Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Scammer On These Forums


boon
09-05-2002, 07:46 AM
There is a scammer amongst us. I have fallen for this scam and hopefully in the end will revieve my 667 bucks back. If not legal action will be taken agains this person. I asked a while back about dedicated server prices. Found one I liked and put 3 months payment down on it. Never have I recieved a server and also since I have payed this person does not sign on AIM (he was on 24/7 before so I never needed to use his e-mail he gave me) but finally when I try to e-mail him the e-mail was bogus. This guys name on thie forum is:


spyderx


PLEASE I URGE YOU TO STAY AWAY! I have sent a paypal refund request form (anyone every done that before? does it actually work) and I have requested the person's IP from the modorators of this forum. I just hope you all do not have to go through with that. Also I hope the moderators BAN this SCAM ARTIST from the forum. His sites are i0nic.com and ionichosting.com Again STAY AWAY. I plan on taking legal actions if the paypal refund does not refund ALL of my money. BE AWARE I cannot stress that enough.
Thanks and good luck.

SoftWareRevue
09-05-2002, 07:54 AM
Good luck. Keep us updated. But, you may be in for a battle if you paid from existing PayPal funds.

citrus
09-05-2002, 07:56 AM
Well, I did a search on his username (at wht) and found him actually requesting a dedicated server...:eek:

-> http://webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=69262

Now I find that particularly odd because you said you purchased a dedicated server from him?

Something isn't right here...:cartman:

krc
09-05-2002, 08:00 AM
Looking at http://www.i0nic.com/ and http://www.ionichosting.com/ DIDN'T ACTUALLY give me that warm fuzzy feeling that this one is for real.

- krc

boon
09-05-2002, 08:07 AM
I know that now. About him requesting a server. I did not think I needed to look for previous posts on the guy but it looks like I have to research someone's whole life before I buy a server. Hopefull I will nail this guy and nail him good. Teach him a lesson he will not soon forget. And he used the layout on i0nic.com as the hosting layout on ionichosting.com but he has since taken down ionichosting.com and is selling the layout on i0nic.com

clocker1996
09-05-2002, 09:55 AM
I think i read somewhere that spyderx was only 16 or 15

Sigh, another TIMPD

sup?
09-06-2002, 02:42 AM
That name is familiar...I googled his email and found this page http://mikeproject.com/rate/hair/?id=106502

choon
09-06-2002, 03:06 AM
Hi boon,

So sad to hear about this and hopefully everything is resolved soon :(

Good luck and thanks for keeping us informed ;)

Kindest regards,
Choon

boon
09-06-2002, 05:55 AM
thanks a lot everyone. it looks like i will be having to take some legal action. this guy claims i ordered some reseller program. but since i have a program to log all aim convos and printed out the posts on the forums that he was offering dedicated servers (which he claims now he never did) i know i have enough to prove that he is lying. i have logs of him saying dedicated server, and posts on here about his dedicated servers. also the convorsation with the host who he tried to buy the dedicated server with and was turned down. i got enough information now off to the next step. again thanks all for the support.

davidb
09-06-2002, 10:05 AM
ok, this is the same thing I generally suggest, though apperently I am invisible. If you suspect he is under 18. Find out his name, and who is parents are. Call them. Politely inform them that they are responsible. You may get some where then.

freakysid
09-06-2002, 12:53 PM
Best of luck. I visited these forums for SIX MONTHS researching potential dedi hosts before I leased my first server. It really is "buyer beware". And you should check out the full commercial credentials of any potential host. Being in AU, I have to have an Australian Business Number and a registered trading name (if I trade under a different name to my legal entity name). You need to check out certain things about a company before you give them your money. What is their legal name? What is their advertised address and does it match the registered address for that legal entity? Make sure you have an address and phone number. Ring them before handing over hundreds of dollars!

At a bare minumum, make sure the host has some happy customers that you can contact to verify their legitimacy.

sup?
09-06-2002, 02:09 PM
Originally posted by davidb
ok, this is the same thing I generally suggest, though apperently I am invisible. If you suspect he is under 18. Find out his name, and who is parents are. Call them. Politely inform them that they are responsible. You may get some where then.

Invisible? Could it be?
This was the first post by you on this thread on my screen.

I was thinking the same thing...if you got his name, you just need to call the parents...if he's into technology, he's probably some spoiled nasty kid whose parents wouldn't buy him some toy or other so he thought he'd make money by cheating. They would probably be rather moritified to hear what their son has done, refund the money and with any luck, give the kid a spanking or other lesson he wouldn't soon forget...

