Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Beware of Richard


ZSIMark
09-07-2008, 01:13 PM
Hello all,

I have held my tongue for long enough. Over the past 4 months, I have been working with a person who goes by the user name Richard on here. I was working with a client of mine to design a rather elaborate site.

Richard told us it would take 4-6 weeks. I was skeptical of his progress, so I stayed on top of things, and every time he assured me it was on track. The site started to be coded on May 24th. Leaving the completion date at the very beginning of July.

At the beginning of July, Richard told us that the person he outsourced to had a "Stop Loss to Deploy" or something along those lines, meaning he was shipped off to war somewhere. That's fine, hire another programmer I told him. He said he would find someone quick and we would be back on track.

August rolled around, I assumed the site would be wrapping up now. I go to ask about progress, he said he still hasn't found someone. I gave him until the end of August to complete the site, he said that would be no problem.

He spent two months apparently looking for someone to finish the site with him, had no progress to show of his own work, and he kept my money and disappeared.

So please, do not deal with this person as you are going to get screwed over. Even if he legitimately had an excuse to be late on the final design (his programmer was sent away) he still has no excuse for disappearing and sitting around for two months doing nothing.

I AM hiring a collections agency to track down this bastard and get my money back. I WILL hire a private investigator if our searches are unsuccessful, and I WILL hire a lawyer if we need further work done. This was a substantial amount of funds, and even if I spend more than I will make, it is the principle of the matter.

I hope this has alerted you of this fraudulent person and you will avoid him at all costs.

Richard's site: http://www.designedmagic.com/
Him AIM: methamp
Last login here: Beginning of August
Last login on AIM: August 28th

If anyone has information on his address and more information about him, please post here. Our transaction was through paypal but it is past the deadline for a dispute.

Thank you for your time.

JLHC
09-07-2008, 01:20 PM
From the domain's whois:-
Ward, Richard
mh [at] greyhat.org
Designed Magic, Ltd.
1033 36th St.
Orlando, Florida 32805
United States
9044653308 Fax -- 8883219527

ZSIMark
09-07-2008, 01:21 PM
That is consistent with the location he told me.

ZSIMark
09-07-2008, 01:26 PM
The address does exist, although it is not linked to a Richard Ward in the 411 databases.

ZSIMark
09-07-2008, 01:27 PM
(904) 465-3308
Type: Cell PhoneProvider: Alltel CommunicationsLocation: Jacksonville, FL

The business listed on his paypal is inconsistent with his WHOIS though.

Business Name:
Greyhat Consortium
www.greyhat.org

Also linked to http://www.espressoreport.com/, which he just recently posted on. Although he won't respond to my emails or PM's!

taylorwilsdon
09-07-2008, 03:42 PM
Exactly how much did you pay up front? Based on the collections and PI comments, sounds like it was a lot. Frankly, this serves as a pretty strong argument towards using escrow services in these types of transactions.

ZSIMark
09-07-2008, 04:01 PM
Not so much about how much, but I don't want him to get away with this. I've had positive dealings with him before, so Ia m surprised. But I guess he was just waiting for me to trust him with something larger. It was only $2500, but again, the principle of the matter.

I have contacted a few collections agencies, and I'm going to see where it goes from here.

oliviakitty
09-08-2008, 01:18 AM
Not so much about how much, but I don't want him to get away with this. I've had positive dealings with him before, so Ia m surprised. But I guess he was just waiting for me to trust him with something larger. It was only $2500, but again, the principle of the matter.

I have contacted a few collections agencies, and I'm going to see where it goes from here.

$2,500 is a lot of money to get swindled out of.

I hope you recover some of it,
And it was good of you to forewarn others.

gamernz
09-08-2008, 07:55 PM
Good luck with the possible collection of these funds, it really is sad to see people scamming on a forum like Web Hosting Tallk.

ZSIMark
10-02-2008, 04:35 PM
Just an update on this, the collections agency I have been working with, Ficka & Associates, have tried numerous times to get Richard to pay the debt, they have spoken with him on the phone and he has not agreed voluntarily to pay the debt. They have run a background check and have found that he has the assets to pay this debt, but he will not pay. It will cost $700 to take this to court and sue him, and I do not think I can afford to do this unfortunately.

Flumps
10-04-2008, 10:15 AM
Just an update on this, the collections agency I have been working with, Ficka & Associates, have tried numerous times to get Richard to pay the debt, they have spoken with him on the phone and he has not agreed voluntarily to pay the debt. They have run a background check and have found that he has the assets to pay this debt, but he will not pay. It will cost $700 to take this to court and sue him, and I do not think I can afford to do this unfortunately.

sorry to hear about people scamming on wht, and I have to agree that is alot to loose however you have to think if you took him to court that would be another $700 to loose that you might not get back if he was foun not guilty.

I have a question though, why did you ask a designer to design you somthing that out sources?

Brent K
10-06-2008, 10:43 AM
Sorry to hear about that. It's angering when web designers scam their clients. Especially for that amount of money. Hope you recover some of it.

htb
10-06-2008, 10:43 PM
I be scam alot on WHT then other forums.