Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : SpamCop & Raq4


hci
09-23-2002, 01:24 AM
I found the below config to add ordb.org relay protection to a Raq4 and was wandering if it would work for Spamcop as well. Does anyone know? I imagine I would need to change relays.ordb.org too bl.spamcop.net but is it that simple?


You need to edit the file /etc/mail/sendmail.cf, make a copy first. Find the block of code which says:-


code:--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#########################################################
# check_mail -- check SMTP `MAIL FROM:' command argument
#########################################################
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Just above this block of code type of following:-

code:--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# DNS based IP address spam list relays.orbd.org
R$* $: $&{client_addr}
R$-.$-.$-.$- $: <?> $(host $4.$3.$2.$1.relays.ordb.org. $: OK $)
R<?>OK $: OKSOFAR
R<?>$+ $#error $@ 5.7.1 $: "Mail from " $&{client_addr}" refused by ordb.org open relay database"
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Make sure that you use TABS not SPACES between the first and second columns.

cyrusTvirus
09-23-2002, 03:11 AM
Hi can I ask you where you obtain that code. Cause I like to give it a shot also but the code doesnt seem to work here.

reading your post this is what I did.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
# DNS based IP address spam list relays.orbd.org
R$* $: $&{client_addr}
R$-.$-.$-.$- $: <?> $(host $4.$3.$2.$1.relays.ordb.org. $: OK $)
R<?>OK $: OKSOFAR
R<?>$+ $#error $@ 5.7.1 $: "Mail from " $&{client_addr}" refused by ordb.org open relay database"
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
#########################################################
# check_mail -- check SMTP `MAIL FROM:' command argument
#########################################################
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

am I correct in doing this ?? thanks man,

Robbert

latebowl
09-23-2002, 03:12 AM
yes it is, check the bottom of this thread:
http://forum.rackshack.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=4612

cyrusTvirus
09-23-2002, 03:59 AM
What is the colum seperation ?? Cause I still get errors.

Please advice.

cyrusTvirus
09-23-2002, 04:17 AM
this is what i did:

R$* $: $&{client_addr}
R$-.$-.$-.$- $: <?> $(host $4.$3.$2.$1.relays.ordb.org. $: OK $)
R<?>OK $: OKSOFAR
R<?>$+ $#error $@ 5.7.1 $: "Mail from " $&{client_addr}" refused by ordb.org open relay database"

# DNS based IP address spam list bl.spamcop.net
R$* $: $&{client_addr}
R::ffff:$-.$-.$-.$- $: <?> $(host $4.$3.$2.$1.bl.spamcop.net. $: OK $)
R$-.$-.$-.$- $: <?> $(host $4.$3.$2.$1.bl.spamcop.net. $: OK $)
R<?>OK $: OKSOFAR
R<?>$+ $#error $@ 5.7.1 $: "Spam blocked see: http://spamcop.net/bl.shtml?" $&{client_addr}

cyrusTvirus
09-23-2002, 04:31 AM
got it working.

Test it by using this email from the "protected" server:
ask-test-ordb@null.dk

you get something like this if you setit up right:
From ask@null.dk Mon Sep 23 10:53:43 2002
Date: 23 Sep 2002 08:34:55 -0000
From: ask-block-test@null.dk
To: root@server.domain.com
Subject: Your ordb test report

Testing your ordb block.

Here is how the conversation looked from our tester.

Connected to IPADRES port 25...
<<220 server.domain.com ESMTP Sendmail 8.10.2/8.10.2; Mon, 23 Sep 2002 10:53:34 +0200
>>HELO mimer.null.dk
<<250 server.domain.com Hello ask@ordb-test.null.dk [193.111.120.47], pleased to meet you
>>MAIL FROM: <ask-test@mimer.null.dk>
<<550 5.0.0 Mail from 193.111.120.47 refused by ordb.org open relay database

It looks like the mail got blocked one way or another.




that is it.