Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Curious about VBulletin license...


Axel Teflon
08-31-2002, 07:43 PM
Hey, first of all I'd like to point out that I have no intension of faking any vBulletin licenses what-so-ever as my questions may keep you curious to why I am asking. A friend of mine and I where talking about VBulletin licenses and I got curious of a few questions:

Is there any way to find out if a person, using an active vBulletin forum has a license?

What can happen if somebody is found out using an active vBulletin forum without a license?

Whats the average price for a vBulletin forum license per month/year?

Thanks :)

*sorry about my 'license' mistakes. There fixed now. :stickout

eyow
08-31-2002, 07:50 PM
You can probably get the answer to most of those questions from their website (http://www.vbulletin.com) and to get the price info here's a direct link (http://www.vbulletin.com/order/) to their pricing you can own the software for as little as $160. :)

Pilgrim
08-31-2002, 07:59 PM
Vbulletin actively goes after sites that run illegal copies of vbulletin.

They will contact the hostingcompany that is hosting your site and have the site removed.

I don't know if they take any further legal action. No customer has ever come back to inform me about it.

JMD
08-31-2002, 08:00 PM
It's 160 US Funds
For a full license and that gets you free upgrades and tech support for one year. After that you pay I believe 30 or 35 dollars a year for the upgrades and tech support.

If you would rather lease it will cost you 85 dollars a year and you never own the license (I don't recommend this)

Is there any way to find out if a person, using an active vBulletin forum has a license?

I believe there is. You can take the url down and give it to vB and they can check to see if its a legal license.


What can happen if somebody is found out using an active vBulletin forum without a license?


Well Vb will go after your ISP if your found to be running a board with out a license.

It's best that you confirm this info over at VB

Cheers
:)

CritticAge
08-31-2002, 10:32 PM
I heard that they are pretty 'kind' and give you a chance to remove it or pay for a license? :cool:

The Prohacker
08-31-2002, 10:55 PM
Originally posted by CritticAge
I heard that they are pretty 'kind' and give you a chance to remove it or pay for a license? :cool:

Actually, nuke pirates emails you, demanding either you take it off, or give you a chance to buy vB, if you don't, they will email your host, etc....

ik0n
08-31-2002, 11:19 PM
On the front page of www.nukepirates.com :

" NukePirates on the attack: Illegal vBulletin sites dropping like flies!"

The Prohacker
09-01-2002, 12:02 AM
Originally posted by ik0n
On the front page of www.nukepirates.com :

" NukePirates on the attack: Illegal vBulletin sites dropping like flies!"


You'll also note the dead pirates list... Most of the sites listed there, are malformed links..

The sites are still around, but they put the wrong domain name to look big and bad :D

CritticAge
09-01-2002, 04:33 AM
Originally posted by The Prohacker


Actually, nuke pirates emails you, demanding either you take it off, or give you a chance to buy vB, if you don't, they will email your host, etc....

Yeah, they give you a chance...

SoftWareRevue
09-01-2002, 06:30 AM
Originally posted by CritticAge


Yeah, they give you a chance... Nope. Not always. :(

Webdude
09-01-2002, 08:56 PM
Heh, I also saw this on nuke pirates website...LOL

(We don't consider "full retail version with serial number" to be a "crack", but apparently FOSI does ;-) This particular "crack" group would have difficulty cracking a peanut with a sledgehammer.)