Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : $9.99 Domain Registar that allows payment via PayPal


Justin H.
08-25-2002, 12:02 PM
The thread title says it all; sorry about not looking through previous posts/threads.

domres
08-25-2002, 03:31 PM
ok check your mail.
I can give you the item that you want.
Christos

wwww
08-25-2002, 03:33 PM
at namecheap you can pay by paypal and it's only $ 8.88 :cool:

domres
08-25-2002, 03:42 PM
are you sure?
I check the namecheap website and i not find any info about this.
Also i create a account and i try to log on and register a domain but i not find anything about paypal. Only secure pay with credit card i find.
Regards,
Christos

wwww
08-25-2002, 03:46 PM
I know, it's not stated on their website, but they do. Just send an email to support@namecheap.com and they will give you further instructions.

Justin H.
08-25-2002, 03:51 PM
Is Namecheap a respectable domain registar?

wwww
08-25-2002, 03:52 PM
They are...I am in progress to move all my domains over there...I am happy with the support and their prices.

But just do a search on this forum if u need to know more.

Acroplex
08-25-2002, 07:16 PM
RegisterFly.com

phpcoder
08-25-2002, 10:33 PM
9.75 for 1 year registration

http://speedydomainregistration.com


Their site isn't attractive but they are cheap for using Paypal and support is 100% awesome :)

TheMMIz
08-25-2002, 11:21 PM
I would have to put a vote in for RegisterFly.com. I have about ten domains with them and have yet to have any problems that werent solved within 24 hours.

planetjoe
08-28-2002, 12:28 PM
What about NameCheap's "ownership" policy found here (http://www.namecheap.com/agreement.asp) ? I'm building up some experience selecting registrars/hosts, and this is a new phrase on me:

"You agree and acknowledge that NameCheap owns all database, compilation, collective and similar rights, title and interests worldwide in our domain name database, and all information and derivative works generated from the domain name database."

Can someone tell me what this means, exactly? Does anyone know if NameCheap posts itself as the admin email contact?

That would be bad. Otherwise, it sounds fine, right?


Thanks,
pj

thewitt
08-28-2002, 12:51 PM
It means they own the rights to sell your contact information. They basically lifted this language from the eNom TOS. eNom also owns the rights to sell your contact information...

-t

planetjoe
08-28-2002, 12:58 PM
Heh. That's pretty normal, all things considered. At least I own the rights to the domain name.

Is there any comparable registrar who says they WON'T sell my info?


-pj

thewitt
08-28-2002, 01:40 PM
OpenSRS does not allow any of it's resellers to sell your contact information, and of course they will not do so themselves.

-t