View Full Version : Internetseer give false info to advertise hosting?
jgriff64 08-09-2002, 05:56 PM Does any one use internetseer. We signed up some time ago and do not really rely on them for info but it seems they have started sending mail alerts saying site is on error when it isnt, I have noticed this a few times. The problem is though the email elert advertises that the host is down and if you host with their compnay you will not see this downtime. I see this a a bit rude.
Has any one else seen this problem.
Regards
sbhmike 08-09-2002, 06:06 PM yes i have the same problem
i got an email from them saying i had an account ,but i never signed up for one ,it turned out that a search engine submission i made created the account for me .
i didnt mind at the time i seemed to be getting a low form of service for free.
they send you emails saying because your site has been down you have earned $45.00 etc .it`s pure spam .i just delete them now
ShagHost 08-09-2002, 06:08 PM Not only is it rude, but slimy as well.
Sort of like McDonalds saying that Burger King's beef
contains E. Coli bacteria so buy McDonald's burgers to stay healthy.
:smokin:
imitech 08-09-2002, 06:12 PM You’re not the only one, I’ve got a few about 6 last week and 2 this week each time they’re reporting that the site is down but in fact its working perfectly :mad: I’ve decided to stop using them looking for an alternative.
I think they’re probably sending out false alerts either to make the user signup to their advertised hosting company or pay to have the URL monitored every X minutes.
Anybody have any suggestions I don’t mind paying would like an SMS service so they would text to your mobile when your site was down.
JSpired 08-09-2002, 06:16 PM imitech,
I use several monitoring services, one of which is http://easymonitor.com/. It sends a message to my mobile if there's ever a problem.
imitech 08-09-2002, 06:29 PM Thanks for link WiredDog, I think Easymonitor are having problems of their own :D I can’t seem to signup keep on getting ‘Error! Search text not found’. I will try it later, thanks again!
JSpired 08-09-2002, 06:43 PM imitech,
The reason you're getting that error is because you need to upload a small text file into your main directory yet. Easy Monitor searches for that file when trying to locate your site. Name the file uptime.txt and the only text that needs to be present in the file is the word "success." Unfortunately, their website doesn't explain that very well. Do that and check again, and you should be good to go!
<edit>These directions actually apply to a different monitoring service. Sorry. See link below for another service, since you already have the directions down pat. :) </edit>
http://uptime.alal.com/uptime/add-url-form-prestuff.tcl?email=jodik%40terracom%2enet
AceWeb 08-09-2002, 07:19 PM I heared others complain that internetseer does that too. For some company it showed a site was down for 24 hours. For me, however, internetseer is fine, I am yet to have a probelm with them.
That service is a joke.
I think they send them monthly.
I get them once a month, whether my site is down or not.
Once my site was down and I didn't get the spam.
I guessed it wasn't time to spam me yet.
jgriff64 08-10-2002, 05:16 PM Thanks guys, that is interesting. I know that some of our customers use this service and think it is bad that they are being given this missleading information.
I will try one of those other services.
Regards
nvphone 08-10-2002, 10:20 PM Originally posted by WiredDog
imitech,
I use several monitoring services, one of which is http://easymonitor.com/. It sends a message to my mobile if there's ever a problem.
Works just fine.
Does not need text file.
I have been using them for months.
bitserve 08-10-2002, 10:55 PM One of our users got this interesting spam from them, and forwarded it to me.
"On Tue Jul 30, 2002 at 11:17:01 PM EDT I was unable to reach your web site:
http://www.CENSORED.com
due to the following error: Host Not Found
As of Wed Jul 31, 2002 at 08:36:29 AM EDT I am able to access your web site again.
I work for InternetSeer, a Web site monitoring company. InternetSeer is conducting an ongoing study of web connectivity. As recommended by the Robots Guidelines, this email is being sent to explain our research activities and to let you know about the difficulty in connecting to your site.
The error listed above was initially detected by our primary site monitor in Philadelphia, Pa. then verified by our secondary site monitor located in Los Angeles, Ca. before this error event was recorded..."
What a load of useless, inaccurate, and misleading information to be sending out to our users.
fantasmic0 08-10-2002, 11:21 PM :D
www.easymonitor.com works absolutely fine for me - and no .txt file needed as someone described above .
I've found them very reliable , because I try to monitor THEM as often as I can :) ... whenever they have said our site is down or unreachable or has a 403 error -- it's been true :)
Of course with our new hosting company it's still on 100% uptime :stickout .
akashik 08-11-2002, 09:54 AM The trouble with InternetSeer is the network they're on. Long time ago I had them looking at our site along with QwkMon. InternetSeer would shoot all kinds of warning saying 'site down' while QwkMon was quiet as a mouse. Checked the site and it's working fine. Traceroute to InternetSeer and it's their network that's having the problems.
So naturally they'll send a report - when the pipes they're on clear up :D Flawed service who now seem to be making bad choices as well.
Greg Moore
avara 08-11-2002, 03:42 PM InternetSeer are engaging in poor business practices. It's as simple as that. I've seen the problem where they send out emails claiming that "your server was down", even though it was actually their own network, as well.
Stay away from them. There are lots of other similar services that are either completely free, or almost free, that do not engage in things like this.
susannad 08-11-2002, 11:58 PM but is it actually true that your sites were up when inernetseer said they were down ?
absolutely correct ? you know for a fact ?
I just want to get this clear in my head
akashik 08-12-2002, 12:59 AM Originally posted by susannad
but is it actually true that your sites were up when inernetseer said they were down ?
absolutely correct ? you know for a fact ?
I just want to get this clear in my head
Well the last time I ever got an InternetSeer report before having the service switched off was the day I was working on the site via both http and ftp. We also had two signups for webhosting while Internetseer was reporting us down.
So unless I was seeing things, and two people managed to sign up via a down website, I can say with a great level of certainty that the site was up, and the report was wrong.
Also previous to that, when we had humanclick on our site I could see people crossing the website, and was even in chat with one of them once, when sure enough, Internetseer sends a report saying we were offline.
Good enough reasons to toss their service as far as I was concerned
Greg Moore
JSpired 08-12-2002, 01:39 AM Originally posted by nvphone
Works just fine.
Does not need text file.
I have been using them for months.
I corrected my post right after originally posting. As I mentioned on the previous page, I was referring to another program. It does work great, no text file needed.
Chicken 08-12-2002, 01:45 AM We too (here at the forum) got a report that the site was down, and while this may be true (it does happen), I wonder if we all got it the same day. I briefly looked at the email and it looked a heck of a lot more like an ad than any type of useful report.
susannad 08-12-2002, 07:50 AM Well the last time I ever got an InternetSeer report before having the service switched off was the day I was working on the site via both http and ftp. We also had two signups for webhosting while Internetseer was reporting us down.
enough said
thanks
ginagamo 08-13-2002, 12:52 AM Do you have to sign up for this service before you start receiving reports?
I got an e-mail from them this morning and i never signed up with them.
:spam: or not?
akashik 08-13-2002, 12:55 AM no they're very democratic - they'll send their junk to anyone *sarcasm*
I think the main cause is the Claymont search engine though - one of the ones listed in CPanel's search engine submit option though it might be due to a few other things - spider maybe?
Greg Moore
|