Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Visit from Micro$oft


(SH)Saeed
08-12-2002, 12:19 PM
We just had a visit from Micro$oft.com. I took a screenshot of our HumanClick which is attached to this post.
This is the site they came from: http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=unlimited%20bandwidth%20warez

Anyone else been honored by their visit? :D

rlynch
08-12-2002, 03:47 PM
all that means is an MS employee went to ur site.

AcuNett
08-12-2002, 03:53 PM
I have not been blessed Saeed

AceWeb
08-12-2002, 03:58 PM
You should of sent them a message back, via HumanClick, saying:
"Is this Bill?" :D

BattleForums
08-12-2002, 04:34 PM
Looks like one of microsoft's employees is looking for somewhere to host his warez content, with unlimited bandwidth! I guess their application process isn't that tough, eh? LMAO

Sina
08-12-2002, 04:42 PM
What a traitor !!!

You should report him to Bill

ned patter
08-12-2002, 05:07 PM
Originally posted by AceWeb
You should of sent them a message back, via HumanClick, saying:
"Is this Bill?" :D

HU HU HU HU:D . I had an email from a well known prank caller called Robin and it was a blank one like trying to scare me and i emailed him back saying "Robin is that you sending prank emails now?".

(SH)Saeed
08-12-2002, 05:27 PM
I should email bill@i.own.microsoft.com and tell him I know who's been distributing all those warez versions of their products. For only $1,000,000,000,000.00 I can share my knowledge. :D

zRedDice
08-12-2002, 05:38 PM
Heh Heh. Good old microsoft.

- James

labzone
08-12-2002, 06:14 PM
It's likely Microsoft's anti-piracy team looking for illegally distributed Microsoft software and those hosts that allow this type of activity.

GlideTech
08-12-2002, 06:24 PM
Originally posted by labzone
It's likely Microsoft's anti-piracy team looking for illegally distributed Microsoft software and those hosts that allow this type of activity.

My thoughts exactly. :)

ethos
08-12-2002, 06:44 PM
They are just getting into control panel business :)

R Doherty
08-12-2002, 07:05 PM
Tut tut. A Micro$oft employee using Google, they won't monopolise the search engine market like that ;)

mrzippy
08-21-2002, 11:31 AM
Hey, if you see Bill.. be sure to pass along this address:

http://www.gimmeabuck.com/bill_gates.shtml

modihost
08-21-2002, 11:34 AM
well, actually. either some employee is searching for warez. or they are running some sort of web spyder so find warez sites? :confused:

archie2
08-21-2002, 04:13 PM
theres over 30,000 microsoft employees :) all of them are human you know hehe

mjehlenz
08-21-2002, 06:33 PM
Originally posted by archie2
theres over 30,000 microsoft employees :) all of them are human you know hehe
Are you really sure about the latter? ;-)

Cu, Moritz

markcastle
08-21-2002, 08:17 PM
We've been getting visits from tideXX.microsoft.com for years. I looked into it a while back (around 4 years ago) and came to the conclusion that is was a spider (can't remember what the reasons were).
Cheers.

stodge
08-21-2002, 09:15 PM
If they came from a warez site to yours, I'd be wondering why.

markcastle
08-22-2002, 12:52 AM
LOL - they were'nt my sites mate, just sites we hosted.
Not the type of sites that would have Warez on either.
Cheers

clocker1996
08-22-2002, 05:51 AM
i remember that tide stuff

I used to have a friend, who worked for a company, that did things for microsoft, they delivered products or they made SOMETHING that helped microsoft

i don't know what exactly they did
just saying
they had some association with them
my point is

he used to come on irc
with tidesomething.microsoft.com

thats what he told me

so i bet that wasn't microsoft, it was just someone who works for a company that's some how related to MS

eheheeh
go in your logs
and do

grep ".gov" *

e.g.

i think on cpanel its...? /usr/local/apache/domlogs/ ??

Either way, just search your access logs for .gov or .mil

i found this in mine!
host-4.ca5.uscourts.gov
and ext-enterprise.edwards.af.mil
LOL