Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Attorney Threat


Jerrod
05-21-2008, 08:03 PM
Er i had a request, but a more urgent matter pressed up.. Someone has e-mailed my personal GMAIL claiming that they paid for a site on my hosting company when there not even in the ip visitor list.

Now there claiming that im some big scam, part of some massive scam and there saying thank god there married to a attorney, when they havent even visited us or signed up with us.

What do you suggest about it...

E-Mail Parts Below
--------------------------
THEM
I purchased www.wheelsproductions.com through you and am paying for the hosting. Can I please have the server changed back to the generic blue wire hosting search engine? it turned into one of those "make money at home" websites and that is not what I want? Can you please help me? thanks

ME
I sorry but i dont seem to understand your request could you please elaborate some?

THEM
May I ask who you are? gmail.com is a pretty generic email address. I am trying to reach out to someone at Bluewire hosting.

ME
Im the owner of http://bluewire-hosting.com, Im confused on to how you replied to this e-mail address. I dont use the server e-mail most of the time because i use my gmail for everything. But i dont understand your request because your not paying for hosting through us, because its not in our billing system 0.o

THEM
OH, so this is part of the entire scam. OK great. I thought I had a purchased a legitimate website, but it turned out to be some idiot make money from home ********. And now, Blue wire is just as illegitimate as the scam. Thank god I am married to an attorney.

ME
What are you talking about... We are a hosting company and we are part of no scam. If someone scammed you we had no part of it. Im sorry that someone scammed you but we did not affiliate with any scammers. We are a real hosting company that takes pride in serving our members. I would try to get in touch with the person or website that scammed you not us.

All though, there is a bluewire.something i know of, it might be them instead of us?..

Also note that were not Blue Wire we are BlueWire-Hosting so.. again not us. How did you even get this E-Mail again..?
---------------

I dont know where this person came from or why there even attacking us when there not even on the visiting list. What is this a scam of theres to scare me into something or what, our Terms protect us from virtually everything. And i can assure we are no stupid scam, i havent had any problems out of anyone that has signed up with us.

Now this person from god knows where e-mails my personal email 0.o

Jerrod
05-21-2008, 08:11 PM
Sorry for the double post but they just replied with this non sense...

EMAIL
------
LOL....I just called the support number and after we got a good laugh at your imaginary ownership at GMAIL.COM email, they gave everything i needed within seconds.

now you can go back to your dancing in fairy land!

****ING MORON
----

For one we have no support "number" for 2 this all makes no since, can anyone make since out of this..

JetNet
05-21-2008, 08:16 PM
In my opinion, just leave it be unless you actually get a letter from a real attorney (her supposed husband). I wouldn't get upset over such a seemingly empty threat since 1) you don't know who this person is, and 2) she is obviously a bit wacky.

AH-Tina
05-21-2008, 08:20 PM
Don't even reply to her. Ignore, ignore, ignore.

--Tina

WII-Aaron
05-21-2008, 08:31 PM
Yea... Ignore. She obviously had the wrong company.

Jerrod
05-21-2008, 08:52 PM
Alright, thanks everyone for the quick replys..

boonchuan
05-21-2008, 09:06 PM
Looks like an empty threat to me, don't worry over it. Just tell them to send in their lawyer's letter. Seemed to be that they are barking on a few trees hoping to get the correct tree.

GrindKore
05-21-2008, 11:51 PM
Don’t respond to legal threats or attempt to negotiate or admit anything. Simply cease any e-mail or verbal communications, if they have legitimate beef with you their attorney will contact you anyway.

taylorwilsdon
05-21-2008, 11:57 PM
I don't get it. Is that supposed to be from a lawyer? If my lawyer sounded like that; he would get the boot faster then the fat... never mind.

Regardless; this isn't your problem and nothing bad will come of ignoring any further communication.

Perhaps the issue here is the result of you using the name of an existing company? Aside from being, yano, a trademark infringement; you run the risk of being mistaken for the established company. Because that's the bigger issue here.

FYI - your Gmail address is listed on the domain whois. That's probably how he/she got it.

