Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : siteturn.com rip off...


ChickenSteak
09-08-2002, 12:38 AM
http://www.eliate.com
http://www.siteturn.com

Does that look like a straight copy or what? :D :stickout :rolleyes:

faculty
09-08-2002, 12:40 AM
Looks the same - maybe they are bought templates?

ChickenSteak
09-08-2002, 12:41 AM
Originally posted by faculty
Looks the same - maybe they are bought templates?
I seriously doubt, it. Site Turn is, an well known reputable host.

ChickenSteak
09-08-2002, 12:43 AM
I mean even look at the text at the footer of both of them.
*On Annual Accounts

MultiVol
09-08-2002, 12:45 AM
50% rip :D

ChickenSteak
09-08-2002, 12:48 AM
:stickout The whole concept, is pretty much.

OldOne
09-08-2002, 12:59 AM
I just saw http://www.siteturn.com Copyright© 1999-2001
and http://www.eliate.com Copyright© 2002 Eliate All rights reserved

Can somebody look at it and give some answer. I think I am not making the things more complicated.

ChickenSteak
09-08-2002, 01:01 AM
Originally posted by OldOne
I just saw http://www.siteturn.com Copyright© 1999-2001
and http://www.eliate.com Copyright© 2002 Eliate All rights reserved

Can somebody look at it and give some answer. I think I am not making the things more complicated. What's your question, and maybe wht will have an answer :);).

SoftWareRevue
09-08-2002, 05:59 AM
Did you bother contacting either company before posting this?

Chachi
09-08-2002, 06:11 AM
Eliate's site was apparently designed by Infinite Designs... http://www.infinite-edesigns.com/

Amir
09-08-2002, 06:14 AM
Hello,

IMHO certainly inspired, but not ripped.

Amir
09-08-2002, 06:20 AM
ChickenSteak,

As a quick note, I've checked your web site, and you've got a nice, clean design. However most of the links at your web site, seems to be dead. Better check it out, since it's not nice to see " The page cannot be found " once a visitor clicks on a link.

You can check your links to see whether their are active or dead at HostPulse.com

Hope it will help you.

Icutwo
09-08-2002, 09:07 AM
Are they both two arms of the one body? :)

ChickenSteak
09-08-2002, 10:20 AM
Originally posted by HeadMaster
ChickenSteak,

As a quick note, I've checked your web site, and you've got a nice, clean design. However most of the links at your web site, seems to be dead. Better check it out, since it's not nice to see " The page cannot be found " once a visitor clicks on a link.

You can check your links to see whether their are active or dead at HostPulse.com

Hope it will help you.
Yes, our site is not done. Yet I don't see how that has to do with anything ;).

ChickenSteak
09-08-2002, 10:22 AM
Originally posted by SoftWareRevue
Did you bother contacting either company before posting this?
Actually, yes I did. I contacted the supposibe "CEO" that was on there "aim" live chat, and he said it was an design made by his partner.

johnallen
09-08-2002, 12:34 PM
http://www.eliate.com
http://www.siteturn.com


Maybe they are the same company? Or owned by the same company?

WildCard
09-09-2002, 02:16 AM
doubt it being the same company. SiteTurn looks so clean and Eliate doesn't.

Then when you goto the designer's page for Eliate, and look at their portfolio, it looks like it was made by someone with 2 weeks of experience with Photoshop..

http://www.infinite-edesigns.com/portfolio.html

Particularly I am speaking of the navbar on the left.

My vote is rip.
-wc-

Icutwo
09-09-2002, 02:27 AM
Then when you goto the designer's page for Eliate, and look at their portfolio, it looks like it was made by someone with 2 weeks of experience with Photoshop..

O My....I see what yooooo meeeeean! :laugh: :dunce:

faculty
09-09-2002, 03:18 AM
Why don't yas just give him a ring?

chuckt101
09-09-2002, 08:12 AM
:eek:

getweb
09-09-2002, 11:17 AM
Ouch! The thread takes a turn against the author :eek:

Anyway... I cringe anytime I hear the word "partner". Seems like there's so many aged 13-16 that have "companies" made up of "partners" and "networks". Not trying to stir up the old under-18 debate - I'm happy to support an honest hardworker no matter what age - but I've had more than my share of kids changing the copyright in the header of scripts and calling themselves (and their "partners") "programmers" but then file five support tickets every time they're SURE I deleted files or messed up their scripts somehow.... *sigh* Thank you. Yeah the sites look very similar but at least not a direct rip... most of the images were remade. Close enough to bother me, but maybe my site copies somebody and I don't even know it. :D

Derek
09-09-2002, 11:47 AM
It is not a rip, as a rip entitles using the exact same graphics... though it is a completely direct copy, which is just as bad.

floppy
09-09-2002, 12:44 PM
They are using same templates may be with each other's consent.