Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : i find this funny.


-Edward-
03-10-2001, 11:13 AM
ok i was going through my email box and clearing it and came accross these from dave B-e-n-w-e-l-l .. and an isp in the uk who was trying to say they wrote the websupport script which is free from why.sigh.org..

From: John Windsor
To: admin@***********.co.uk
Sent: Friday, February 16, 2001 3:27 PM
Subject: Legal Action


David,

Having spoken to the partners here at Simple Internet, we are all of the opinion that we should take this matter to our solicitors, after discussing this matter, we had a look at your web site and noticed that you had also taken our web based support scripts from our site and implemented them on your own site. To say the least, this is not a situation I think we are at all happy with and I feel the only way to resolve this would be to proceed with legal action against you, for Copyright theft and the illegal entry to one of our web based support scripts, we require you to remove your version of our scripts from your service immediately.

This matter can be solved by you either making a payment for the scripts you use from us or by you removing the scripts from your site completely, also I notice you have yet to change your site from the Webnetics template, this does not look good for you in the long run.

I look forward to hearing from you soon regarding this matter.

John Windsor.
http://www.simple-internet.net
support@simple-internet.net
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This message is intended exclusively for the individual(s) to whom it is
addressed and it may contain information that is confidential.
If you are not the addressee, you must not read, use or disclose the
contents of this e-mail. If you receive this e-mail in error, please
immediately inform webmaster@simple-internet.net and delete the e-mail.

From: John Windsor
To: admin@***********.co.uk
Sent: Thursday, February 15, 2001 11:42 AM
Subject: Simple Internet


Hi,

I have been informed by one of our customers, that you emailed them regarding a problem with our servers and informing them that they need to "Move to ***********", I would just like to point out a few facts to you, None of our customers are going to move to you and if you attempt to "Obtain" any more customers in this way, I will have no option but to put this in the hands of our solicitors, also I have noticed that your site is an almost "Direct" copy of the former Webnetics site, this is a copyright violation and I have spoken to the owners of Webnetics who will be contacting you regarding legal proceedings in relation to copyright theft. You must therefore cease any more attempts to obtain customers from Simple Internet and also remove your website and upload a non copyrighted website.

If you need to contact me regarding this matter you can phone (0115) 8403779 and I will be happy to discuss this matter with you, if no contact is made I will hand this matter over to our solicitors.

Kind Regards,


John Windsor.

http://www.simple-internet.net
support@simple-internet.net
(0115) 8403779
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This message is intended exclusively for the individual(s) to whom it is
addressed and it may contain information that is confidential.
If you are not the addressee, you must not read, use or disclose the
contents of this e-mail. If you receive this e-mail in error, please
immediately inform webmaster@simple-internet.net and delete the e-mail.


What makes me laugh about this they can do this kinda thing but send them a few simple support and sales questions and they make 101 excuses up over humanclick not to answer them. poor company

akashik
03-10-2001, 04:02 PM
This message is intended exclusively for the individual(s) to whom it is
addressed and it may contain information that is ....blah blah blah

Whoops.... I read it.

Greg Moore

Tim Greer
03-10-2001, 05:00 PM
Is that guy not stable? Does he represent that company? Couldn't get "get a clue" by simply going to the URL in which you downloaded these free GNU/GPL scripts and bring the issue up with the people that created and distributed the code? Why didn't he ask you to remove it, before just jumping right to the lawyer phase? Well, look on the bright side, at least you're not being threatened to be sued because they are running your scripts. :-) Send him the URL you downloaded it from. You've done nothing wrong and he ought to know and respect that.