ATST
09-09-2002, 10:59 AM
This is almost funny because first of all, I just found out today that we now have to dial the three digit area code to make any call, therefore have been unable to log online from my home all weekend. DUH!
Ok so I am catching up on emails, and I got two spamcop letters, from my personal domain telling me they have recieved complaints, ect.
The thing is, there are no open relays. This site is on a older raq (3+years) and it doesn't even have smtp enabled or any webmail installed. In fact, I can't even send mail from this domain. (yet, that is one of the reasons, I am finally moving that one) After I read it, if I want to reply, I have to either use my ISP email client, or use my business account to reply.
Maybe it is a joke?
the subjects sounded threatening and unprofessional:
Subject: We will block you from millions of users
Subject: UCE from your network
The return addy says: abuse@julianhaight.com
Ok so being 100% sure they are wrong, I wanna know who the hell is this wizzard is that thinks I spammed them, even though I have several anti spam pages and tips on nasty things to do to spammers on my site. (I'm starting to get an idea now)
sure enough, I go to the domain in question and find this page:
Spamcop spam is forged
Starting appoximately 12 noon EST 06 Aug 2002, and cointinuing again Aug 12th and Sep 7th, spam purporting to be from spamcop.net/julianhaight.com began being sent in an attempt to 'get spamcop in trouble'. This is a standard spammer tactic (joe job).
These messages were not sent by spamcop, and the claims made in them are false. Please disregard the email and/or block the originating IP address - 64.70.191.50
Please do not block mail from julianhaight.com or spamcop.net. If you cannot block by IP address, it is safe to block the origin email addresses, ( 'spam.reporting@reports.spamcop.net', 'abuse@julianhaight.com', 'webmaster@julianhaight.com', 'webmaster@spamcop.net', 'abuse@spamcop.net', 'jkdom@mail.julianhaight.com', 'joker-com@julianhaight.com') as no legitimate mail should be sent from these.
If you would like to contact someone at spamcop about this, you can send email to deputies@admin.spamcop.net. But please refrain from doing so. We are aware of the problem, and we are doing what we can to limit the damage. Unfortunately, since we're not responsible for sending it, there is little we can do to stop it.
- SpamCop mgmt.
Anyone one else get this crap?
Actually I am inclined to block the julianhaight.com entire domain, because the full header shows
Return-Path: <abuse@julianhaight.com>
Received: from julianhaight.com ([64.70.191.50])
by mydomain.com (8.10.2/8.10.2) with SMTP id g87EVvm19650
for <administrator@mydomain.com>; Sat, 7 Sep 2002 08:31:57 -0600
Date: Sat, 07 Sep 2002 10:36:36 -0500
X-Mailer: X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 5.00.2615.200
Subject: UCE from your network
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Encoding: MIME
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="----=_NextPart_13528851483426708570313684"
From: abuse@julianhaight.com
To: administrator@mydomain.com
Message-Id: <7uiw7wma.x4ipju07tn2q6edb@julianhaight.com>
Reply-To: spam.reporting@reports.spamcop.net
X-UIDL: I;k"!5<%!!3^Y"!!K]"!
Status: RO
The only thing I see spoofed is the reply to addy. Maybe a cheap publicity stunt for julianhaight? I think I should spamcop julianhaight for doing this.
Ok so I am catching up on emails, and I got two spamcop letters, from my personal domain telling me they have recieved complaints, ect.
The thing is, there are no open relays. This site is on a older raq (3+years) and it doesn't even have smtp enabled or any webmail installed. In fact, I can't even send mail from this domain. (yet, that is one of the reasons, I am finally moving that one) After I read it, if I want to reply, I have to either use my ISP email client, or use my business account to reply.
Maybe it is a joke?
the subjects sounded threatening and unprofessional:
Subject: We will block you from millions of users
Subject: UCE from your network
The return addy says: abuse@julianhaight.com
Ok so being 100% sure they are wrong, I wanna know who the hell is this wizzard is that thinks I spammed them, even though I have several anti spam pages and tips on nasty things to do to spammers on my site. (I'm starting to get an idea now)
sure enough, I go to the domain in question and find this page:
Spamcop spam is forged
Starting appoximately 12 noon EST 06 Aug 2002, and cointinuing again Aug 12th and Sep 7th, spam purporting to be from spamcop.net/julianhaight.com began being sent in an attempt to 'get spamcop in trouble'. This is a standard spammer tactic (joe job).
These messages were not sent by spamcop, and the claims made in them are false. Please disregard the email and/or block the originating IP address - 64.70.191.50
Please do not block mail from julianhaight.com or spamcop.net. If you cannot block by IP address, it is safe to block the origin email addresses, ( 'spam.reporting@reports.spamcop.net', 'abuse@julianhaight.com', 'webmaster@julianhaight.com', 'webmaster@spamcop.net', 'abuse@spamcop.net', 'jkdom@mail.julianhaight.com', 'joker-com@julianhaight.com') as no legitimate mail should be sent from these.
If you would like to contact someone at spamcop about this, you can send email to deputies@admin.spamcop.net. But please refrain from doing so. We are aware of the problem, and we are doing what we can to limit the damage. Unfortunately, since we're not responsible for sending it, there is little we can do to stop it.
- SpamCop mgmt.
Anyone one else get this crap?
Actually I am inclined to block the julianhaight.com entire domain, because the full header shows
Return-Path: <abuse@julianhaight.com>
Received: from julianhaight.com ([64.70.191.50])
by mydomain.com (8.10.2/8.10.2) with SMTP id g87EVvm19650
for <administrator@mydomain.com>; Sat, 7 Sep 2002 08:31:57 -0600
Date: Sat, 07 Sep 2002 10:36:36 -0500
X-Mailer: X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 5.00.2615.200
Subject: UCE from your network
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Encoding: MIME
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="----=_NextPart_13528851483426708570313684"
From: abuse@julianhaight.com
To: administrator@mydomain.com
Message-Id: <7uiw7wma.x4ipju07tn2q6edb@julianhaight.com>
Reply-To: spam.reporting@reports.spamcop.net
X-UIDL: I;k"!5<%!!3^Y"!!K]"!
Status: RO
The only thing I see spoofed is the reply to addy. Maybe a cheap publicity stunt for julianhaight? I think I should spamcop julianhaight for doing this.
