Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Be aware of MyGHosting


Tracker1224
07-01-2008, 12:38 AM
Sorry if I break any rules by posting this but I think everyone should be warned to stay away from myghosting.org/com or [MyG]

This is part of a conversation I had with Catlin on msn

(8:55 PM) Dylan: I went to myghosting.org but it redirects to a account suspended page at freresellers.com
(8:55 PM) [MyG]Catlin Well: I know, I suspended it
(8:55 PM) Dylan: why?
(8:55 PM) [MyG]Catlin Well: I own FR
(8:56 PM) [MyG]Catlin Well: Because of one of those DDOS attacks
(8:56 PM) Dylan: I thought your name was Catlin not Christoper Lewis
(8:56 PM) [MyG]Catlin Well: Co Owner...
(8:57 PM) Dylan: [MyG]Catlin Wells says:
Co Owner...
(8:57 PM) [MyG]Catlin Well: I own it with Chris
(8:58 PM) Dylan: I see
(8:58 PM) Dylan: When will your site be back online?
(8:59 PM) [MyG]Catlin Well: Soon as I fix the attack
(9:01 PM) [MyG]Catlin Well: I keep getting Internal Server Errors
(9:01 PM) [MyG]Catlin Well: so its slowing me down
(9:01 PM) Dylan: Im curious how does suspending a account stop a DDOS attack?
(9:02 PM) [MyG]Catlin Well: Taking it offline
(9:02 PM) [MyG]Catlin Well: keeps it from being
(9:02 PM) [MyG]Catlin Well: attacked
(9:02 PM) [MyG]Catlin Well: I removed the cpanel, etc
(9:03 PM) [MyG]Catlin Well: I got 20GB Worth of Files highly classified and they could get hacked
(9:03 PM) Dylan: Ahh ok
(9:04 PM) [MyG]Catlin Well: so I stopped all access to it


Notice he says he is a co owner of Free Resellers.

But upon looking a little further into this I found some posts by him on the FreeReseller website asking for hosting.

Why would the Co-Owner be asking for hosting? *Refer to screen shot links below*


Also he claims to some he is 46 others he claims he is in his 20's but in an email I got from him asking for a job he states he is 17

Another msn conversation quote

(5:19 PM) Dylan: and my last question is. How old are you? I cant afford to be hosted by any 16 year olds any more
(5:19 PM) [MyG]Catlin: Not 16, im legal age
(5:19 PM) Dylan: What age is that?
(5:22 PM) [MyG]Catlin: over 20
(5:22 PM) Dylan: Can you give me an exact number?
(5:23 PM) [MyG]Catlin: its not relevant
(5:23 PM) Dylan: Its something that I have to get from any host that I talk to just for my own security
(5:23 PM) [MyG]Catlin: in my twentys
(5:26 PM) Dylan: 21?
(5:26 PM) [MyG]Catlin: no, 27

Copy and paste from the email *I will provide a screen shot upon request*

RealName: Catlin Wells
Age: 17
Genral Location: Moncton, new brunswick, Canada
Phone number: 506*******

I find no explanation of this and upon trying to get more info on this he blocks me on msn and will not respond.

Myghosting is also a Burst.Net reseller altho Catlin claims they are not. But if you look at the pricing and upgrade prices as well as specs they are almost identical to those provided by Burst. When I asked for a ip to ping test he gave me one from Softlayer but once I put that ip into google it was on a post over at WHT that SoftLayer made.

When I questioned that he stated that Myghosting was a partner of SoftLayer. Humm...?

Just be aware of this company/person if they ever do get there site with freeresellers unsuspended.

http://downloads.themodshop.net/data/img/gshot/myg1.jpg
http://downloads.themodshop.net/data/img/gshot/myg2.jpg
http://downloads.themodshop.net/data/img/gshot/myg3.jpg

BuzzServers-SM
07-01-2008, 12:41 AM
I have been following Catlin lately, and the story he(or she) says changes every time.

An FYI -- DOS attack, by suspending a site all it does is redirect traffic to the reseller's page, meaning the node still is under dos attack... Nice try Catlin

I would also like to point out that the Inc status is *supposedly* registered in Florida, he has also said it was done in Washington, DC. Found one in Florida, but isn't his name on it and is blank stating that the Inc had been dissolved around 1 full year ago.

Tracker1224
07-01-2008, 12:42 AM
Way to many things just dont add up do they?

BuzzServers-SM
07-01-2008, 12:43 AM
His(she? Donno which) story didn't add up since he started posting.

octron
07-01-2008, 01:19 AM
There seems to be lot of BurstNET resellers thesedays...

WireSix
07-01-2008, 01:43 AM
There seems to be lot of BurstNET resellers thesedays...

burst does little to nothing to verify the quality of their resellers and they do it at ultra-low prices so we've seen alot of scammers 'reselling' their services lately...

eclouds
07-01-2008, 02:09 AM
Actually, I have just been told that Caitlin, owner of MyGhosting was actually using a free reseller account from freeresellers.com to host clients and it has been suspended for DMCA violation.