
|
View Full Version : You opinion for Activa host; any new hearsay for Hostpacket?
Hello!
I did a search on Activa (http://www.activahost.biz/hosting.html) and there was nothing. Has anyone had any dealings with them? I'm looking at their Activa2 plan.
I was planning to move to hostpacket.com a few months ago when aletia choked for a bit, but then hostpacket choked too. But I haven't heard anything bad about hostpacket recently, maybe tey got their act together, ala Aletia?
Opinions, warnings, what-nots?
THANKS
Chap
WildCard 09-16-2002, 04:11 PM Hostpacket, that was an amusing set of complaints and replies by the owner there for a while. That wasn't too long ago too.
Plenty of pretty recent info, just do a quick search to see what I am talking about.
I thought it was funny, but then again I am not a HP customer. :)
-WC-
For the moment, I would avoid Hostpacket (or HostRacket as I've heard
it called). As an ex-customer who is STILL waiting for a refund (HINT HINT) I check their forums regularly and they are
still having problems. Maybe they'll get their act together eventually...Kevin seemed like a decent person.
Mic_Magik 09-17-2002, 02:59 AM Stay away from Hostpacket, period.
I was a customer with them and I am still waiting for my refund. Kevin "seemed" like a nice person, but in my opinion that was just to draw customers in.
I began to think that he was really a kid. One day my site was down for 3 hours (first 3 days of signup), I contact him and ask what was going on.
He responds:
"Sorry, was sleeping. server is back up now :-)"
I'm like :eek: , that's the response I get. It's a time and a place for smilies, that was neither one of them. And that's the best explainaion I can get. I could've told myself the server was down, that's not too much to assume when you get "Cannot Find Server" for 3 hours. My total downtime with them was 100+ hours, I wasn't even with them a month
I wouldn't reccommend them to anyone
Aussie Bob 09-17-2002, 03:12 AM When I access http://HostPacket.com, I get another site of http://urlbaron.com. :eek: Did they pull the plug? :eek:
Oops - http://www.urlbaron.com/Details%20TLDcom.asp?DomainName=HostPacket%2Ecom :eek:
RackNine 09-17-2002, 03:16 AM Bob,
Their domain is: http://www.hostpacket.NET. I made the same mistake once :)
-Matt
Mic_Magik 09-17-2002, 03:16 AM Same thing, they'll be gone soon anyway
Aussie Bob 09-17-2002, 03:17 AM Originally posted by RackNine
Bob,
Their domain is: http://www.hostpacket.NET. I made the same mistake once :)
-Matt
Ok, make me look like a blinking idiot then. :D :blush:
suzieQ 09-17-2002, 10:26 AM I am still :mad: waiting for a refund from Hostpacket as well. I would stay away from them if I were you. Not only did they yank the plug on my site, but they never gave warning. Bad Hostpacket, bad.
Anyhoo, I am back at square one - looking for a new reliable host. When you find one, will you post it?
rezag 09-17-2002, 10:49 AM One you may consider is www.gearhost.com, one of my sites being hosted with them since February and they are pretty good.
admin2 09-17-2002, 10:58 AM chap,
try asking for a webhosting quote in the webhosting requests section of this website, im sure you'll find something suitable there.
good luck
- Ross
SuzieQ, try Dynamitehost.com. I've been sending PMs back and forth with the guy there. Their plans are great, they fit right into my budget and have almost all the feature I need. I'm going to pass on Dynamite because they don't ahve the instant "download backup/ restore backup" feature.
I've already made a post at the request forum, nothing is appealing to me. I'll probably go with Activa. But I'm still a bit weary since nobody seems to have any previous experience with them.
Chap
Funny thing, I just stumbled upon two posts by Activa's guy here at WHT:
http://webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=68451&highlight=activahost.biz
and
http://webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=66428&highlight=activahost.biz
Both posts have a 99, 5% guarantee (yes, a comma :eek: ). There's the same typo on their web site (http://www.activahost.biz/hosting.html). Could it be a simple cut and poste typo?
And yes, the aliens are out to get me... :D
Chap
I'm using activahost's activa2 plan, i'm happy so far, no downtime or problems :)
qoogar 09-18-2002, 04:48 PM Originally posted by chap
Both posts have a 99, 5% guarantee (yes, a comma :eek: ). There's the same typo on their web site (http://www.activahost.biz/hosting.html). Could it be a simple cut and poste typo?No, I don't think so. Since the company seems to be based in Italy, it would explain the use of a decimal comma (,) instead of a decimal point (.) in the number.
Hello
We are working hard at the moment, making sure everything is perfect, to put HostPackets.com online, we have also registered HostPacket.com. We aim to provide a great hosting service and would like to point out that we have NOTHING to do with HostPacket.net.
Mick Finnerty
The UrlBaron.com Team
|