AceWeb
08-12-2002, 07:42 PM
Here is a reply, to me, from SpamCop that I recived, after I got an unexpected e-mail from them:
I'm sorry you got tangled up in this. The mail you're getting that looks like it's from SpamCop is a forgery. The whole thing is a hoax. We have a revenge seeking spammer who is trying his best to cause trouble for us by causing trouble for you. This is the second attack on us this week. For the current run, the originating IP appear to be 63.164.145.33 You may be able to block the traffic on that basis. SpamCop is an anti-spam reporting service that sends something like 100,000 legitimate complaints a day to spammer hosts worldwide, which has made this particular spammer very angry. However, we only send complaints about specific messages, not general indictments of a system, or anything like that.
Actual SpamCop complaints would come from an address like
12345678@reports.spamcop.net.
Each complaint has a unique numbered address. Addresses such as postmaster, webmaster, hostmaster, abuse, support, etc are not in use on our system. Obviously we send bounce notices and stuff like that, but generally not anything else.
Also, see this URL: http://www.julianhaight.com/forgery.shtml
I'm sorry you got tangled up in this. The mail you're getting that looks like it's from SpamCop is a forgery. The whole thing is a hoax. We have a revenge seeking spammer who is trying his best to cause trouble for us by causing trouble for you. This is the second attack on us this week. For the current run, the originating IP appear to be 63.164.145.33 You may be able to block the traffic on that basis. SpamCop is an anti-spam reporting service that sends something like 100,000 legitimate complaints a day to spammer hosts worldwide, which has made this particular spammer very angry. However, we only send complaints about specific messages, not general indictments of a system, or anything like that.
Actual SpamCop complaints would come from an address like
12345678@reports.spamcop.net.
Each complaint has a unique numbered address. Addresses such as postmaster, webmaster, hostmaster, abuse, support, etc are not in use on our system. Obviously we send bounce notices and stuff like that, but generally not anything else.
Also, see this URL: http://www.julianhaight.com/forgery.shtml
