OpenBSD
04-04-2001, 04:32 PM
I don't think this has been posted yet. But, http://www.trinityhost.com/ basically takes your credit card and bills you as far as your credit card can be maxed. Sorry if this is old news, but I've heard from a few people horror stories.
Geoffrey Smith
http://www.copperminedesign.com
Martie
04-04-2001, 04:41 PM
I believe that is the same owner that ran
pagecreator.net?
Just re-opened under another name. There are articles about this..maybe someone has the info where it can be located.
jtan15
04-04-2001, 07:27 PM
Someone just posted a topic about them (http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?threadid=7954). Looks like they are getting shut down.
Yeah, I heard that the pagecreators.net guys was only like 16 and did alot of credit card charging. Then, since pagecreators went down, he started up trinityhost. Looks like another scam that he had done.
Jim
Phiberop
04-05-2001, 01:43 AM
LOL, I just LOVE this part of their terms LOL
FAILURE TO CANCEL ACCOUNT BEFORE MOVING TO ANOTHER PROVIDER (This only applies after 48 hours of establishment of service with another provider. This gives you time to move your account to reduce any downtime).
If you fail to notify Trinity Host that you have switched providers; thus, you no longer want your account but never notified us to stop billing, etc., a cancel fee of $200 will be charged. You may also be responsible for late fees of no more than $20 or as allowed by law. This does not include legal collection fees.
hahaha oh boy
Laughingly,
Mike
From his order page:
"NOTE: Credit card fraud is a felony and we will aggressively prosecute anyone attempting to misuse a credit card number. We track each transaction and will use all means available to prosecute persons attempting fraud. Your IP address is captured upon signup."
Phiberop
04-05-2001, 02:36 AM
Originally posted by WeinBar
From his order page:
"NOTE: Credit card fraud is a felony and we will aggressively prosecute anyone attempting to misuse a credit card number. We track each transaction and will use all means available to prosecute persons attempting fraud. Your IP address is captured upon signup."
Ha, the irony...
Should be more like...
"NOTE: Credit card fraud is a felony and we don't care. HOWEVER, if you do plan to commit credit card fraud, please choose your target well. We recommend stealing only the finest platinum cards available, the higher the limit the less fraudelent you are."
WildWayz
04-05-2001, 04:10 AM
Yeah - glad he went down :)
I had an account with them, but to be honest, he never over-billed me.
Then again, I had the account for about urrrm... 4 hours :)
I have been ripped off before though - a company called vikmar.com.
Signed up for their hosting package, and was told my credit card was rejected, so I signed up again.
My package was created, but the next day I checked my credit card statement, and saw that someone put through £1 on each credit card followed by £350 off each card.
I found out that someone called
chase@vikmar.com used PayPal to take the money from my account and put it into his - but if I emailed that address I got an auto-responder.
Contacted Vikmar and they said noone worked for them called Chase Kowalski - and the system admin gave me a dedicated server and asked me not to contact the CC companies as they would refund it.
Dodgy.
So I took the server and contacted the CC companies anyway.
Got a letter a few weeks later from the CC companies saying that they could not trace the culprit, so they refunded me the money.
Few months later, my dedicated server vanished too =)
Ah well - you live and learn :)
James
Luke Dryja
04-05-2001, 05:01 PM
I believe someone posted a record on HostRecords.com about this company but I was unable to add it because they did not provide their email address. If it was one of you could you please resubmit the record so that everyone know about its history.
Thanks
inet7
06-06-2001, 01:38 PM
They are effectively shut down by the FTC.
Details (http://trinityhost.com)