Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : TopHost Deals.Com


jryan54
05-17-2008, 09:53 PM
Now i'm not sure if this site is affiliate with WHT or not but I noticed a curious link back the other day and upon taking a look discovered the above site.

Lo and behold, one of the offers that I posted for the WHT community is alive and well on that website...without even a correctly functioning link. It seems that the text has been scraped directly out of the offer folder.

Now, in this case, its not really a big issue (except the links were not transferred correctly) but in some cases offers are posted for the WHT community and not for to be scraped and placed on ancilliary sites.

So is this site affiliate with WHT?? or are they simply just abusing the offer folder content and placing it on their own site??

Either way it would have been nice to be asked before having content produced by myself ripped and placed on a seperate public site.

P.S just checked their whois and its domains by proxy:rolleyes:

/end rant

ZL6net
05-18-2008, 04:07 AM
haha well hopefully a Community Liason will see this and send it to the higher up's.

boonchuan
05-18-2008, 04:09 AM
We will sure take a look into it.

anon-e-mouse
05-18-2008, 04:25 AM
I would imagine that they are grabbing the RSS feed for their blog. There are quite a few doing that now :s

Mr. Obvious
05-18-2008, 05:10 AM
Why not disable RSS feeds for certain forums?