There are some bad seeds in every batch. Poor parents..

Best of luck to you.

clocker1996
09-06-2002, 02:53 PM
he does too offer deds, or has....
so if he says that he hasn't before than he's lying

http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&postid=505383#post505383

mushrew
09-06-2002, 09:30 PM
Looks like a resold rackshack offer

jazz
09-06-2002, 09:39 PM
Just do a whois lookup:

i0nic.com
ionichosting.com


Tim Radcliffe
IONIC
315 R Glad Way
Collegeville, Pennsylvania 19426
United States

Registered through: Go Daddy Software (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: IONICHOSTING.COM
Created on: 17-Aug-02
Expires on: 17-Aug-03
Last Updated on: 21-Aug-02


If you live in PA you can pay him a visit :D

boon
09-07-2002, 02:00 AM
i cannot get his phone number, that one is not working, like a voice mail and the other one (i looked up in phone book) is some weird thing where it asks for a pw, im guessing another voice mail. i cannot get this guys phone number.

sup?
09-07-2002, 02:38 AM
there are several lookup directories that are really excellent...on the net...darn, wish i remembered the addresses..

RonsShadow
09-07-2002, 02:39 AM
Have you tried:
http://infousa.com/fs/consumer.htm
Entering his first and last name and state there should get you his phone number and a map to his house if you so desire. Always more than one way to skin a scammer.
:)

iamdave
09-07-2002, 03:01 AM
http://whitepages.com/find_person_results.pl?fid=n&f=Tim&fk=eq&l=Radcliffe&lk=eq&c=19426&s=PA

boon
09-08-2002, 10:49 AM
thanks but i have found 2 numbers already, and well you have found them too. one from godaddy's lookup and one from the whitepages, neither worked.

spyderx
01-11-2004, 03:34 AM
X

spyderx
01-11-2004, 03:38 AM
X

eNz
01-11-2004, 03:40 AM
Why would this thread be bumped?

spyderx
01-11-2004, 03:43 AM
X

eNz
01-11-2004, 03:45 AM
It means taking an old, dated thread and posting to bump it to the top.

Plus, this thread brings your rep into question. Why would you bring attention to that?

spyderx
01-11-2004, 03:47 AM
X

amusive.com
01-11-2004, 03:49 AM
It's public information available on the internet.

Anyway, any response to what he said?

Skylar
01-11-2004, 03:51 AM
So did you rip him off?

radarjammer
01-11-2004, 03:54 AM
spyderx, the scammer. I recommend you to pay the money back which you have taken without sesponsibility.

spyderx
01-11-2004, 03:55 AM
X

Skylar
01-11-2004, 03:57 AM
Well it would be the right thing to do and give him his money back. He never stated that he dident want service.

spyderx
01-11-2004, 04:00 AM
My TOS clearly stated NO REFUNDS WHATSOEVER. He knew my website, knew my terms and acceptable use policy.

radarjammer
01-11-2004, 04:01 AM
So that's the story huh....
Did you tell him that all payment are non refundable before his purchase?

Rman2003
01-11-2004, 04:13 AM
I believe that the "no refund" policy won't hold a whole lotta water if he never received the product to begin with. That's just called a scam.

spyderx
01-11-2004, 04:14 AM
Implied. I stopped business shortly after the beginning of this incident... business never really went anywhere... then a year later (recently) when he started really bothering me I had NO choice but to pay him as much as I could afford to ($400.00) even though he doesn't deserve anything, it was merely a thing done to ressurect the peace around here.... and it didn't work.

eNz
01-11-2004, 04:16 AM
Well, if you stopped business and he had a contract for a set period of time, then you do owe him money.

spyderx
01-11-2004, 04:19 AM
Wasn't that soon... stayed in as "IonicHosting" which then changed to Aerio Solutions which dropped hosting and only did local design and some net sales... kept all existing customers, however... just didn't take anymore... As for his service, he refused to use it, it was there, he just wouldn't use it and demanded a refund.

Rman2003
01-11-2004, 05:03 AM
Originally posted by spyderx
As for his service, he refused to use it, it was there, he just wouldn't use it and demanded a refund.

Now, this is an entirely different story. Although, seeing as how you said this is over a year old, why beat a dead dog. Or a horse.. whatever animal it is.. don't beat it. I do applaud you for at least trying to refund his money, but it does become a more complex situation if you provided services as they were ordered and then he simply "changed his mind". I see a lot of this due to miscommunication.

anon-e-mouse
01-11-2004, 07:04 AM
Wonder why an old thread was dug up? :cartman:

Are you also Mike of the other old thread?