Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Intresting Email from NameCheap (Whois Accuracy)


Dan541
05-02-2008, 11:40 PM
I just got this email reminding me to check if my whois details are accurate (which they are).

I've never gotten an email like this before and I find it strange that the reminder is only for one domain instead of ALL my domains.

If it's just a random reminder from namecheap I would expect it to be for ALL my domains since they obviously know what domains I have with them.

Does this mean someone reported my domain for whois inaccuracy?

From: "NameCheap.com" <support@NameCheap.com>
Subject: Important Notice: Please Verify Contact Data for your Domain Name(s)
Date: Sat, April 26, 2008 8:39 pm
To: whois@danscomp.net
Cc: support@NameCheap.com

Dear Domain Holder,

This message is a reminder to help you keep the contact data associated with your
domain registration up-to-date.

As of October 31, 2003 we are required by the Internet Corporation for Assigned
Names and Numbers (ICANN) to send you this reminder by the Anniversary date of each
registered Domain Name that is subject to the terms and conditions of that
organization.

Below is a list of domain names with your email address listed as the registrant or
administrative contact. The current contact information associated with the domain
may be verified by following the link provided.

If any of the contact data is inaccurate, it must be corrected. If you need
assistance in accessing your account to make these updates, please reply to this
email. If the contact data is accurate, no further action is required to comply
with this notice.

Please remember that under the terms of your registration agreement, the provision
of false Whois (contact) information can be grounds for cancellation of your domain
name registration.

Domain Names with Anniversary Dates between May 1 and May 31

Name: Registration Date:
------ -----------------
danscomp.net May 11, 2003
View Contact Data: <http://wdrp.name-services.com/whois.asp?key=E0F4AE694DA>



Thank you for your attention.

Sincerely,

WDRP Compliance
NameCheap.com

Gamik
05-02-2008, 11:50 PM
I also got a similar e-mail from NetSol. I don't think it is triggered by someone reporting it for whois inaccuracy. The e-mail says they are "required" by ICANN to remind you to check the whois details.

I notice that for the domain in question (danscomp.net), you have a whois e-mail address on the same domain (whois@danscomp.net). Is this "circular" reference wise?

- G. Amik

Dan541
05-03-2008, 12:00 AM
whois@danscomp.net is used as the email address for all my domains.

I don't check it on a regular basis.

RajanUrs
05-03-2008, 02:26 AM
I've never gotten an email like this before and I find it strange that the reminder is only for one domain instead of ALL my domains.



Probably you would have recieved for all your domains if all of them had the anniversary date falling between May 1 and May 31. Do they ?

I have never recieved from Namecheap but used to get a few random notices from Directi. I used to get a chill crawl up my spine so I would panic and check thoroughly for any mistakes/typos in the whois details.:D

ebay-nut
05-03-2008, 03:21 PM
It's a regulation to send a reminder to check your domain name whois accuracy on (or around) the anniversary date of the domains origination. It's a standard email sent by most registrars. No need to worry, as long as it's correct.

mrzippy
05-04-2008, 07:07 AM
We get hundreds of these emails every once in a while from our registrar. They are required to send them, as per ICANN rules.

Nothing to worry about. Just check and make sure the contact info is valid, and adjust if not. Then delete and have breakfast.

rony
05-04-2008, 11:56 AM
Some more information on those emails and there requirements: http://www.icann.org/registrars/wdrp.htm