if they have purchase the database from different hosting directory. Now it is very easy to reach to most of the web hosting companies without any effort. I know you have your own web host directory and this information would be helpful to you (I am not sure if you are aware). Most of the web hosting directories allows users to email the entire web hosting companies in their database in one shot. You can use that feature to inform about your new directory.

Also you may think of adding this feature in yours.

MikePalmer
04-06-2001, 12:08 AM
That is a good point :) Anything is possible.

I still find that it would be difficult to gather all that info, or even buy that info so quickly.

I really cannot think of a company that would sell a database of hosting companies WITH all their plans listed. If there is such a company, they are probably making a fortune.

Also, the have 16,000 hosting companies listed. Last I read, there were only about 16,000 hosting providers out there. So, they have everyone listed. Thats Awesome :)

m6.net
04-06-2001, 12:28 AM
I understand your concerns and do have the same doubt you have. What I suggested was just a possiblities and I am not sure about it.

Oh! I remember that few weeks ago I tried to submit press release for my company many times to this directory and the form never worked. I tried to inform them 2/3 time and got reply that the from is working fine, but it never did (may be for me only:)) Anyway I lost the hope and now don't bother to submit any more.

Lonny
04-06-2001, 09:00 PM
I wonder what that guy who posted the question wanted to know ;)

seagate
04-07-2001, 03:47 AM
Well Wonder.....