Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Meemsites.com been hacked?


xMarc
08-21-2002, 08:21 AM
I've been looking around for a host, and was developing a habit of checking thier sites to see if they are ever down, and I just checked meemsites.com (http://www.meemsites.com) (owned by a member here), and their homepage has been changed into a very strange one that just rambles about some stupid crap (and, hilariously, was made in frontpage 3.0!).

It's only their homepage that has been hacked, the rest of their site is still up, if you know the url, such as http://www.meemsites.com/special.htm.

So, look at http://www.meemsites.com. What do you think? It's been hacked?

Techark
08-21-2002, 08:26 AM
Looks like it.. Maybe you should send them and email.

pgrote
08-21-2002, 08:29 AM
Super. They think they're performing a public service:

Digital Wrapperz (http://www.digitalwrapperz.hpg.ig.com.br/)

NetXL
08-21-2002, 08:58 AM
After all the 'effort' they put into 'hacking' the server, you'd think they could put a little more effort into their spelling.

Mar-y-Sol
08-21-2002, 09:40 AM
I read their site and they just showing people security holes.
But anyway, I dont think thats the best idea to do that, with a simple email, we can fix our security holes(if any).

abuda
08-21-2002, 09:46 AM
hm

rey
08-21-2002, 10:29 AM
I guess this is their real websites (maybe)?

http://www.meemsites.com/index.html.bak

coight
08-21-2002, 10:40 AM
Originally posted by rey
I guess this is their real websites (maybe)?

http://www.meemsites.com/index.html.bak

How would you know the url?

rey
08-21-2002, 10:55 AM
I tried putting the .bak behind the index.html and it works. :)
In their site (link is posted by pgrote above), the hacker mentioned that he/she didn't delete or damage the files, so I thought the general consesus of renaming the index.html to index.html.bak.

xMarc
08-21-2002, 10:58 AM
Thats some good thinking :P Now when will meemsites realize that and fix it?

modihost
08-21-2002, 11:04 AM
lolz. its still h4x0red.

is it hosted on winblows?

appletreats
08-21-2002, 11:06 AM
According to Netcraft:
"The site www.meemsites.com is running Apache/1.3.19 (Unix) mod_perl/1.24_01 mod_throttle/2.11 PHP/4.1.0 FrontPage/4.0.4.3 mod_ssl/2.8.3 OpenSSL/0.9.6b on Linux"

If that's accurate, looks like some old stuff is running.

modihost
08-21-2002, 11:10 AM
OS: Linux

Server: Apache/1.3.19 (Unix) mod_perl/1.24_01 mod_throttle/2.11 PHP/4.1.0 FrontPage/4.0.4.3 mod_ssl/2.8.3 OpenSSL/0.9.6b

IP address: 216.40.250.8

Netblock Owner: Everyones Internet, Inc


Prob that OpenSSL/SSD exploit :confused:

modihost
08-21-2002, 11:10 AM
lol, we both ran a netcraft on it :stickout

FNM
08-21-2002, 11:12 AM
Originally posted by Mar-y-Sol
I read their site and they just showing people security holes.
But anyway, I dont think thats the best idea to do that, with a simple email, we can fix our security holes(if any).

Agreed, an email would more than suffice, they're only out for publicity, 'showing security holes' is a lame excuse, there's never any justification to deface a website, even if you destory anything or not.

Gary King
08-21-2002, 11:19 AM
Hm it's still there, doesn't look like they've found out that they've been hacked yet.

I'm sure that will lose some new customers :eek: But they'll have a story to tell now :rolleyes:

modihost
08-21-2002, 11:26 AM
That will look bad to potential clients. They are a hosting service right? Wouldn’t want my potentials thinking I am insecure.

okihost
08-21-2002, 11:54 AM
Has anyone actually emailed them yet?

Gary King
08-21-2002, 12:01 PM
Maybe they just don't have good e-mail support? :rolleyes:

EDIT: What is their e-mail address, anyways?

modihost
08-21-2002, 12:08 PM
ever actually thought about doing a whois and calling them? if they have a 800# listed..

combs
08-21-2002, 02:09 PM
I just sent them an email telling them about the problems, hope they see it

appletreats
08-21-2002, 03:06 PM
Looks like it has been fixed.

archie2
08-21-2002, 03:36 PM
I wonder if any personal information was stolen, Hope everything works out for them.

bitserve
08-22-2002, 03:32 AM
Darn, I missed it. Did anyone get a screen capture? Did they say how they got in?

Hopefully for meem's sake it was just some CGI script validation problem and not a root compromise.

That must suck, but I hope that meem will acknowledge the problem and resolve it, and not just igore it.

BTW: I wouldn't rely on netcraft for up to date version info. Why wouldn't you just query their server?

Mar-y-Sol
08-22-2002, 07:18 AM
bitserve.... I just saw the same eye pic that appear on their web site http://www.digitalwrapperz.hpg.ig.com.br/

Gary King
08-22-2002, 09:03 AM
Originally posted by Mar-y-Sol
bitserve.... I just saw the same eye pic that appear on their web site http://www.digitalwrapperz.hpg.ig.com.br/

Yes that is something similiar to what it looked like.. not quite though :rolleyes:

FNM
08-22-2002, 09:42 AM
You can find a mirror of it here (http://defaced.alldas.org/mirror/2002/08/21/www.meemsites.com/).

bitserve
08-22-2002, 08:13 PM
Originally posted by FNM
You can find a mirror of it here (http://defaced.alldas.org/mirror/2002/08/21/www.meemsites.com/).

Neat-o.