Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : my domain suspended?


rototo
02-12-2009, 03:56 AM
Hello there,
I have a big problem, I have a .ws domain with NameCheap (eNom reseller), today I received an email from eNom:
Dear Reseller,
You are receiving this notification to inform you that one of your customers' domain names mydomain.WS has been placed on registrar-hold due to abusive activity such as spam, phishing or other violations of eNom's terms and agreements.
If you feel that this action has been made in error, or that the abuse may have been the result of a security compromise, please contact legal@enom.com with any questions or concerns.
Regards,
eNom, Inc.
my site talks about security, but DO NOT promote spam, nor phishing, or things like that, that domain never been used for spam ether.
Anyway, I know you will answer me "contact them, etc", that's what I did, but I want to know if they can decide to suspend my domain for ever, can I at least decide to transfer it somewhere else or?
thx

rony
02-12-2009, 04:22 AM
I think the answer to your questions is in the TOS you agreed. I'm pretty sure they have clauses in there that they can suspend domains at there own discretion for as long as they want.
One suggestion is to give them a call and not just send emails. It's easier to have a discussion on the phone then hundreds of emails.

SiberForum
02-12-2009, 07:46 AM
Didn't that letter mention your domain name, did it?

greatandrew
02-12-2009, 08:13 AM
I would recommend you to contact Namecheap customer support and clarify this issue with them directly! I am not sure if my answer is correct, but as far as I know they can't suspend your domain name due to spam! But if you have a hosting account with Namecheap and send spam they can suspend your account as a result!

greatandrew
02-12-2009, 08:46 AM
I also think that they can't suspend your domain account forever! Namecheap is well-known for its fast operating domain support and I hope that your issue will be solved really soon!

woods01
02-12-2009, 09:47 AM
That's pretty crazy. This is the first i've heard of a domain company suspending a domain. I know many hate sites, sites about terrorism and what-not and they are all registered somewhere.
This seems like a rather unusual move for Enom. It's scary that they would tell you to e-mail a "legal" e-mail address. Legal issues aren't handled via e-mail.
If they do happen to release the domain to you i'd immediately try to transfer it elsewhere.

CD Burnt
02-12-2009, 09:56 AM
"my site talks about security" ...... did your site have information about defeating security?

nameslave
02-12-2009, 10:02 AM
Sorry to hear that, but thanks for the heads up and confirm that eNom now joins the rank of registrars which take policing the Internet into their own hands. Sad, but it seems to be the trend.
No, I OF COURSE do not support spamming or phishing. But the thing is WHO ON EARTH is eligible for the job of God ... I mean judge in deciding if a registrant (domain owner) is guilty of spamming or phishing. This kind of practice (summary judgement) by UNQUALIFIED parties is exactly abuse in itself. Next thing you know, you're in Guantanamo Bay.

enetwork
02-12-2009, 10:07 AM
Why don't we wait before jumping the gun here and codemning enom before all the evidence is presented. I know for a fact that they do their due diligence before suspending a domain and send out warning emails. I've had personal discussions with their gm about this very thing and their stance on this issue is clear.
And by the way NameSlave, I completely agree with you but tell that to SpamHaus and the other blacklists that will arbitrarily blacklist your dns servers without doing their homework and demand you take action against innocent people to the point that it borders on blackmail. If they were based anywhere in this country we would have taken them to court already. There is a reason they are offshore just like the spammers. They are both extreme entities which is not good and I want to make it VERY clear, we in no way support spammers or their actions.
As a provider of dns services, you're really in a no win situation. Once you get blacklisted it affects all your clients on that dns system.

rototo
02-12-2009, 10:13 AM
>> greatandrew
yes I tried, they said me to contact eNom, they say they cant do nothing ;/
>> SiberForum
yes, when I say "mydomain.ws", it's my suspended domain yea
>> Burnt
yea true, but still, to protect yourself, the best is to know how to attack, my site is kinda about hacking talk, but in no way we promote dangerous hack such as fraud, or spam, it's more like security talk, and that domain never been used to spam.
>> enetwork
They NEVER sent me any warnings, yesterday I wake up, and I see my domain pointing to add website, then I go look into my email, and I see that email I pasted. very shocking.
and what is shocking is my domain is now pointing to their advertising program!!! (ht tp: // website.ws /kvmlm2/ws.dhtml?domain=mydomain.ws --> sorry I cant post http link)
my domain got an alexa rank under 90k, and pagerank of 4,
I rly hope I can get that resolved, I still cant believe what is happening,
status:
REGISTRAR-HOLD
anyway, thanks all, plz continue to post!

RossH
02-12-2009, 10:28 AM
Richard,
They are in Canada, you can hire a good lawyer and still take them to court.

enetwork
02-12-2009, 10:29 AM
Rototo,
Enom sends out warning emails for any domain they shut down, this is absolutely their policy and they would not change it for any individual case. I would check your spam folders andmake sure the email address listed for the admin in the whois was up to date.

rototo
02-12-2009, 10:33 AM
enetwork, all is ok, my email in my namecheap profile didnt change since 1 month, I always check my spam folder, and I can confirm you I NEVER received any warning.

enetwork
02-12-2009, 10:46 AM
Ross,
According to their whois info they are based in Switzerland. Honestly, the last time we had issues with them they blacklisted our dns servers but even further than that, they actually blacklisted our support email servers which had absolutely nothing to do with the case, simply to hold us hostage. That affected our internal, client support and notification emails.
Add to that, we provided proof that the client was innocent but they would have none of it. While we didn't shut down his domains, we had to politely ask our client to stop using our dns systems and use an outside source. That's the kind of extreme organization they are. They will shut you down and ask questions later and if t hey don't like your response there is nothing you can do about it.

RossH
02-12-2009, 03:51 PM
Richard,
You could start organizing.....it seems spamhaus is starting to go the way of spews.

rototo
02-12-2009, 04:17 PM
could we please stay on topic, anyway, I received news from them, saying they wont give me my domain back, and all without a single warning!!!!
NEVER USE ENOM/NAMECHEAP or be sure to be 150% correct with what your users are posting on your forum (because yes, the evidence they shown me is a sql exploit posted by one of my user, like we see on those vuln website and auditing website such as ht tp:// vupen.com etc. , nothing illegal)