Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : hosting365.ie - another rip...


Rochen
08-21-2002, 04:11 PM
After seeing a post by hosting365.ie, I had a quick look at their site and I thought, hey, I have seen that design before and I had, it looks as if it is a rip of Affinity's (Affinity Internet Inc.) site.

Affinity have changed their site slightly so it has the purple color menus etc. however it used to be 99% the same as hosting365.

Possible Rip: http://www.hosting365.ie

Original: http://affinityhosting.com (changed slightly since rip was made)
Also: http://www.affinity.com/


Unfortunately, the exact layout I am referring to wont dig up on Archive.org at the current moment due to "server problems". Anyway I think from the above 2 sites you can clearly see "similarities". It's just Affinity have changed colors slightly since the rip was made.

I am not going to formally accuse hosting365 of anything until they come on here and give us their side of the story :)

conceptual
08-21-2002, 04:16 PM
Yeah I wouldn't suggest accusing anyone. We all know what happens;)

Rochen
08-21-2002, 04:16 PM
Originally posted by ultratorture
Yeah I wouldn't suggest accusing anyone. We all know what happens;)
Exactly ;)

Raman Kumar
08-21-2002, 04:21 PM
There are some very simple javascript commands which disable the function of right-clicking. I don't know why hardly any hosting websites use this.

Rochen
08-21-2002, 04:22 PM
Originally posted by Raman Kumar
There are some very simple javascript commands which disable the function of right-clicking. I don't know why hardly any hosting websites use this.
That wont stop anyone, you can just go to View --> Source. or File --> Save As in Internet Explorer. You can also just retrieve it from your cache.

ForumsAddict
08-21-2002, 04:24 PM
There are some very simple javascript commands which disable the function of right-clicking. I don't know why hardly any hosting websites use this.

Actually that is not that effective. One can always press crtl-A and the copy using the keyboard...:)

Synthetic
08-21-2002, 04:25 PM
Originally posted by Raman Kumar
There are some very simple javascript commands which disable the function of right-clicking. I don't know why hardly any hosting websites use this. This wouldn't be of any use if a person had Javascript disabled on their browser.

conceptual
08-21-2002, 04:25 PM
I don't know if they're rips or not they seem to use the same colors, etc but they both seem to have well developed professional graphics so i don't see why they would need to rip.

ForumsAddict
08-21-2002, 04:29 PM
may be...:(

Andrew
08-21-2002, 04:33 PM
Can you explain to me how this is a 'rip'? I don't see it.

Rochen
08-21-2002, 04:35 PM
Originally posted by lightnin
Can you explain to me how this is a 'rip'? I don't see it.
You have to note the colors have changed on the Affinity site. However the general feel of the sites are the same, the way the menus are, the sections up the top.

Whether it's a rip or a copy cat or fully legit (doesn't look like it) I don't know.

Andrew
08-21-2002, 04:39 PM
I don't know, man...the source is pretty different. The colors are different, the fonts are different. I don't think it's fair to either company to call that a rip.

conceptual
08-21-2002, 04:40 PM
Yeah I agree now that these were 'modded' off of each others. Just look at the Home , Contact, Site Map, Login.

ForumsAddict
08-21-2002, 04:42 PM
Honestly it doesn't seem that clear!

MCHost-Marc
08-21-2002, 04:48 PM
Originally posted by ForumsAddict
Honestly it doesn't seem that clear!

http://www.hosting365.ie/
http://www.affinity.com/

That one sure seems a little clearer.

Synthetic
08-21-2002, 04:56 PM
In my opinion, it IS a rip. And a rather obvious one.

http://www.hosting365.ie/corporate/legal.html

http://www.affinity.com/partner/company/legal/index.php

They've even got the exact same background image for their footers.

Andrew
08-21-2002, 04:57 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi


http://www.hosting365.ie/
http://www.affinity.com/

That one sure seems a little clearer.

Yep, sure does. :)

archie2
08-21-2002, 05:02 PM
lets wait till the owner of hosting365 posts, theres always 2 sides :)

NoelRock
08-21-2002, 05:05 PM
Ooo, an Irish company under fire - I feel involved somehow ^_^!

ForumsAddict
08-21-2002, 05:23 PM
lets wait till the owner of hosting365 posts, theres always 2 sides

I agree!

Amir
08-21-2002, 05:40 PM
Originally posted by Raman Kumar
There are some very simple javascript commands which disable the function of right-clicking. I don't know why hardly any hosting websites use this.


Hello friend,

Well ... You think there's only a way to just right click and view source ? Most people will " Save As " the web site and without any hassle they start editing every single code of it.

There are some kinda script which even disables the Save As...

PS: Also it doesn't look professional to disable right click on business web sites, such as hosting providers.

Rochen
08-21-2002, 05:59 PM
Originally posted by Kiwi


http://www.hosting365.ie/
http://www.affinity.com/

That one sure seems a little clearer.
Yeah, that was the one I was trying to find Marc :)

Tom O'Connor
02-22-2004, 11:24 PM
Sorry for dragging this up again, just wanted to point out their new sites.

Notice their new sites, (the likes of the managed services)

hosting 365

http://www.servers365.ie

the planet

http://www.theplanet.com

Not very creative. :rolleyes:

I also notice on hosting365.ie their AUP states another companys name.

Aea
02-22-2004, 11:41 PM
I can't see anything that would make me think they're rips :|

desman
02-22-2004, 11:46 PM
This thread is very old, somewhat confusing when you first read it.

It seems to be now about:

hosting 365

http://www.servers365.ie

the planet

http://www.theplanet.com

Rochen
02-23-2004, 12:49 AM
It doesn't look like the company in question has changed their attitude towards copyright law since I initially started this thread back in 2002 ;)
Originally posted by desman
This thread is very old, somewhat confusing when you first read it.Which is why if anyone wishes to continue to discuss this issue it's probably best that they open a new thread on the topic :) Thread closed.