Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Haha.. check this out.


faculty
09-13-2002, 07:50 PM
namenerd.com seems to think that hosting a domain on my servers is against the rules and my servers will be shut down for it! lol :eek:

I dont own the domain, I only host it.

The converation is below (I am Anthony);


support@namenerd.com says:
i have already reported you to your upstream provider

Anthony says:
Oh? And what did I do?

Anthony says:
So hosting Andy's website is against the rules? I think not..

support@namenerd.com says:
nope

support@namenerd.com says:
but hosting the domain in which he doesnt own is

support@namenerd.com says:
since he keeps transferring it to different registrars

support@namenerd.com says:
but that will change next week as of today chargebacks have been sent to his bank

Anthony says:
That is not my problem buddy.. I cant control what he does
I didnt register the domain so it is out of my control with whatever he is doing with you.

support@namenerd.com says:
nope but the dns is hosted on your nameservers

support@namenerd.com says:
and you know whats going on

Anthony says:
Not my problem at all - You have the power to control it and NO I don't know what is going on. All I have been told is that you guys are hacking his website (which I was a witness to) and that is something you can be sued for, if not, sent to jail for.

support@namenerd.com says:
go ahead and contact the proper authorities

support@namenerd.com says:
to hack means to use software or cracking tools to gain illegal access

support@namenerd.com says:
and i didnt hack his site at anytime

Anthony says:
Look I don't have the time to mess around with the likes of you. All I am saying is leave his damned web content alone.

support@namenerd.com says:
i just suspended his dns

support@namenerd.com says:
well your servers will be offline by say next week

support@namenerd.com says:
you wont be able to keep them trust me on this

Anthony says:
Yes, yes.. I am sure.

support@namenerd.com says:
I am

support@namenerd.com says:
you wont be able to afford it

Anthony says:
You are so funny.. hosting a domain is not against the law.. I could host "osamarules.com" and it wouldnt be my problem (althought I would choose not to).

Anthony says:
Don't bother me with this crap. You have the mentality of a 5 year old to think that hosting a domain is against the rules.




Is this guy for real? haha

SoftWareRevue
09-13-2002, 08:03 PM
:pimp: ya should tell him to have another drink.

faculty
09-13-2002, 08:08 PM
Now he keeps signing up for accounts then requesting refunds.. all the time.. anyone know how to block his gay signups?

faculty
09-13-2002, 08:09 PM
I use phpmanager..

SoftWareRevue
09-13-2002, 08:10 PM
You don't have his IP(s)?

faculty
09-13-2002, 08:11 PM
His is (was) using a proxy.

faculty
09-13-2002, 08:11 PM
When I issue a refund through 2checkout before the 48 hour mark (I actually gave it about 2 minutes after signup), do I get any extra charges on me?

XTNet
09-13-2002, 08:14 PM
That sucks

faculty
09-13-2002, 08:17 PM
Maybe I should challenge him with "Is that all you got?! Hahaha"


That would piss him off :P

Geek3
09-13-2002, 08:25 PM
faculty.. two things.. what address is he using to register (as in WEB address).. or is it different?

Geek3
09-13-2002, 08:26 PM
... but becareful floppy.. because with a bit of make-believe reporting, WHO KNOWS what the lil punk can do. Just be prepared for something if someone contacts you (and be ready that WHOMEVER contacts you is non-legit and him just messin' with you).

faculty
09-13-2002, 08:30 PM
not sure.. he was that quick to ask for the refund I didnt check!

All I do know is that the domains were both the same.. Or very close to from my quick glance.

Geek3
09-13-2002, 08:37 PM
dang.. i would try and look it up if you could. I use ModernBill's Vortech signup and it will not even let you go any further if you have a domain already in the database.. i'll go ahead and either bann the IP and/or the web address from our database if you got it.. it would be MUCH appreciated..

faculty
09-13-2002, 08:38 PM
I will check the exim mail logs.. will have the message there somewhere ;)

Geek3
09-13-2002, 08:41 PM
in fact modernbill lets me BAN IP addresses too! too bad he aint got a stable one of those (hey, like my ghettoHick grammer!?) ;-)

Geek3
09-13-2002, 08:42 PM
thanks faculty.. i think that's the best thing you can (and i'll report it to a few reporting agencies for hosts)

faculty
09-13-2002, 08:42 PM
haha..

