
|
View Full Version : Someone trying to steal my domain :(
Energizer Bunny 03-29-2008, 09:03 PM Hello,
I was shocked to see this today, that my domain aidirectory.com is listed on sedo for sale :
http://www.sedo.com/search/details.php4?language=us&domain=aidirectory.com&partnerid=17505
I have no idea how sedo can do such a thing when i do not even have an account with them , yet alone try to sell my domain on sedo.
I got this weird email few weeks back from namecheap to verify my identity by replying, which i did but never got any reply back.
Now i am all worried, is namecheap working with someone to try to steal the domain ? OR is Sedo trying something funny here, who is to be held responsible and is it legal to list a domain for sale, without the owner even knowing about it ?
Cheers
Chris Patti 03-29-2008, 09:06 PM I don't think namecheap would or can just sell your domain like that. I would contact them with your concerns.
IH-Rameen 03-29-2008, 09:12 PM Hello,
I was shocked to see this today, that my domain aidirectory.com is listed on sedo for sale :
http://www.sedo.com/search/details.php4?language=us&domain=aidirectory.com&partnerid=17505
I have no idea how sedo can do such a thing when i do not even have an account with them , yet alone try to sell my domain on sedo.
I got this weird email few weeks back from namecheap to verify my identity by replying, which i did but never got any reply back.
Now i am all worried, is namecheap working with someone to try to steal the domain ? OR is Sedo trying something funny here, who is to be held responsible and is it legal to list a domain for sale, without the owner even knowing about it ?
Cheers
Are you sure the email was from namecheap? I often get snail mail posted to me to "verify" this and that, but just throw the letters in the bin. A lot of scams out there to watch out for..
Is the WHOIS information still correct?
marcbarak 03-29-2008, 09:18 PM I agree on the above - u better make sure you did not click your domain away
linux-tech 03-29-2008, 09:32 PM This isn't really namecheap's forum. They've got their own, and they've got a support team. Talk to them.
That said, they can't "steal" your domain like this, as long as you keep it up and paid for it's yours, providing your contact information is fine, etc.
RossH 03-29-2008, 11:05 PM I have had someone trying to steal one of my domains for a while now. I get GoDaddy transfer notices almost weekly (they now go to tash) and this person stooped low enough to register an email like mine with one letter off in the last name. I asked GoDaddy to stop sending me the notices but they claim they already did. I notified my registrar not to transfer the domain unless they get written confirmation along with a scan of my drivers license :)
Energizer Bunny 03-29-2008, 11:12 PM These are the headers of the email. I talked to their live online support and asked me to open ticket, so am doing that now. Let's see what happened here.
X-Apparently-To: myemail@yahoo.com via 216.252.110.210; Tue, 25 Mar 2008 06:36:05 -0700
X-Originating-IP: [69.72.244.98]
Return-Path: <support@namecheap.com>
Authentication-Results: mta196.mail.re3.yahoo.com from=notify-customer.com; domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
Received: from 69.72.244.98 (EHLO whois.whoisguard.com) (69.72.244.98) by mta196.mail.re3.yahoo.com with SMTP; Tue, 25 Mar 2008 06:36:04 -0700
Received: from [208.116.62.210] (helo=mailfoundry1.namecheaphosting.com) by whois.whoisguard.com with esmtp (Exim 4.63) (envelope-from <support@NameCheap.com>) id 1Je9FJ-0002xO-HC for ed9acfd2825c428a8c30316c22aa7067.protect@whoisguard.com; Tue, 25 Mar 2008 08:31:24 -0500
X-Envelope-From: support@NameCheap.com
X-Envelope-To: ed9acfd2825c428a8c30316c22aa7067.protect@whoisguard.com
Received: From mail.notify-customer.com (72.5.232.39) by mailfoundry1.namecheaphosting.com (MAILFOUNDRY) id uqm6fPpjEdynEQAw for ed9acfd2825c428a8c30316c22aa7067.protect@whoisguard.com; Tue, 25 Mar 2008 12:05:23 -0000 (GMT)
Received: from combox3 ([72.5.235.250]) by mail-01.notify-customer.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.1830); Tue, 25 Mar 2008 06:21:35 -0700
mime-version: 1.0
From: "NameCheap.com" <support@NameCheap.com>
To: ed9acfd2825c428a8c30316c22aa7067.protect@whoisguard.com
CC: support@NameCheap.com
Reply-to: support@NameCheap.com
Date: 25 Mar 2008 06:21:35 -0700
Subject: Important Notice: Please Verify Contact Data for your Domain Name(s)
content-type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
content-transfer-encoding: quoted-printable
Message-ID: <DC-03-SFOuG5wQ0l8Hv00059441@mail-01.notify-customer.com>
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 25 Mar 2008 13:21:35.0724 (UTC) FILETIME=[2672D2C0:01C88E7B]
Sender: postmaster@notify-customer.com
X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - whois.whoisguard.com
X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - whoisguard.com
X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [47 12] / [47 12]
X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - NameCheap.com
Did you buy this domain from somebody? If it's a new reg, check the domain out on www.archive.org. It's probably only an old listing from the previous owner. It may have been regged before. Contact Sedo to have it removed.
Energizer Bunny 03-29-2008, 11:50 PM Did you buy this domain from somebody? If it's a new reg, check the domain out on www.archive.org. It's probably only an old listing from the previous owner. It may have been regged before. Contact Sedo to have it removed.
Nope seems like www.archive.org shows it was registered before, but i have had this domain for a year now, and only recently i noticed it is up for sale, so i couldnt be an entry from the past.
It could still be an old listing. Just ask Sedo to remove it.
3DProf4online 04-01-2008, 03:33 PM You need to contact your current registrar asap and explain them the situation in detail. Once your account is verified justice will be done!
Energizer Bunny 04-01-2008, 05:00 PM You need to contact your current registrar asap and explain them the situation in detail. Once your account is verified justice will be done!
Yes i did, they tell me to contact sedo, and sedo is not even responding to my emails !! Any ideas how to contact sedo ?
Would imagine such a big site would have actually someone to look at their emails !!
Domainitor 04-01-2008, 05:11 PM I've been really disappointed with sedo. They blew a six-figure domain sale....
Your registrar has nothing at all to do with it.
Someone listed one of my domains on sedo several months ago. I sent e-mail to Legal@SEDO.com and told them that they were perpetrating a fraud, that neither the domain nor company was for sale, and that their failure to respond could result in legal action against them. That got their attention....
Energizer Bunny 04-01-2008, 07:00 PM I've been really disappointed with sedo. They blew a six-figure domain sale....
Your registrar has nothing at all to do with it.
Someone listed one of my domains on sedo several months ago. I sent e-mail to Legal@SEDO.com and told them that they were perpetrating a fraud, that neither the domain nor company was for sale, and that their failure to respond could result in legal action against them. That got their attention....
K thanks for the tip let me try the same trick :blush:
|