Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : ******.com


GordonH
09-10-2002, 08:23 AM
OK
This is a long story.

Someone registered the domain ******.com through us in November 2001
They then changed the registrant address several times
making a big song and dance about it (Costa Rica, Panama and all sorts of strange places).

Eventually I noticed that this domain was being used for a $1.99 hosting company.
Nothing wrong with that , but the .net version had been registered elsewhere and something did not ring true.

Anyway, a few months ago I started getting threatening emails from customers of ******.com because their sites were down.
It turned out we were still listed as tech contact as the domain had originally been on our free hosting package (yes, they had set up their original hosting site on our free web space).

I had to delete all the whois information.

2 days ago it all started up again with threats and all sorts coming in to us as they had traced the domain back to us somehow.

So the question is, where is ******.com?
Last time I traced their servers to a DSL company in Spain.
It now traces to Slovakia.

It si all very odd and given the length of these outages I am surprised it has not been reported here.

They have certainly made my life hell on two occasions and do not reply to email.

Gordon

GordonH
09-10-2002, 08:24 AM
Ah-ha
I see the ******
so it looke like they are banned.

c-h-i-t-i-e.com

Whats the story?

Gordon

SoftWareRevue
09-10-2002, 08:26 AM
You might want to contact moderators here and see why the url is banned. They might be able to give you some more information as well.

GordonH
09-10-2002, 08:35 AM
Yes
The thing that gets me is that their bad reputation has rubbed off on my business because people don't know what a tech contact is.

I suppose thats why they were happy to leave it the way it was rather than change it.

Gordon

StevenG
09-10-2002, 08:37 AM
Under those circumstances I think you could get the domain name cancelled - The details don't conform to ICANN rules anymore - Contact ******** and see what they say.

******* = the domains registrar :D LOL is everything a ****** tonight :)

GordonH
09-10-2002, 08:43 AM
Actually
I have access to delete the name servers and I seriously considered it I was so angry.
I am currently getting to a server but with a 500 error.

Something worse happned last month when one of these pyramid scams went bust and some of the users traced the site to one of our providers via the IP addresses and turned up at the IP managers house.

Try explaining that the tech contact for IP's is not the person who owned the site to an angry mob especially when he had the same first name as the scammer.

It was a case of 2 + 2 = 34

The site belonged to the customer of one of our dedicated customers resellers.

Gordon

StevenG
09-10-2002, 08:57 AM
*Ouch* you have been getting a rough ride lately :(

I'd try and have the domain name totally cancelled though - I know a few names that would deserve to be technical contacts for that domain name - I guess that would make you no better than they are though :D

Hope your luck gets better ;D

GordonH
09-10-2002, 10:34 AM
OK
They are back
and with a very funny .swf presentation in a pop up.
All quite bizzarre really.

Reptilian Feline
09-10-2002, 10:45 AM
Their "Live chat" seems dead. It's like sending an e-mail. Very much alive, isn't it?

GordonH
12-15-2002, 10:29 AM
Just for the record in case anyone comes here wondering what happened to ******.com

They did not renew their domain name, in spite of me going out of my way to contact them and prevent any nasties for their customers.

Their domain name was then re registered by another unrelated business in Hong Kong.

If anyone is looking for them the email address they gave when they registered the domain name was support2@one2host.com

It could be that the person wo set it up was working in the support department of one2host.com or there may be some other connection.
Its hard to say and as the ******.net domain is also not working.

******.net is registered to admincenter@hostgroup1.com
www.hostgroup1.com seems to have a very similar site to ******.com and has the same customer testimonials on the front page.

Gordon