Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Netracom acquires InvisionHost.com


Carboran
09-14-2002, 11:14 PM
Over at freewebspace.net, Invisionhost is considered one of the best new hosts. I was pretty close to signing up with them, but in the lost momeny I opted for Dixiesys.

Now it is acquired by Netracom and their site seems pathetic. Any comments on Netracom?

Choppy
09-14-2002, 11:52 PM
Netracom is pretty respected in these parts of the world.

I would think its more a positive instead of a negative that Netracom bought over invisionhost.

Anyway thats just my opinion.

Kind regards

phillip

Carboran
09-15-2002, 12:58 AM
They are??!!!!! Well, why do their support pages suck so bsdly then?

http://www.netracom.com.au/support.html

http://helpdesk.netracom.com.au/index.pl

UmBillyCord
09-15-2002, 01:23 AM
Never heard of either. :confused:

What part of the world you talkin' ?

coight
09-15-2002, 01:56 AM
Netracom are respected? Why would the give false information on whois?


Registrant:
NONE
NONE
NONE, New South Wales 000
US

Domain Name: MYWEBWORX.COM

Administrative Contact:
Server, Name none@mywebworx.com
NONE
NONE, New South Wales 000
US
000000000

Technical Contact:
Server, Name none@mywebworx.com
NONE
NONE, New South Wales 000
US
000000000



Registration Service Provider:
http://www.subhost.com


Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC.
Record last updated on 22-May-2002.
Record expires on 04-Jul-2003.
Record Created on 04-Jul-2001.

Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.MYWEBWORX.COM 209.51.139.235
NS2.MYWEBWORX.COM 209.51.139.236


Gee such a big company that gives false information.

AntiSpamHosts
09-15-2002, 01:59 AM
Isn't that against any name registrars rules to use false info?

kichu
09-15-2002, 02:37 AM
But Netracom.net have furnished full info:
Registrant:
Myles Agnew
Netracom Australia
Suite 43
Locked Bag 7000
Bathurst, Not Applicable 2795
Australia

Registered through: Go Daddy Software (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: NETRACOM.NET
Created on: 17-May-02
Expires on: 17-May-03
Last Updated on: 20-May-02

Administrative Contact:
Agnew, Myles myles@netracom.com.au
Netracom Australia
Suite 43
Locked Bag 7000
Bathurst, Not Applicable 2795
Australia
(041) 061-7358 Fax --
Technical Contact:
Agnew, Myles myles@netracom.com.au
Netracom Australia
Suite 43
Locked Bag 7000
Bathurst, Not Applicable 2795
Australia
(041) 061-7358 Fax --

Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.NETRACOM.NET
NS2.NETRACOM.NET
-------------------
But if it is existing for long, why the domain name has been registered only in May this year?
S.K

Choppy
09-15-2002, 05:52 PM
I just know of a few Aussie customers that use them and that are happy.

Thats all keep bashing if you wish. :mad:

Regards

Phillip

NexDog
09-15-2002, 06:49 PM
Invision have been around about 3 months. Must have sold for about $500. ;)

AussieHosts
09-15-2002, 09:46 PM
Never heard of them, otherwise I would have pointed out the typos on their website to them. :)

Gary

neobyte
09-16-2002, 12:52 AM
They mainly do support via email as too many people we not using the helpdesk!

I find all my question anwsered with 12-24hrs with a solution in place!

Andrew
09-16-2002, 01:04 AM
Originally posted by NexDog
Invision have been around about 3 months. Must have sold for about $500. ;)

Well, Invision had a cool thing going on with Invisionboard, so if they continued to operate pulling in customers from that, I'd pay $500 for them every day of the week and twice on Sunday! :D

NexDog
09-16-2002, 01:44 AM
"cool thing going on with Invisionboard: means what? That they used Invisionboard? Or what?

AussieHosts
09-16-2002, 02:41 AM
The invisionboard site and community forum heavily promoted invisiohost.com at one stage. They may still do, I'm not sure. I think that's what Andrew is saying.

Cheers

Gary

lottos
04-04-2003, 01:07 AM
invisionhost
netracom
iceservers


all owned by Myles Agnew


I had my site hosted on invisionhost.

They had a major outage on the 3rd April.

They assured me they did full daily backups.

Needless to say they have lost my account, can't recover the account, so stay clear of them.

They also had heaps of unexplained downtime.

coight
04-04-2003, 01:44 AM
Sorry to hear that. You should make regular backups yourself from time to time.

neobyte
04-06-2003, 11:08 PM
Andrew Lindner (Lottos) Replies..
They assured me they did full daily backups.

Yes to another HD attached to the server.

Needless to say they have lost my account, can't recover the account, so stay clear of them.

Have you ever read the Terms of Service?

Here's part of Section 5

Your use of the service is at your sole risk. Invisionhost is not responsible for files and data residing on your account. You agree to take full responsibility for files and data transferred and to maintain all appropriate backup of files and data stored on Invisionhost servers.

latebowl
04-06-2003, 11:48 PM
I tend to agree with neobyte, ultimately the site owner should have a site backup. Still, any data loss is unfortunate.:(

kichu
04-06-2003, 11:57 PM
Originally posted by latebowl
...ultimately the site owner should have a site backup.(
unless backups are offered as part of the services by the host (I find many flaunting it as "nightly backups")!
S.K

neobyte
04-07-2003, 05:20 AM
unless backups are offered as part of the services by the host (I find many flaunting it as "nightly backups")!

The key word you need to look for is OFFSITE NIGHTLY BACKUPS and not many webhost's have this facility.

Apoc
04-07-2003, 05:36 AM
Originally posted by NexDog
"cool thing going on with Invisionboard: means what? That they used Invisionboard? Or what?

They're the developers of Invisionboard, using it to promote their hosting company.

Taylor
04-07-2003, 05:49 AM
Originally posted by Apoc
They're the developers of Invisionboard, using it to promote their hosting company.

Wow, I wonder how well that exposure worked out for them? :)

matt mecham
04-07-2003, 06:50 PM
Just for the record, invisionhost.com has nothing to do with Invision Power Services - specifically Invision Power Hosting (www.ipshosting.com) or Invision Power Board.

neobyte
04-07-2003, 07:55 PM
Just for the record, invisionhost.com has nothing to do with Invision Power Services - specifically Invision Power Hosting (www.ipshosting.com) or Invision Power Board.

That's is Correct Invisionhost.com is no relation to invisionboard or ipshosting.