Jerrod
05-23-2008, 09:27 AM
Hah thanks, and i forgot i had listed my personal e-mail there bleh.

And yeah its ok it was just a wacky lady because they haven't sent anymore e-mails for a long time now. So were all good i guess, just a random attempt to scare me i guess.

Any the only other BlueWire i know of is bluewiretech.net and thats completely different than my domain so im not to sure how you could possibly mix that up.

ajiabs
05-23-2008, 09:41 AM
If anybody threatens to sue or legal action by email just ignore them. Ask them to ask their lawyer contact you by registered mail. Nearly all the time that would be end of it. If the lawyer responds through proper channels, at least you have not provided them with ammunition through escalating email communication.

Manageandsupport_com
05-23-2008, 11:28 PM
Simply ignore these emails.

cywkevin
05-24-2008, 12:42 AM
Back in my day I used to get complaints from some dvd ripping software company. Good times.

abhai2k
05-24-2008, 07:34 AM
99.99% someone is messing with you. .01% someone lives in lulu land and wants to sue you. Id go with the 99.99% :P

mrzippy
05-24-2008, 12:12 PM
It is most likely your domain name or business name is very similar to whomever they meant to contact. And since you replied... they probably just assumed they got the correct company.

I suggest filing this correspondance into your recycle bin.

(BTW - it is our own standard practise that if ANYONE every mentions a lawyer or lawsuit or anything like that.. the very next reply from us will be our attorney's contact information. After that, we ignore everything. Period. I recommend you do the same, as it really cuts down on the number of idiots who pester you with email after email of threats, etc..)

bithost(NET)
05-25-2008, 03:13 AM
Didn't you know, everybody is married to a lawyer? Especially the unhappy and suspicious people. :laugh:

:D Bailey

MichelleH
05-25-2008, 03:24 AM
iff you go to www.dnscoop.com and put in www.wheelsproductions.com you can see her domain is registered through Blue Wire Domains and her dns are ns1.kioskdns.com which goes back to a higher oversold server in canada. 235 sites on it..

Personally it seems like she doesn't know the difference between her host and registrar.

So maybe she shouldn't even have a site :D

ZL6net
05-25-2008, 04:24 AM
s/he should be banned from the internet and telephones - completely-forever.

It's funny how some other company's $1 client threatens to sue YOU :)

I always ignore all legal threats until it's 'verified and registered' and/or the sheriff is serving it :) Then it cost money for nothing. I have never lost yet :)

RobM
05-25-2008, 04:56 AM
iff you go to www.dnscoop.com and put in www.wheelsproductions.com you can see her domain is registered through Blue Wire Domains and her dns are ns1.kioskdns.com which goes back to a higher oversold server in canada. 235 sites on it..


You know those count addon domain, ect right? that only tells you there are that many URL pointed to a server, it does not show if they are Parked, ect

P-nut
05-25-2008, 11:46 AM
(BTW - it is our own standard practise that if ANYONE every mentions a lawyer or lawsuit or anything like that.. the very next reply from us will be our attorney's contact information. After that, we ignore everything. Period. I recommend you do the same, as it really cuts down on the number of idiots who pester you with email after email of threats, etc..)
I think it's worth noting that you should be careful providing your attorney's contact information. Some person bent on making your life harder (but not necessarily suing) could easily contact your lawyer multiple times, resulting in a large attorney bill for you.

[inx]Olly
05-27-2008, 06:16 PM
Didn't you know, everybody is married to a lawyer? Especially the unhappy and suspicious people. :laugh:

:D Bailey

My girlfriend is at law school. I'm figuring it will be very useful in the future!

aingaran
05-27-2008, 07:01 PM
Olly;5130473']My girlfriend is at law school. I'm figuring it will be very useful in the future!

LOL.. Mine too.. But, my girlfriend wants to do family law and try to help single mothers or wives that are being abused by their husbands ... Wouldn't really be useful for my needs.

PogiWeb
05-28-2008, 08:50 AM
I would of personally first asked for a receipt of the purchase.