TheGAME1264
09-07-2002, 10:48 AM
I recently received an email, allegedly from Spamcop (however, I am very suspicious) with the following subject:
[SpamCop () id: 105796FU] We are going to block your network
The rest of the email was basically a rehash of the spamcop.net front page. Now I have seen fake emails come through what appears to an open relay on the Spamcop server; however, I'm not totally sure, and this one came from the julianhaight.com mail server.
Has anyone seen anything like this?
Thanks.
I received one. The headers looked legit.
Except it was the same ID as the one you posted.
skylab
09-07-2002, 11:44 AM
yeah, alot of big spamming groups are attacking spamcop and i do believe julianhaight.com is one of them. search for spamcop here, you'll find out more...i read about it in one of the posts.
Originally posted by skylab
yeah, alot of big spamming groups are attacking spamcop and i do believe julianhaight.com is one of them.
I thought that Julian Haight is the name of the person that runs SpamCop :confused:
amusive.com
09-07-2002, 05:06 PM
I just received A LOT of these. The headers are well faked to appear to come from spamcop domains (or the julianheight domain) but they actually do not. Check the IP that they come off of, mine were off of Valueweb.net's network.
gtrplayer
09-07-2002, 11:55 PM
agreed...i'm in the same boat. i got one of those posts today and i went to spamcop and checked my ip address for a domain that doesn't have an email server and doggone it...it's listed.
i've asked the folks at spamcop to take me off the list but you know how that goes...quick on...and "we'll get around to it" off.
AH-Tina
09-08-2002, 03:49 PM
They've addressed this issue here:
http://www.julianhaight.com/forgery.shtml
TheGAME1264
09-09-2002, 01:49 AM
Quote from that page:
If you would like to contact someone at spamcop about this, you can send email to deputies@admin.spamcop.net. But please refrain from doing so.
Isn't that somewhat contradictory? "We don't want to hear from you but please talk to us if you like."
amusive.com
09-09-2002, 01:53 AM
Originally posted by TheGAME1264
Quote from that page:
Isn't that somewhat contradictory? "We don't want to hear from you but please talk to us if you like."
No. They have contact information but would prefer you don't contact them.