View Full Version : www.icenethost.com spam :D
Félix C.Courtemanche 03-18-2001, 09:11 PM You have to see this new good web hosting company that even spam other hosting company :D
At Last Web Masters and Designers!
Premium Hosting at a Budget Price! Introducing ICE NET HOST!
NO SIGN UP FEES! 100 MBs! CGI - MySQL - FrontPage
Unlimited Email - Unlimited Forwarding - Unlimited FTP
FULL CONTROL PANEL - Webalizer Stats - AND MORE!
ONLY $11.95 a month - NO SIGN UP FEES! - COMPARE US!
SIGN UP NOW: https://www.icenethost.com/signup/
This is a Premium Web Host plan that gives you all the extras you need to
build outstanding Web Sites in less time. Thanks to our easy to use Control
Panel, and a long list of features, your Web Site will be up and running in
no time.
Go To http://www.icenethost.com/ and see how easy it can be!
NOTE: We OWN our own servers! We do NOT resell someone else's
services! We perform all of our own Technical maintenance ourselves.
-----------------------------------------------------------
Note: If you would like to be removed from future mailings
please reply to this message with your email address and
"Please Remove" in the subject line.
-----------------------------------------------------------
I don't need to comment!!
Chris 03-18-2001, 09:16 PM you are advertising for them......
JBIZ718 03-18-2001, 09:38 PM Thats pretty weak.
jtan15 03-18-2001, 09:38 PM I got this message too. Sounds like they are picking email addresses out of signatures at WHT and e-mailing them. :(
Shawn (GEcom) 03-18-2001, 09:56 PM Not the signatures, but rather the profiles I assume. My e-mail is not in my signature, weird.
I got 2 of these stupid e-mails.
[Edited by Shawn (Wrestlecar.com) on 03-19-2001 at 07:58 PM]
Yeah, I got one too. What a sad case.
X-treme 03-19-2001, 12:00 AM I got 2 of them also..
X-treme
alpha 03-19-2001, 12:44 AM me too lol
Synergy 03-19-2001, 12:46 AM I see they emailed everyone from WHT... Lame host! thats a host to avoid! Since when did I join their mailing list?
----------------------------------------------
At Last Web Masters and Designers!
Premium Hosting at a Budget Price! Introducing ICE NET HOST!
NO SIGN UP FEES! 100 MBs! CGI - MySQL - FrontPage
Unlimited Email - Unlimited Forwarding - Unlimited FTP
FULL CONTROL PANEL - Webalizer Stats - AND MORE!
ONLY $11.95 a month - NO SIGN UP FEES! - COMPARE US!
SIGN UP NOW: https://www.icenethost.com/signup/
This is a Premium Web Host plan that gives you all the extras you need to
build outstanding Web Sites in less time. Thanks to our easy to use Control
Panel, and a long list of features, your Web Site will be up and running in
no time.
Go To http://www.icenethost.com/ and see how easy it can be!
NOTE: We OWN our own servers! We do NOT resell someone else's
services! We perform all of our own Technical maintenance ourselves.
-----------------------------------------------------------
Note: If you would like to be removed from future mailings
please reply to this message with your email address and
"Please Remove" in the subject line.
-----------------------------------------------------------
Chicken 03-19-2001, 01:28 AM Originally posted by Shawn (Wrestlecar.com)
Not the signatures, but rather the profiles I assume. My e-mail is not in my signature, weird.
It isn't in your profile either. I recommend that everyone keep their email addresses hidden within the board (it is contained in the SQL db). Turning on the email feature in your profile does NOT expose your email address.
Some of you may have posted your address at one point or another within a post, or they may have used ICQ to look up addresses (though, that would take quite some time to do).
allan 03-19-2001, 10:30 AM Originally posted by Synergy
I see they emailed everyone from WHT... Lame host! thats a host to avoid! Since when did I join their mailing list?
I got it as well...I think the moderators must have sold their address list to this fine, upstanding, member of the WHT community :D :D.
Red Circle Web Hosting 03-19-2001, 05:05 PM Thats Reallet Smart!LOL
Vladimir 03-19-2001, 06:00 PM Ha! ;) they may have sold their souls as well ;) Just kidding. ;) Let's add this hosting to RBL ... ;)
MattF 03-19-2001, 06:44 PM What a lame host.
Anyways I disabled the members list and emails are not longer displayed in profiles.
jtan15 03-19-2001, 06:47 PM Originally posted by MattF
What a lame host.
Anyways I disabled the members list and emails are not longer displayed in profiles.
Wait ... he could not have gotten the emails from the profiles. It never displayed them. The only option was "click here to e-mail so and so" and it would never release the actual e-mail address. He had to get them through some other means.
MattF 03-19-2001, 06:50 PM I presume he used harvesting software then. Not all users were spammed. I wasn't.
I didn't receive anything, but that may be because my standard e-mail address at this point has gone kaput :D
(and what a time to do it too! :kaioken: )
Shawn (GEcom) 03-19-2001, 08:40 PM The asses got my e-mail from a post a while back
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?threadid=5589
Thats the ONLY time i have posted it here, well, that above too..
It was my webmaster and advertising accounts that got it, not my privacy account.
Martie 03-19-2001, 08:50 PM I got it to!
I get lots of spam
Shawn (GEcom) 03-19-2001, 08:59 PM Hey Admins, any chance you guys can please remove my e-mail addresses from this thread?
http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?threadid=5589
Thx
UNIXIELHOST 03-19-2001, 09:27 PM Why I wasnt being spammed, weird? Hmmmm
Chicken 03-19-2001, 09:37 PM Originally posted by Shawn (Wrestlecar.com)
Hey Admins, any chance you guys can please remove my e-mail addresses from this thread?
Done. By the way, anyone know anybody who wants the email addresses of members here? I mean errrrr.... nevermind. :)
Hmm... on a whim I just did a quick test, and it's very easy to find all the email addresses that have been included in a post here. It's probably a good idea never to post them, or to at least take some anti-harvesting steps if for some reason you do.
And now, putting on my conspiracy theorist hat, remember a few weeks back when somebody mentioned that it was odd that there was a sudden burst of "clients for sale" posts in the advertising forum, from new members and asking anyone interested to post their email addresses?
Well, OK, I'm not really theorizing that this spam was from one of those people. But I'd think twice about posting that address next time.
[Edited by JayC on 03-19-2001 at 09:02 PM]
Vortech 03-19-2001, 10:04 PM Yep we got the same thing today.
I hope some one RBL's there ass or some thing.
icenethost.com should be shut down damn spammers.
Hell i have never used the address we got a spam today. Never its our Adult hosting site hell i did not even remmber the passowrd for it thats how much i use it..LOL
Not sure how they got my e-mail as i have never even used it before and i mean never it was it first e-mail..LOL
Shawn (GEcom) 03-19-2001, 11:44 PM Originally posted by Chicken
Originally posted by Shawn (Wrestlecar.com)
Hey Admins, any chance you guys can please remove my e-mail addresses from this thread?
Done. By the way, anyone know anybody who wants the email addresses of members here? I mean errrrr.... nevermind. :)
Thanks Chicken, I appreciate it..
kunal 03-20-2001, 02:26 AM nopes.. never got any spam :)
|