nox
03-24-2001, 01:50 PM
Had a customer sign up for a minimal plan and after some difficulty with his payment, he was approved.(he used a hotmail address)
Sent him his details.... no reaction...
I sent a follow up asking to confirm he rec'd the login details... and I asked for a real email addy (ISP's)
Got a quick reply acknowledging receipt... nothing else.
Checked the domain again... no DNS changes apparent, but he's got the IP address.. start worrying... it's a $5 plan.
Then I get this in the mail to abuse@ ....this is allegedly from my new customer to someone else with a credible web site...
----- Original Message -----
From: dwightm@xxxx.net
To: xxxxxx@mxxxxe.net
Sent: Friday, March 23, 2001 12:13 AM
Subject: New Products for 2001! - Take a look!
Dear Past Customer:
We are happy to inform you that we have substantially increased
the number of software Backups available via our online ordering
system.
Here is a sample of our new items:
MS Windows NT-4 Workstation $20.00 + S&H
MS Windows 2000 Server $20.00 + S&H
CorelDRAW 10 $20.00 + S&H
AutoCAD 2000 $20.00 + S&H
Adobe Packages (Most Adobe SW) $20.00 + S&H
We still have our full lines of MS software titles as well, so
come take a look! - You will not be disappointed!
Package deals available on website for even greater savings!
To find out how to order your copy(s) of this software at this
special rate, visit our website at:
http://www.xxxonline.com/Order%20Page.htm
NOTE: If this site is not active (Shut down for SPAM), you can
replace the .net with .com or .org - we own all 3 domain
extensions. Please try this before writing us for a new link.
This special offer is valid thru April 18th only. All orders
received after that date will be processed at the usual rate for
that software title.
Visit our website today! Visa / MasterCard accepted via one of
the most secure payment sites on the 'net!
If this site gets shut down (for SPAMING), please write us at
sales@xxxxonline.com for a new link.
You are receiving an unsolicited commercial email from
XXX Enterprises. We recognize that you may
not wish to receive such emails in the future, and we
have provided a link to automatically and instantly
remove yourself: mailto://sales@xxxxonline.com
This message is being sent to you in compliance with
federal guidelines governing the transmission of
unsolicited commercial email, including the provision of
contact information for our company within this email, a
valid return email address, and a way for customers
to remove themselves. Please note, however, that our
email address was valid at the time of sending, but may
be cancelled by the ISP shortly thereafter due to our
use of unsolicited email. You can read about the various
laws governing unsolicited email: http://spamlaws.com
"Unsolicited commercial electronic mail can be an important
mechanism through which businesses advertise and attract
customers in the online environment." -- U.S. Congress,
H.R. 106th CONGRESS 2d Session H. R. 3113 Sec. 2 (a)3 July
19, 2000 http://www.spamlaws.com/federal/hr3113.html
------------------------
Other than this, I have no proof that the guy is a verminous spam'er, so to selfishly save myself wasting two hours checking if he's on the SPAM alert lists etc, has anybody had a visit like this and should I just cancel the account.
If he is doing this, I doubt whether he will answer truthfully before using the network to flood the router.
I hate judging people without proof... but being polite may put one of my IP's in the RBL.
Ciaou.
Sent him his details.... no reaction...
I sent a follow up asking to confirm he rec'd the login details... and I asked for a real email addy (ISP's)
Got a quick reply acknowledging receipt... nothing else.
Checked the domain again... no DNS changes apparent, but he's got the IP address.. start worrying... it's a $5 plan.
Then I get this in the mail to abuse@ ....this is allegedly from my new customer to someone else with a credible web site...
----- Original Message -----
From: dwightm@xxxx.net
To: xxxxxx@mxxxxe.net
Sent: Friday, March 23, 2001 12:13 AM
Subject: New Products for 2001! - Take a look!
Dear Past Customer:
We are happy to inform you that we have substantially increased
the number of software Backups available via our online ordering
system.
Here is a sample of our new items:
MS Windows NT-4 Workstation $20.00 + S&H
MS Windows 2000 Server $20.00 + S&H
CorelDRAW 10 $20.00 + S&H
AutoCAD 2000 $20.00 + S&H
Adobe Packages (Most Adobe SW) $20.00 + S&H
We still have our full lines of MS software titles as well, so
come take a look! - You will not be disappointed!
Package deals available on website for even greater savings!
To find out how to order your copy(s) of this software at this
special rate, visit our website at:
http://www.xxxonline.com/Order%20Page.htm
NOTE: If this site is not active (Shut down for SPAM), you can
replace the .net with .com or .org - we own all 3 domain
extensions. Please try this before writing us for a new link.
This special offer is valid thru April 18th only. All orders
received after that date will be processed at the usual rate for
that software title.
Visit our website today! Visa / MasterCard accepted via one of
the most secure payment sites on the 'net!
If this site gets shut down (for SPAMING), please write us at
sales@xxxxonline.com for a new link.
You are receiving an unsolicited commercial email from
XXX Enterprises. We recognize that you may
not wish to receive such emails in the future, and we
have provided a link to automatically and instantly
remove yourself: mailto://sales@xxxxonline.com
This message is being sent to you in compliance with
federal guidelines governing the transmission of
unsolicited commercial email, including the provision of
contact information for our company within this email, a
valid return email address, and a way for customers
to remove themselves. Please note, however, that our
email address was valid at the time of sending, but may
be cancelled by the ISP shortly thereafter due to our
use of unsolicited email. You can read about the various
laws governing unsolicited email: http://spamlaws.com
"Unsolicited commercial electronic mail can be an important
mechanism through which businesses advertise and attract
customers in the online environment." -- U.S. Congress,
H.R. 106th CONGRESS 2d Session H. R. 3113 Sec. 2 (a)3 July
19, 2000 http://www.spamlaws.com/federal/hr3113.html
------------------------
Other than this, I have no proof that the guy is a verminous spam'er, so to selfishly save myself wasting two hours checking if he's on the SPAM alert lists etc, has anybody had a visit like this and should I just cancel the account.
If he is doing this, I doubt whether he will answer truthfully before using the network to flood the router.
I hate judging people without proof... but being polite may put one of my IP's in the RBL.
Ciaou.
