Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : How to get a refund from EARHost?


tazd9t9
08-31-2002, 10:10 PM
Hi Guys,

As you know im one of the people who has been having problems with EARHost and the cpanel issue (its been down for nearly a week now)
If i talk 2 james he tells me 2 talk 2 tim, and if you talk 2 Tim he ignores you or comes up with some lame excuse.
The support page on their site has a range of ways of requesting support, so as tim has been offline on AIM for 2 days i submitted a ticket saying i want a refund.

I got this reply...

(Tim)
-----------------------------------------------
Time: 30-8-2002-11:10
: This isn't where to request a cancellation. Closing Ticket.


So i went to their contact us page, nothing about cancellations (that i saw anyway) so i thought well i will send an email requesting a refund with a CC to all addresses on their except webmaster.

I got this response

This needs to be ONLY send to cancel@earhost.com ignoring and deleting email


So as i got this email as soon as it arrived i knew tim was online, i sent the email to cancel@earhost.com
I sent the email at 16:34 It is now 3:10 am and i have heard nothing back from them.
I know there is a time difference between the UK and US but he was online, he could have at least replied.

My customers were obviously angry that they couldnt access their control panel, one of the customers affected is a business, so they may have lost business as they couldnt access their email etc.

At this point I have to say a huge thanks to Purple-paw.com whom i have another reseller account with, they have helped me out enourmously.

So how am i gonna get this refund............they are lucky i am not taking them 2 trading standards and demanding compensation.

Yesterday one of their own staff was having problems with downtime and couldn't get it sorted.!!

I give up, there are too many crooks and dodgy companies out there.

The Prohacker
08-31-2002, 10:16 PM
Move your clients, and call your CC company and ask for a charge back...


Well looks like EARhost is a fraud ring too... Who woulda thought timmah would do such a thing :D

KHL
08-31-2002, 10:22 PM
I got my refund the other day. Just keep trying.

tazd9t9
08-31-2002, 10:22 PM
Clients have been moved to purple-paw where i know they will be ok.
I paid via paypal with a debit card.

The other thing i forgot to mention is that i signed up when it was just james, before the complaints started. I would NEVER have signed up if i knew Tim would become involved

tribby
08-31-2002, 10:23 PM
You should probably only use a chargeback as a last resort. Do you know if they use a 3rd party payment processor such as Revecom/2checkout/WorldPay? If so, try contacting them first.

TheMMIz
09-01-2002, 01:09 AM
I have had the EXACT same problem with EARHost. They literally send me the same quoted text, making me run around in circles. When I submitted my final refund request with my PayPal ID in it, Tim wrote back asking for my ID. Sadly I used PayPal's direct funds transfer by accident, somehow I had switched to that without noticing, and there is nothing I can do in terms of a Chargeback. I learned my lesson, always use a credit card and try to stay away from PayPal if the company is not well known. I learned my lesson, thankfully it was only $25.00. My God Tim annoys the hell out of me.

akashik
09-01-2002, 04:08 AM
Originally posted by tazd9t9
I give up, there are too many crooks and dodgy companies out there.

There are plenty of good ones too. Sorry for your troubles with this 'webhost' but I'd suggest you spend some time researching some the reputable hosts on this forum as well as outside it. Hosting your site with total peace of mind isn't difficult, as long as you can look past the 'bottom feeder' bargains and look for a company who isn't a flash in the pan, flavor of the month.

Some of us haven't even needed to reboot a server in the time some of these other 'businesses' are born and fade away.

WHT is packed solid with people who shouldn't even be near a server, let alone admin one. Fewer of those have the patience and consideration to look after people who's business may well live or die as a result of their actions (or inaction as the case may be)

Greg Moore

Techark
09-01-2002, 04:24 AM
Well I hate to say it but all you can really do is keep after them, maybe try calling James tell him Tim is screwing you around etc.

There are still some good companies out there, do research, steer clear of the kids and part time host. And always remember if it sounds too good to be true it is.

Maybe you can delete the glowing recomendation you made for them in their forum to keep others from getting screwed too, hey?

Andrew_Ge
09-01-2002, 04:35 AM
Also sounds like EAR host are having finantial difficulties - So I agree with the posts above 100% jump ship ASAP with your money :D

Diana777
09-01-2002, 04:54 AM
I don't know for sure or not if this might help cause I don't know all that much about "upstream responsibility" and "server provider responsibility", but in case, here are some of nEarhost's servers. I wouldn't even guess if they might know what fraud is going on, but not do anything about it, but the fact that the site is still on air is an indication that someone either doesn't know about it, or doesn't mind aiding and abetting fraudulent people who don't really even have legal rights to have companies:

Name: CP Cyber Wurx
NetRange: 66.154.0.0 - 66.154.95.255
Schwarz, Christopher (CS1169-ARIN) chris@cyberwurx.com
314-843-4698

mercedes.noc4dallas.com
(66.150.223.50)
E A R H O S T.COM: 66.154.91.233
C O L O 4 U.NET: 66.154.91.222 [NS.NOC4DALLAS.COM :: 64.247.34.253 (Net Access Corporation NetRange: 64.247.0.0 - 64.247.63.255)]
COLODEDICATION.COM: 66.154.91.221[NS.NOC4DALLAS.COM :: 64.247.34.253]
REGISTRYWALLET.COM: 66.154.91.234

OrgName: GLI (Global Compass - "Cyber Wurx")
NetRange: 139.81.0.0 - 139.81.255.255
firebird.colo4atlanta.com
(139.81.50.212)

OrgName: Internap Network Services
NetRange: 216.52.0.0 - 216.52.255.255
porcshe.noc4dallas.com
(216.52.184.231)

chevelle.noc4dallas.com
(00.00.00.0)

Just call me Angel of the Morning... :angel:

akashik
09-01-2002, 05:03 AM
Originally posted by Diana777
Just call me Angel of the Morning...

You know that's a name for the devil right?? :D

Greg Moore

Diana777
09-01-2002, 05:26 AM
Anyway... which devil? There are soooooo many you know...
:angel:

okihost
09-01-2002, 10:04 AM
Why dont you call 866-earhost (think thats it) a few times.. I have noticed in the past when I had issues with a dodgy host that alot of times if you bother the hell out of them and make there life a little more difficult alot of times they will give you what you want just to shut you up.. aside from that I would wait 2-3 weeks and do a chargeback.. there are certain instances where chargebacks are not needed and unfortunately people abuse the chargeback system too often but trust me I think this is one of those times it is needed if they keep dodging you..

tazd9t9
09-01-2002, 11:51 AM
Cos someone tried their number the other day and said he got "number not recognised" and he's in the US, i dont want to pay for international calls.

vibehosts
09-01-2002, 12:16 PM
Hello,
I have asked Tim about why they require someone to send an email and not done with a ticket and he said this is only done for security reasons anyone can literally come in and act as this person your friend, or your relative, your enemy anyone that knows who your host is and come in and say cancel so and so accounts. For security I understand this and wouldn't want some user saying Cancel My account and then Tim delete it and Im' not the one who really cancel it.

TheMMIz
09-01-2002, 07:59 PM
I would love to call their toll free number, but after reviewing their forums I notice that Tim has routed the number to a null number, stating he was getting too many harassing messages and callers.

The Prohacker
09-01-2002, 08:14 PM
Originally posted by TheMMIz
I would love to call their toll free number, but after reviewing their forums I notice that Tim has routed the number to a null number, stating he was getting too many harassing messages and callers.

See my sig for more help :D

Ring up Leonard :D

Leonard is Timmah's uncle...

Guess timmah's dad didn't like the 4am phone call on the toll-free :D