
|
View Full Version : registryfly.com
Hmm was wondering if this information is correct:
tim.shor AT unifiednames.com
he is the admin of registryfly.com
if anyone has any experience with them or can verify this with me, pls do so.
Thanks.
<<MOD EDIT: I'm sure Tim would prefer that his email address not be harvested by every spam-bot spider on the web, so I've changed it slightly>>
EricP 09-16-2002, 01:48 AM Run!
Here is my story.
I bought a domain from someone a week ago that uses registerfly.
First off, even though he changed all contact info to me, admin, tech, etc. I still could not move my domain away from them or change hosts. I had to have the guy contact support to get my domain moved to my new registerfly account.
Chatting with tech support, Witch is in INDIA was hell.
They don't understand what you are saying.
THEN I DISCOVER THEY GOT HACKED!
I was chatting with support, and thought to myself....who the hell are these guys. I asked for a mailing address and support acted like I never asked the question. I asked 2 more times and got ignored.
Then I did a WhoIS.
This is what I got!
http://vbasic.net/media/registerfly.gif
It showed up like that at every registar. Including DirectNIC.com
I took a screen shot and pasted it all together.
http://vbasic.net/media/registerfly.gif
The registar address clearly says: HACKED BY ANHYEU with a Yahoo IM ID next to it.
I told the support guy and he says "We are most likely not hacked" and then he says he will ask the owner.
A day later it was changed.
I am now waiting for my transfer to my main registar and I am PRAYING everything goes okay. I have heard horror stories about people not being able to move their domain.
RUN, RUN, RUN as fast as you can!
EDIT: The screenshot was taken on 9/12/2002 around 8pm CST.
TheWatcher2 09-16-2002, 02:05 AM Kriz,
I'm concerned about the hacking incident of your domain contact, the hacker or cracker must have an account to perform such modification. Meaning there is a possibility that the attacker might update your domain record and forward/transfer it to other registrar.
I need to inform my clients about it and start shopping.
Thanks for the info.
hm what are you guys talking about?
Nobody got hacked, and i did not get hacked:confused: nor did registryfly.com i hope.
____________
registryfly.com
Hmm was wondering if this information is correct:
tim.shor AT unifiednames.com
he is the admin of registryfly.com
if anyone has any experience with them or can verify this with me, pls do so.
Thanks.
<<MOD EDIT: I'm sure Tim would prefer that his email address not be harvested by every spam-bot spider on the web, so I've changed it slightly>>
Last edited by Chicken on 09-16-2002 at 06:40 AM
________________
must be this edit by Chicken, hmmm..
Anyways ill repeat it again:
I do not know any information about anyone being hacked.
EricP what does this have to do with registryfly.com by the way? :eek:
EricP 09-16-2002, 02:19 AM If you can't see the mistake, then look a little closer.
registerfly.com
registryfly.com
Both domain registars.
Sue Me.
Hmm have a point, which one is the real one?
EricP 09-16-2002, 02:24 AM To clear things up:
I thought Kriz was talking about registerfly.com
He was actually asking about registryfly.com
After doing a WhoIS on registryfly.com, the info looks very suspect.
http://www.directnic.com/whois/?query=registryfly.com
Administrative Contact:
BestRoad
Host Master (hostmaster@bestroad.com)
+
FAX: None
+
MA, United States
Yea looks tricky:
registryfly.com or registerfly.com
hmmm, dont know about either two, but i heard some good things about registryfly.com, then again i checked the forum :eek3:
Chicken 09-16-2002, 02:38 AM No address, no mailing address, no phone number. Why you'd chose these people over someone more reputable I don't know but I personally wouldn't choose them. They are an enom reseller, domains charged via enom, so at least that part is safe. You just don't have many options for contacting them should you need to, nor do you know who they are, where they are.
what about godaddy.com any good?
Actually i was suggested registryfly.com by someone from this forum saying that it was good :eek:
EricP 09-16-2002, 02:47 AM Kriz, you sure do ask a lot of questions. (Sometimes in more than one post)
Advice: Use the search button located at the top of the page.
Advice: Go to www.google.com and type in "* sucks" where "*" is who you are trying to find info on.
http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=navclient&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=GoDaddy+Sucks
On another note. Try www.DirectNIC.com
You can't get any better than them.
:D
Well ive gone through alot of searching and comparing with my webhost and finally decided on which one, now i decided on a domain registration site but to my finding they did not accept wire transfer so i need an alternative or even a better site to register my domain name. :)
TheMMIz 09-16-2002, 08:17 AM That address your provided for Tim is in fact true, and needed to create nameservers for a domain name. He has always gotten back to me within 12 hours.
Hey guys, this thread is really "diversified"....
mainarea 09-16-2002, 09:42 AM Just to throw in my 2 cents, before May this year, if I had known anybody's RegisterFly username, I could have gotten into your account, and deleted, changed, or transfered your domains out of your account. That's how bad registerfly's system was designed (I'm not a hacker, so I alerted them ASAP and they fixed the bug). There reseller system may still have a lot of bugs in it, so I'd suggest not to use them.
- Matt
Just thought I mention here cause I saw registerfly.com . I have 1 2 domains with them. I was more or less satisfied cause they offer great service. Unfortunately their customer support was always awful and still is. Once, I did a domain transfer to registerfly. Regiterfly took 1 month to move it and by that time it got expired and they told me they can no longer transfer it. And just recently they deactivated my account by mistake (they never told me why and without any notification). It took me 3 support sessions with the live support and 4 emails to Tim in 2 weeks to fix that. There is no way I am sticking around with registerfly anymore.
Originally posted by anam
Just thought I mention here cause I saw registerfly.com . I have 1 2 domains with them. I was more or less satisfied cause they offer great service. Unfortunately their customer support was always awful and still is. Once, I did a domain transfer to registerfly. Regiterfly took 1 month to move it and by that time it got expired and they told me they can no longer transfer it. And just recently they deactivated my account by mistake (they never told me why and without any notification). It took me 3 support sessions with the live support and 4 emails to Tim in 2 weeks to fix that. There is no way I am sticking around with registerfly anymore.
Once a company grows, they need to hire support staff. This is absolutely necessary. Otherwise they may loose clients. Until you have 5-15 registrations / day one support person is enough and can handle all support, but once you grow, you need to hire other staff. I'm talking from my own experience. :)
|