Skywoolf
10-30-2008, 04:50 AM
Is enom.com genuine or a scam?
I got an email from enom.com (Domain Services 14455 N Hayden Rd Suite 219 Scottsdale, AZ 85260) saying that the contact information in the Whois database for one of my domains is wrong and therefore my domain registration has been cancelled and they sold it to someone else.
I tried replying to the email using the registrant email address and email address of the webmaster of the domain in question. Both emails were rejected. I looked up enom.com and sent an email to the email address listed for enom.com in the Whois database. Again my email was rejected.
The domain in question is registered with Network Solutions, there is nothing wrong with the details and the domain is working fine.
It looks like scam so while I can't see what they have to gain from this childish nonsense I thought it would be worth posting here to warn others.
SiberForum
10-30-2008, 06:52 AM
Quote:
I got an email from enom.com (Domain Services 14455 N Hayden Rd Suite 219 Scottsdale, AZ 85260) saying that the contact information in the Whois database for one of my domains is wrong and therefore my domain registration has been cancelled and they sold it to someone else.
Had they asked you to change information to the correct one before that was sold to other person?
__________________Sibername.com
Canadian Domain Name Registration and
Web Site Hosting Serviceshttp://www.sibername.com
Skywoolf
10-30-2008, 07:45 AM
I only got one email (copied below). It was addressed to the webmaster of the domain in question. I never received any emails addressed to the registered owner.
I checked whois at network solutions and at enom.com. Both show my details unchanged and correct. The domain is also still working at my site and is not due for renewal until next year.
I do not have any account with enom.com and never heard of them until I got this email.
It seems to me to be either a scam or enom.com have their records screwed up.
Quote:
Dear user,
On Wed, 29 Oct 2008 23:00:07 +0530 we received a third party complaint of invalid domain contact information in the Whois database for this domain Whenever we receive a complaint, we are required by ICANN regulations to initiate an investigation as to whether the contact data displaying in the Whois database is valid data or not. If we find that there is invalid or missing data, we contact both the registrant and the account holder and inform them to update the information.
The contact information for the domain which displayed in the Whois database was indeed invalid. On Wed, 29 Oct 2008 23:00:07 +0530 we sent a notice to you at the admin/tech contact email address and the account email address informing you of invalid data in breach of the domain registration agreement and advising you to update the information or risk cancellation of the domain. The contact information was not updated within the specified period of time and we canceled the domain. The domain has subsequently been purchased by another party. You will need to contact them for any further inquiries regarding the domain.
PLEASE VERIFY YOUR CONTACT INFORMATION - http://www.enom.com
If you find any invalid contact information for this domain, please respond to this email with evidence of the specific contact information you have found to be invalid on the Whois record for the domain name. Examples would be a bounced email or returned postal mail. If you have a bounced email, please attach or forward with your reply or in the case of returned postal mail, scan the returned letter and attach to your email reply or please send it to:
Attn: Domain Services 14455 N Hayden Rd Suite 219 Scottsdale, AZ 85260
LINK TO CHANGE INFORMATION - http://www.enom.com
Thank you,
Domain Services
[IncidentID:27747]
_____
unlasheddeer
10-30-2008, 07:54 AM
It's a SCAM! DO NOT click on any of the links provided in the email.....
enom.com has even put up an announcement regarding this on it's homepage....
unlasheddeer
10-30-2008, 07:57 AM
Here's the announcement on their site :-
"Phishing Alert:
We recently became aware of the below fraudulent email circulating to customers requesting that customers log into their accounts to correct inaccurate WHOIS information.
Here is an image of the e-mail.
That email is not legitimate, and we believe it is an attempt to compromise your accounts and/or domain names.
If you have received the email above and you attempted to log into your accounts using the links in the email, login to your account and immediately go to My Info to update your password and your secret question/answer. If you believe that your account has been compromised, please contact us."
Skywoolf
10-30-2008, 08:00 AM
Thanks for the feedback. I don't have any accounts with them so I don't have a problem.
It would help if their email address as shown in the Whois records was not set to block all incoming emails.
__________________
Recent sites:SportFishingAsiaDeep-Field-Relaxation
I wonder who are those who have nothing better to do..
__________________
I do not work for anyone except myself. Please do not misunderstood me when I side on any party.
elmister
10-30-2008, 08:08 AM
If you clicked the links and entered your login info go ASAP to enom.com and change your login details
__________________<<< Please see Look at this first for your question. >>>
Skywoolf
10-30-2008, 08:36 AM
I was suspicious because the URL is not actually enom.com. The link goes to http://www.enom.com.sys53.biz/ so sys53.biz is the domain. I never enter anything if I follow a link like that. If I need to visit the site I go via a known URL.
__________________
Recent sites:SportFishingAsiaDeep-Field-Relaxation
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skywoolf
I was suspicious because the URL is not actually enom.com. The link goes to http://www.enom.com.sys53.biz/ so sys53.biz is the domain. I never enter anything if I follow a link like that. If I need to visit the site I go via a known URL.
Thats too obvious to fell for the trap..
__________________
I do not work for anyone except myself. Please do not misunderstood me when I side on any party.
mrzippy
11-01-2008, 06:38 AM
You should NEVER EVER EVER NEVER click a link in an email send "from" some business that is asking you to login.
It is always better to store the website's login page into your browser favorites, or manually type it into the browser.
If you are in the habit of clicking login links from emails you receive... then you are stupid and it's only a matter of time before you receive a phishing email where you provide someone with your login un/pw.
Simple as that.
Be smart people.
__________________
Want to sell domain names? Sign up today for an eNom.com reseller account from a trusted eNom ETP provider.* We provide support and service to over 3245 happy eNom domain name and SSL certificate resellers!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skywoolf
I was suspicious because the URL is not actually enom.com. The link goes to http://www.enom.com.sys53.biz/ so sys53.biz is the domain. I never enter anything if I follow a link like that. If I need to visit the site I go via a known URL.
The whois for this scamming domain:-
Quote:
Whois Record
Domain Name: SYS53.BIZ
Domain ID: D27920097-BIZ
Sponsoring Registrar: ONLINENIC, INC. D/B/A CHINA-CHANNEL.COM
Sponsoring Registrar IANA ID: 82
Domain Status: clientHold
Domain Status: clientTransferProhibited
Registrant ID: OLNI_175346_0_2
Registrant Name: Shestakov Yuriy
Registrant Organization: Shestakov Yuriy