Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Free $1,000? This is a joke


UNIXIELHOST
03-05-2001, 03:29 PM
***** will give you $1,000, here's how:

We will beat any competitors prices on comparable hosting services by 10%. If we can't we will pay you $1000!


Please, that's full a joke doesnt it? :emlaugh:

AtlantaWebhost.com
03-05-2001, 03:51 PM
Interesting. I would like to see how long they continue to offer that deal.

akashik
03-05-2001, 03:52 PM
hehe. time to go look for the cheapest plans on the net and get them to beat it. That either means I get a great deal, or $1000 :)

The sad part is, even with an incentive like that I don't have the slightest urge to use their services...

Greg Moore

MSW
03-05-2001, 04:08 PM
Well, we can all be in collusion here. We can make up plans for $1.00 that gives you everything that CI gives on their highest plan and wait and see if they beat it.

akashik
03-05-2001, 04:16 PM
You know... that's not such a bad idea... :)

Oh wait, they can just wait us all out. They don't have any support team to pay remember? *lol*

Greg Moore

dektong
03-05-2001, 04:17 PM
Weinbar, may I sign for your $1 plan? :D

cheers,
:beer:

Duster
03-05-2001, 04:17 PM
It may very well have come from auto dealers and their deceptive marketing. It doesn't matter what amount they stipulate. It could be a million dollars and the results would be the same.

If someone seriously held them to their advertisment, all they have to do is beat it by 10%. Chances are that it will be cheaper than the $1,000. I'd almost guarantee it.

Aside from that, there's the fine print. It may have to be exactly the same services. If anything is different, anything at all, ***** can claim "we offer you more". In fact, they do offer many free, poorly made programs, like wwwboard, as part of their services.

It doesn't matter that a potential customer may not want those value less programs installed. ***** can claim they add additional value and that the comparison with other hosting services is outside the purview of their $1000 dollar offer.

MSW
03-05-2001, 04:21 PM
Understandable, but it would be fun to mess around with the a little!

Chicken
03-05-2001, 08:05 PM
Originally posted by akashik
The sad part is, even with an incentive like that I don't have the slightest urge to use their services...

Greg, ditto. Besides, I'd rather use one of the hosts that post here.

Dylan
03-05-2001, 08:58 PM
I think ***** is on their knees.

UNIXIELHOST
03-05-2001, 11:59 PM
I ve send them request $9 hosting with $10 setup fee for everything and what I send them is:

500MB Hosting
UNLIMITED Bandwidth
UNLIMITED POP3 Accounts
Accesable POP3/STMP Server
UNLIMITED E-mail Fwd/Alises/Blocks
25 mySQL Databases
PHP/SSI/ Available
CGI Bin access
Nice easy control panel
24 hours technical support/email
Instant setup

That about it ...

See if I'll get $1,000? :emlaugh:

m6.net
03-06-2001, 12:49 AM
I did some research on ***** and found this http://www.geocities.com/hostingmonitor/

don't forget to read http://www.wired.com/news/technology/0,1282,40673,00.html This link is for different company
but story awares you not to play any game which needs to give away your credit card details.

How many of you will have an account with them now???

[Edited by m6.net on 03-06-2001 at 01:01 AM]

Dylan
03-06-2001, 01:06 AM
Me, not!

m6.net
03-06-2001, 01:26 AM
what about rest of the people in this discussion board?

Dylan
03-06-2001, 01:30 AM
Your wired link brought up some other company.

m6.net
03-06-2001, 01:43 AM
Youn want me to spoon feed you. Here is the exact link

http://www.geocities.com/hostingmonitor/*****

I gave the other link for everyones information that how much trouble one may face by giving away his/her credit card details to anyone just becasue of some silly or too promising offers and without proper investigation.

[Edited by m6.net on 03-06-2001 at 12:48 AM]

Dylan
03-06-2001, 01:47 AM
Ye

http://www.wired.com/news/technology/0,1282,40673,00.html

is about Page Creators, not CI

Jburnley
03-06-2001, 02:14 AM
If this is is not a mere scam, then the company should be going broke soon. Is this something they actually said or someone simply made it up? I still find it hard to believe they would say that!

m6.net
03-06-2001, 07:57 PM
It is mentioned on their site, have a look http://*****.com/?zone=products/shared_unix_hosting_details

Also they are giving away 2 round trip airfare ticket if you prepay for 1 year.

hmmmmm... no comments.

Deb Suran
03-06-2001, 08:22 PM
I was a ***** victim. For more on *****, see http://www.forumhosts.com/hosts.htm.

klisis
03-06-2001, 08:29 PM
Anyway, I must say their sie looks professional.