Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Bluegenesis.com Anyone?


334online
12-17-2007, 06:45 PM
I have been receiving calls from BlueGenesis both on my cell phone and on the office phone - solicitation type calls. I can't find much information here about them but finding some interesting things through online searches. Anyone have any experience with them?

The calls are coming out of a Canada number but the guy said he was in Louisiana. Usually a man with heavy accent states he is not a reseller and provides the best service. I asked him to send me an email but haven't heard any more from him.

Any information greatly appreciated.

PremiumHost
12-17-2007, 11:07 PM
Search on WHT return some results but the topics are quite old.

PogiWeb
12-18-2007, 02:55 AM
I would never signup with a provider who contacts me via phone and especially if it was during dinner :P

iHubNet-Matt
12-18-2007, 09:02 AM
Did you get a chance to have a quick search on them in this forum and may be in the google? That may give you an idea about them.

Do a little homework and that will also help you to compare them with others too.

334online
12-18-2007, 11:04 AM
I did search google as well as other sources. I am not finding much recent information but am finding negative info dating back several years. Here is one thing of interest that my google search turned up and don't know how much of a "sample" it is but still interesting ...

http://contracts.onecle.com/hostopia/royal-bank-credit-2005-02-17.shtml

AeonCube
12-18-2007, 12:13 PM
I would never signup with a provider who contacts me via phone and especially if it was during dinner :P

I agree with that :laugh: did he give you a website address (apart from Bluegenesis.com) or any other contact details for him apart from the number on your phone?

tru1
12-18-2007, 12:58 PM
Havent heard of em, but a search via google could also help.

AeonCube
12-18-2007, 01:20 PM
I did a search for 'Bluegenesis.com' and the top was their website but it had googles extra links which normally mean they are a large scale business.. I might be wrong here.

334online
12-18-2007, 02:17 PM
The number appearing on caller ID is 416-883-3025 but this area code doesn't appear on their website anywhere. I don't know ... sounds like a scam to me.

egyptiantech
03-04-2008, 05:25 PM
Hey, guys. This thread looks a bit old. I received a call from them today with that telephone number. It was a young lady with either a cuban-type of accent. She stated that she was calling for a Gerald Bradley and he was interested in my site's services in the Illinois area. Being a former 911 dispatcher, I immediately began interrogating her because this was a rather odd call. Typically my services are advertised via word-of-mouth and are focused in a 4 county-spread accross Southern Illinois. When asked about BlueGenesis, I got the feeling that this young lady my not be a bonafide employee, but possibly an outsourced phone dialer. When asked about "Mr. Bradley" I got the answer "He works here, too, I think" Not a really positive answer. --I Digress... She went on to tell me that he was interested in our services and wanted permission for him to call me within 3 days. I have to say that my curiosity overran my sensibility and I told her "yes, any time is fine". I have placed a call into the HR Dpt. of BlueGenesis inquiring as to whether they have a "Mr. Bradley" working for them. I had actually heard of BlueGenesis in the past. It's my understanding they operate a few farms, one in Canada and one in Florida. From the info I've gotten, they sort of a chop-shop style joint. I will keep you all posted if anything progresses.

Mr Burke
07-08-2008, 03:31 PM
This is unbelievable to read actually. Calling Blue Genesis, fly by night or a "chop-shop style joint" is almost a joke. BlueGenesis was just acquired by Deluxe Corp. in a $125 million merger/acquisition with Hostopia.com Inc. making Deluxe one of (if not THE) largest provider in the world of private labeled, managed, hosting and email services. We should all be so fly-by-night. Make sure you know what's up in the industry before dragging a companies name through the mud. I see maybe 5 people here who are offering negative comments about Blue Genesis. They also seem to be related to hosting providers themselves, but I could be wrong. I personally would never sign up with a company who used a public forum as a way to bash another company in an attempt to gain business. There are 349,995 (+/-) currently hosted on the Blue Genesis/ Hostopia network who are obviously satisfied.

AeonCube seems to be the only individual with a web compass. Good observation re: Google search results!!

Can you tell I work for Blue Gen? The thing to remember in looking at forums like this when searching for a host provider is that no one that is happy and busy making money in their business would have the time to go online and write up reviews of their hosting company...they just know it works and they keep doing what they are doing. That 2-5% of folks who have become disatisfied with a service, those who have too much time on their hands or those who are trying underhanded ways to get new customers are generally the only ones that will dedicate this kind of time and energy.

egyptiantech
07-08-2008, 03:42 PM
-I was not rating their service, nor soliciting business. And by "chop-shop" I meant that they are known for consolidating smaller businesses by buying out their customer base. -As the gentleman whom the young lady asked for permission to call, NEVER called, I'm guessing that this was their attempt to see our customer-base in poise for a buyout of some type or another. -Like I said. I'm not attempting to rate, berate, or associate with them, I was just taken aback by their antics. Good luck with the merger.

-cheers

ldcdc
07-08-2008, 04:27 PM
The thing to remember in looking at forums like this when searching for a host provider is that no one that is happy and busy making money in their business would have the time to go online and write up reviews of their hosting company...they just know it works and they keep doing what they are doing."no one"... that leaves little to interpretation. Any statistics to back your claim?

That 2-5% of folks who have become disatisfied with a service, those who have too much time on their hands or those who are trying underhanded ways to get new customers are generally the only ones that will dedicate this kind of time and energy.So that is a characterization of our forum members as a whole (with your exception)? If so, I admire your boldness, but strongly disagree with your opinion. :)

Besides, just because 2-5% represent a minority, it doesn't mean their troubles, if real, are any less important.

All that being said, I 100% agree that you have the right and probably the moral duty to disprove any libelous claims being made by a third party, be it with or without a personal agenda.

Nnyan
07-08-2008, 08:00 PM
How about I would never sign up with a company that spam calls me while I'm at home?