Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Clearwebhost finds emails using WHOIS


Carboran
09-12-2002, 10:41 PM
Well, I don't know whether this comes as great surprise to anyone, but I received a SPAM message from them at an address that is available only to Dixiesys and namecheap. So I guess they found via the registar.

Mods, why not **** the host's name?

Akash
09-12-2002, 11:02 PM
IMO if they didn't spam you via the forums than there's no need to...

Richard Ward
09-12-2002, 11:11 PM
Originally posted by Carboran
Well, I don't know whether this comes as great surprise to anyone, but I received a SPAM message from them at an address that is available only to Dixiesys and namecheap. So I guess they found via the registar.

Mods, why not **** the host's name?

It's your problem, not theirs. Most people who complain about spam here and there can't begin to comprehend how much spam the average IPP filters per hour. It's a lot. :)

Carboran
09-12-2002, 11:23 PM
See i get 15 spam messages/hour at my yahoo account, but this email is available only to two companies. No one else knows it.

Richard Ward
09-12-2002, 11:48 PM
Originally posted by Carboran
See i get 15 spam messages/hour at my yahoo account, but this email is available only to two companies. No one else knows it.

Yahoo!? Everybody knows it. Get a "real" e-mail address that is more manageable. Case closed.

Carboran
09-12-2002, 11:53 PM
Ok, for the third time... I received SPAM to an email that is available to Dxiesys and Namecheap only. It is NOT a Yahoo account. It is an Earthlink account

Akash
09-12-2002, 11:54 PM
im pretty sure gary wouldn't sell your email....but if you put an email into WHOIS, its publicly available and you open yourself up to spam...

Carboran
09-13-2002, 12:00 AM
Oh, I am sure the info didn't leak from Dixiesys. I was just annoyed that they use WHOIS to spam

Akash
09-13-2002, 12:01 AM
Originally posted by Carboran
Oh, I am sure the info didn't leak from Dixiesys. I was just annoyed that they use WHOIS to spam

who isn't???

the first time is always a great learning experience...

akashik
09-13-2002, 04:14 AM
The trouble with people like clearwebhost is they don't even target their unwanted mail. I get junk from them a few times a month, and I sure as heck don't need webhosting.

They're just one more in a long list of businesses online that show little interest in the privacy of others.

Greg Moore

RH Robert
09-13-2002, 08:16 AM
As for listing your real information when registering a domain, godaddy offers a proxy service to keep your information secure. The service is 12.00 a year, but it's a boon to companies who want to offer truly anonymous reseller services....

Geek3
09-13-2002, 08:59 AM
Originally posted by akashik
The trouble with people like clearwebhost is they don't even target their unwanted mail. I get junk from them a few times a month, and I sure as heck don't need webhosting.

They're just one more in a long list of businesses online that show little interest in the privacy of others.

Greg Moore

Yes, I'm going to have to agree with Greg here. :-/

hostpc.com
09-13-2002, 09:22 AM
I don't think it was dixiesys that sold your address, why would they want to give your address to any OTHER hosting company? Comon.. just doesn't make sense.

I've gotten about 10 of these msg's from Clearwebhost in the past few days, just gets dumped into the filter with the thousands of others....

Carboran
09-13-2002, 09:57 AM
Da*n it! What kind of people read these forums?? Hostpc, how about you read what I said, before trying to convince me that dixiesys didn't sell my email. Sheesh

Akash
09-13-2002, 12:32 PM
Da*n it! What kind of people read these forums??

No need for that foul language or rude tone of voice here...

and what kind of people read these forums? Some of the most intelligent business minds are here, along with owners of the top companies in the industry, as well as experienced webmasters. Lately, we've also been getting newbies that complain about everything...:rolleyes:

You posted your email in your WHOIS info and didn't expect spam to come to that email address....that's a bad assumption to make. It's only time now before NetSol/Register.com send you snail mail. Are you going to complain about that when it happens??

Xandra
09-13-2002, 03:33 PM
Be happy it was just an e-mail. Some of them actually call you up. Bleh.

bambenek
09-13-2002, 04:15 PM
Because I am just like that, I registered the domain, you-agree-to-send-me-1000-usd-if-you-send-me-email.com. Clearwebhost was the first customer of my email reading service. I've tracked them down to Flushing NY and will be filing suit to get "Mah Money<tm>". Since they have a merchant account, and merchant accounts require bank accounts, if they don't show up after I subpoena them, I can just withdraw the funds with a court order directly, or garnish them if there isn't enough in there.

Feel free to take a look at the website for the investigation... but unless you got a grand to burn, don't email me there. ;)

mrbling
09-13-2002, 05:15 PM
bam,
I wouldn't do that if I was you, your case has no grounds, I can register "If-you-email-me-I-can-charge-you-5-million-dollars.com"

That is not a legal contract,

They will probably counter sue you for their lawyer fees. Then you end up paying their lawyer fees and not getting your $1000.

archie2
09-13-2002, 05:35 PM
I agree with bling

Your claim has no grounds, sounds like blackmail that will not hold up in court.

Just send an email off to their uplink like I did, instead of wasting time on spam.

bambenek
09-13-2002, 05:36 PM
1) They won't show up.
2) If they do, they are still liable for the anti-spam laws, the deceptive business practices and a few others.

For them to get legal fees, I have to be wrong on all counts. They certainly sent me spam, so if nothing else, that stands.