Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : beware of Dot Com Avenue / Experthosting


taoweb
03-28-2001, 02:28 PM
See this thread for earlier info:

http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?threadid=5917

DotComAvenue.com / Experthosting.com / Truehosting.com is back and at it again. Now they've moved to Rackspace.com and are up to their old antics.

I set up an account early this month and could not even get to my account (or their sites) the next day. Seems they got kicked off their host (yet again) the day I joined...what timing. Then I found this forum and read a few horror stories, and found more scattered all over the net.

They had (now removed) a "30 day money back guarantee" posted on their site when I signed up, so I tried to cancel the account. So far, after emails, phone calls and faxes it is STILL not cancelled, and today they attempted to hijack my domain through the TuCows Opensrs.org registry.

It's hard to believe that this outfit hasn't been closed for good by some agency of the UK or US government, but they are still out there looking to take advantage of the unwary.

"if it looks too good to be true, you are gonna get screwed".

vizi
03-28-2001, 02:35 PM
This is ridiculous. I'm still suprised this guys still at it. You would think after 10 or so hosting companies, someone would notice him and shut him down for good!

Toons
03-28-2001, 02:52 PM
If you want a full report on him, read the postings back in alt.internet.providers.uk on him, I forget the date, but any decent web based provider should find it, the thread ended up nearly 600 posts long I think.

It exposes his real name and address at least, and the antics he's been up to.

Regards,

Tony Lucas

shpilkus
03-28-2001, 04:41 PM
They've been spamming people in the Register.com WHOIS database as well. Here is what one of my clients received from them and the response from a lawyer for Register.com:

Dear Register.com Client,

I am writing to introduce myself as your account representative at Expert Hosting to assist you in acquiring web hosting for your Register.com domain name. This is the next step in using your Register.com domain name to establish your web site. We provide web hosting for just $6.95/month, with full 24 hour tech support.

As the owner of a register.com domain, you are probably ready to start using your site. We work closely with you to help establish your web presence. Please see our web site for full details and then give me an email or call toll-free if you need any help or assitance with activating web hosting on your domain. Our company also has 24 hour toll-free customer service to help you every step of the way in getting your site working how you want it to.

The web site is located at: http://www.experthosting.com. I look forward to helping you get your site online!

Regards,

Jesse,
Sales Representative
Expert Hosting
http://www.experthosting.com
And here's the reply to my somewhat indignant email sent to Register.com:

This is to acknowledge receipt of your email regarding unauthorized solicitations that Expert Hosting has set to you. Please be aware that register.com has no relationship with Expert Hosting, the solicitations are unauthorized and we are taking action to stop them as quickly as possible. We believe that Expert Hosting obtained your customers' contact information in an unauthorized manner from our on line Whois database which, as you may know, all ICANN accredited registrars are obligated to make publicly available. I apologize for this experience and hope that you understand that there is nothing we could have done in advance to prevent it. We are however, taking immediate action to stop them from continuing these practices. If you have any further questions about this matter, do not hesitate to contact me at the number below.

Jack S. Levy
General Counsel
Register.com, Inc.
575 Eighth Avenue, 11th Floor
New York, New York 10018
Phone: (212) 798-9195
Fax: (212) 629-9309
E-mail: jlevy@register.com
=============

Gettin' deperate there Davey! spamming the WHOIS databse has gotta be one of the last resorts to get customers...

akashik
03-28-2001, 06:48 PM
I've been following the story on this clown since I first starting posting here at WHT. The more I find out about him, the more amazed and appalled I am...

I know we all abuse his name with relish, and tut-tut everytime he sticks his head up with a new scam (myself included - just look at this post) :) but there has to be some point at which he's doing something illegal. It can't be a lawful way to do business. Ethics and morality aside, at some point he has to be breaking the law.

Does anyone know if the authorities are doing anything about this? Maybe a bunch of hosts in the UK should take a trip and visit him at home around 3am or so one morning...

It's hard enough to keep this industry's name above the mud without people like this slinking around all the time...

Greg Moore

vizi
03-28-2001, 08:04 PM
I have no idea if what he's doing is legal, but if he was in the states, he'd definitely be shutdown permanently. I think the UK's law are pretty relaxed against this kind of thing.

Bertman
04-02-2001, 09:08 PM
> DotComAvenue.com / Experthosting.com / Truehosting.com is back and at it again.
> Now they've moved to Rackspace.com and are up to their old antics.

I appologize, but are you saying that Rackspace.com is doing something wrong, or that the person in question is just a client of Rackspace?

Thanks!
- Bertman :o)

Phiberop
04-02-2001, 09:15 PM
He would be referring that the scamster is a client of Rackspace now.

Bertman
04-02-2001, 09:22 PM
Glad to hear it, because I'm 24 hours away from getting a RaQ from them, and don't want to join any "iffy" companies!

:o)

BC
04-02-2001, 11:03 PM
RackSpace is an excellent dedicated server provider. However, I do believe they are unaware of this idiot..... Mmmmmmmmmm...... Maybe I should drop them a quick e-mail and check with them.