I could ask my server supplier to ban his IP from the router..

But I doubt they would.. yah know.. otherwise he cant see a few thousand websites :P

faculty
09-13-2002, 08:45 PM
Heard of T E R R A H O P.COM??


Found out it is the same guy.. different layout and domain ;)

faculty
09-13-2002, 08:46 PM
T E R R A H O P.COM = namenerd.com


:rolleyes:

Geek3
09-13-2002, 08:54 PM
thank you kindly faculty... hey, does it include the spaces? :confused:


LOL (i'm going to go ahead and report this). thanks!

Geek3
09-13-2002, 08:55 PM
HEY, was there a specific email he used too (sorry to be picky) is it the same as used in the conversation?

faculty
09-13-2002, 09:00 PM
I can give you his email address he used when signing up through CC..


I cant give you to much info cause I will get done in for consumer protection crap..

removed :D:D

Geek3
09-13-2002, 09:00 PM
that's all i needed.. you can remove it if you'd like :-)

faculty
09-13-2002, 09:01 PM
:)

Geek3
09-13-2002, 09:25 PM
reported.. not sure what that'll do, but hey, it's a start.. they are banned from our services as well.. any other takers? :)

RH Robert
09-14-2002, 01:44 AM
IM me his IP and email, and we'll block him too

hostpc.com
09-14-2002, 07:31 AM
I'll block him - I don't want trouble... we run a nice quiet community, and I'm just not in the mood :)

PM me if you please :)

Geek3
09-14-2002, 09:11 AM
faculty, were you able to obtain his IP?

faculty
09-14-2002, 10:27 AM
Hrmm.. yeah.. turned out to be an AOL IP..

acidHL
09-14-2002, 07:39 PM
Threaten him with legal action for fraud lol. That usually works.

AL-Benjamin
09-14-2002, 08:07 PM
Now he keeps signing up for accounts then requesting refunds.. all the time.. anyone know how to block his gay signups?

get 2checkout to contact his issuing bank. he's abusing the credit users agreement. they will probably remove his card. :D

AL-Benjamin
09-14-2002, 08:07 PM
oh, and its also a form of harrasment if he does it a number of times.

AntiSpamHosts
09-14-2002, 08:14 PM
Tell AOL, they might do something.

Geek3
09-14-2002, 08:25 PM
hobo.. i didnt think anybody actually did anything at AOL ;)

TomD
09-15-2002, 12:26 AM
I know I shouldn't say this but.....

You have his phone number from the signup/ cancelled order.

From his manner of dealing with you, it's doubtful he'd have the capacity to live on his own.

Maybe a series of 3 am phone calls asking if you could be of assistance, to help him complete his sign-up would be in order.

weeps
09-15-2002, 12:47 AM
lol

Jim_UK
09-15-2002, 12:47 AM
I'd recommend disabling the auto-account creation on your phpManager script for a few days until he calms himself down. At least this way the order can just be cancelled by you before it gets to your payment processor.

weeps
09-15-2002, 12:48 AM
Originally posted by TomD
I know I shouldn't say this but.....

You have his phone number from the signup/ cancelled order.

From his manner of dealing with you, it's doubtful he'd have the capacity to live on his own.

Maybe a series of 3 am phone calls asking if you could be of assistance, to help him complete his sign-up would be in order.

You also have his address.. send him something from http://www.dogdoo.com/Default.asp !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

faculty
09-15-2002, 01:04 AM
haha.. I really like the ringing of 3am in the morning.. I might try it ;)


TomD - Thanks for that email :)


kdghsu - He is not worthy of the money spent on the dogdoo ;)

faculty
09-15-2002, 01:19 AM
Ok.. here is what I am going to say during my 3am call;


Hi this is Anthony from Bright Light Web Sites. We are just giving your daily wake-up call, which is part of the service we offer. This service comes with the "Reseller 2" package which you signed up for twice, so we made sure you got this call riiiight on time!

bitserve
09-15-2002, 11:31 AM
Originally posted by faculty
Now he keeps signing up for accounts then requesting refunds.. all the time.. anyone know how to block his gay signups?

If they're merry signups, then why would you want to block them?

-mark