Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Fraud Warning: albstaff.net


Haze
08-11-2002, 10:09 PM
This is just a warning to hosts not to accept any orders for a domain albstaff.net. We have had multiple orders from this character, each time using a spoofed IP address. S/He uses a different IP, username, credit card each time, but always seems to use the same domain name. We have had 2 chargebacks from orders we overlooked with this character and have since then received a number of new signups each being declined by us. This person has used the email address secure_agent@yahoo.com to sign up a couple of times, which is also listed as the contact address in a whois lookup on the parties domain name.

Here is a whois for you all:

Registrant:
AlbStaff
AlbStaff Server
Chatworlds, IRC 67565
US

Domain Name: ALBSTAFF.NET

Administrative Contact:
Staff, Alb secure_agent@yahoo.com
AlbStaff Server
Chatworlds, IRC 67565
US
+1.1111111111

Technical Contact:
Staff, Alb secure_agent@yahoo.com
AlbStaff Server
Chatworlds, IRC 67565
US
+1.1111111111



Registration Service Provider:
Web.com, domains@web.com
203-740-2335
http://www.web.com


Registrar of Record: TUCOWS, INC.
Record last updated on 07-Aug-2002.
Record expires on 26-Jun-2003.
Record Created on 26-Jun-2002.

Domain servers in listed order:
NS.VALUEWEB.NET 216.219.253.211

NS2.VALUEWEB.NET 216.219.254.10

Samuel
08-11-2002, 10:17 PM
Thank you for the heads up

Aussie Bob
08-11-2002, 11:09 PM
Thanks Beau. :)

Marts
08-12-2002, 01:52 AM
sweet!

Cheers

pcsteve
08-12-2002, 02:01 AM
;)

thanks!

AussieHosts
08-12-2002, 02:24 AM
Sounds like a candidate for www.hostabuse.com

Gary

Haze
08-12-2002, 06:16 AM
Gary, I would submit to host abuse if my old user / pass combo worked, but it doesn't. I have attempted to contact the hostabuse folks with no avail. I also signed up again with no luck.

AussieHosts
08-12-2002, 06:23 AM
Yes, I wish whoever is running that would put some more effort into it. It should be a terrific resource, but too many people are having problems trying to make use of it.

Gary

enetwork
08-12-2002, 12:46 PM
We've caught this character trying to use stolen credit cards at namecheap.com. In fact, he tried to register the domain albstaff.net with us but was quickly caught and deleted. I guess he managed to register it with someone else. I'm going to send an email to the current registrar to let them know.

enetwork
08-12-2002, 01:05 PM
I just spoke with "Jeff" over at Web.com (where the domain is registered) and gave him a link to this thread.

dweebzilla
08-12-2002, 01:53 PM
got the note - thanks.

This guy is not one of our chronic offenders, however I have put it up for action.

Thanks again - jeffs