Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : A Letter In The Post?


Netunt
02-25-2009, 04:17 PM
To my bewilderment, I recently recieved a letter in the post which included a domain above my name... My domain.
The letter goes on to say how they would take care of transfer ect and what great value they are. The prices then said
£20 for one year! It also tried to make me buy the .net and .org versions too.
Anyone else recived something similar?
It was from www.domainrenewalgroup.com by the way.

elmister
02-25-2009, 05:33 PM
Discard the letter, is an old scam, do a search for "domain registry of america", it's just the same old scam with a different company name.
They try to trick you to 'renew' your domain with them

Netunt
02-25-2009, 06:05 PM
Domain Registry of America, based in Ontario, Canada, is prohibited from engaging in similar conduct in the future, and is subject to stringent monitoring by the FTC.
That was posted 2004. I recived this very recently.

Toeki
02-25-2009, 06:38 PM
Are they still around? Haven't heard about them in a while.

Mike - Limestone
02-25-2009, 06:41 PM
These mailings seem pretty common. Even with a low response rate, they still likely make some money, eh?
-mike

Dynash
02-25-2009, 06:49 PM
I got one in around October last year.
I didn't care if it was a scam or not, like I was going to transfer my domain to a random letter in the post. :rolleyes:

ariss
02-25-2009, 07:11 PM
I also recently received one of those "courtesy" letters from the Domain Registry of Canada (www droc ca) regarding a .COM. "Domain Name Expiration Notice." With the information taken from a domain whois, they inform those with a domain "due to expire in the next few months." I find this a poor way for a company to attempt gain new customers -- just trying to pick up unsuspecting new clients through possible confusion.

SenseiSteve
02-25-2009, 07:13 PM
I constantly get these letters at home - and they all go straight to the shredder.

woods01
02-25-2009, 08:09 PM
I've never had one of these letters sent to us. I didn't think anyone mailed to domains. The only ones that ever snail-spammed us was 1&1 & dotster.

Netunt
02-25-2009, 08:11 PM
I've never had one of these letters sent to us. I didn't think anyone mailed to domains. The only ones that ever snail-spammed us was 1&1 & dotster.
If you use privicy protect, they can't find you. ;)

woods01
02-25-2009, 11:09 PM
"If you use privacy protect, they can't find you."
We have nothing to hide. Junk snail mail doesn't bother me, at least I know they had to pay to send it to me unlike spam email that I have to pay to have delivered to me. + You can return to sender junk mail in most cases, try that with spam e-mail:)