Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : HACKED?? Domaindirect.com and Hover.com: What is this?


hostquality
01-21-2009, 01:31 PM
Today I visited the domaindirect.com (http://www.domaindirect.com/) website to complete an urgent transfer process, and to access my account with them.
I first have been transferred to another sub-domain (http://maintenance.hover.com/dd.html?) of another domain (!!) hover.com
..and there I faced one simple page, instead of the regular green-blue one, with a title:
We've Moved!
Something looks like hacked websites!
This is waaaay unprofessional!
I mean, "if" this is what the website says and not hacked..that's too strange!
Even small companies would do it better!
At least keep their logos..say: We have an emergency..we have a huge problem that even forced us to stop our domain!!!
Because this is NOT just a normal "maintenance"!
and put all regular phone numbers and faxes and so and so...
post that shocking thing over on the forums like wht..and others..make a press release or so..etc.
If anyone here knows exactly what this is PLEASE let me know ASAP...
I am in a very hurried transfer .. cannot wait!
Appreciated!

Hands-on Mark
01-21-2009, 02:04 PM
It sure doesn't look like a hacked to me.
You might want to read this:
https://help.domaindirect.com/index.php?_m=news&_a=viewnews&newsid=210

hostquality
01-21-2009, 02:24 PM
Nice!
"To me" it's unprofessional to wash your corporate site from all your identifications like that .. without explaining anything to your customers.
Moreover..you take your customers/visitors by forwarding them automatically..again, without saying a word: where we are taking you...to what site...for what reason...nothing!
This is exactly what hackers do ..
Any shop in the street would post a "notice of change of address, with reason, or without" .. but not just take you silently like this!
I didn't receive anything like that release you mentioned in mail, while my email is in their list of new customers.
Now, I just completed the transfer of the domain to another responsible professional registrar, even if it ended up with losing the 15$, I am happy.
Like I said, they even didn't bother to publish that page you thankfully mentioned on their home page, or on the other transferred-to page, neither put a link to it (!!) to let visitors and users like me .. understand anything!
We are talking about: Tucows!!!! not a very small company!!
Is this professional??

SenseiSteve
01-21-2009, 02:41 PM
You're surely dissatisfied with their transition, but you've taken care of your domain transfer. Whether their site was hacked - doesn't appear the case.
Good luck with your new resistrar.

hostquality
01-21-2009, 07:27 PM
SteveBloemer,
thank you and thanks to Hands-on Mark for clarifying what's going on.. but too late for me.
I used to use their service years ago. and this last thing just didn't leave me a good impression with the person in charge of this action.
Any company of medium to large size have a public relations dept. or officer to deal with issues like transitions, merging, etc. and present the public with it in the "best" not the worst way possible.
This time, I don' know! they must have a problem:confused:.
Thank you for replies:)

dreamrae.com
01-23-2009, 05:43 PM
Hover is managed by some guy that use to write blog entries for TuCows. The site is not hacked. I transfered all of my domains registered with domain direct to namecheap. (They are having a transfer sale atm plus you get a free cert.)
Nothing against Hover. I actually like the concept and the interface design but the service is just not for me. I think its stated on the site that Hover isn't for people with large amounts of domain names to manage like myself. They recommend another TuCows based company for people with a ton of domains to manage and need more advance features.
Long story short: Hover is legit, don't panic.