
|
View Full Version : Is someone trying to Hijack microsoft.com?
markcastle 08-07-2002, 09:00 AM Oh Dear (apologies if this has been said before)....
Go to www.opensrs.org and punch microsoft.com into the whois....
I get back....
--------------------------------
Whois Server Version 1.3
Domain names in the .com, .net, and .org domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.
MICROSOFT.COM.WILL.CRASH.IN.6MN.ORG
MICROSOFT.COM.WILL.BE.BEATEN.WITH.MY.SPANNER.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.SUX.BUT.PYROFREAK.ORG.RULEZ.AND.DIOXYTECH.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.SHOULD.GIVE.UP.BECAUSE.LINUXISGOD.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.RAWKZ.MUH.WERLD.MENTALFLOSS.CA
MICROSOFT.COM.IS.SOON.GOING.TO.THE.DEATHCORPORATION.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.IS.NOT.SEXYCOOL.ORG
MICROSOFT.COM.IS.A.STEAMING.HEAP.OF.****ING-BULL****.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.HAS.ITS.OWN.CRACKLAB.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.FILLS.ME.WITH.BELLIGERENCE.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.BLOWME.ORG
MICROSOFT.COM.AND.MINDSUCK.BOTH.SUCK.HUGE.ONES.AT.EXEGETE.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.AINT.WORTH.****.KLUGE.ORG
MICROSOFT.COM
To single out one record, look it up with "xxx", where xxx is one of the
of the records displayed above. If the records are the same, look them up
with "=xxx" to receive a full display for each record.
>>> Last update of whois database: Wed, 7 Aug 2002 04:49:33 EDT <<<
The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .ORG, .EDU domains and
Registrars.
--------------------------------
Also get the same when going to ....
http://www.uwhois.com/cgi/whois.cgi?User=Default&query=microsoft.com
Odd.
WTF?????? :confused: :confused: :D
sitekeeper 08-07-2002, 09:23 AM :stickout COOL :stickout
p1net 08-07-2002, 09:43 AM How they hell did they do that??? I have never seen anything like that before. :confused:
markcastle 08-07-2002, 10:06 AM Don't know but the live records at Internic appear to be unaffected....
http://www.internic.net/cgi/whois?whois_nic=microsoft.com&type=domain
citrus 08-07-2002, 10:13 AM Yeah it's weird, but I've seen it posted here before and it's no big deal.
I'll look for the posts...:)
citrus 08-07-2002, 10:14 AM Here:
http://webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=19185&highlight=microsoft.com+whois
Funny, I get MICROSOFT.COM resolved to 207.46.230.220
DNS Query Results:
; <<>> DiG 8.3 <<>> any MICROSOFT.COM
;; res options: init recurs defnam dnsrch
;; got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 4
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 14, AUTHORITY: 6, ADDITIONAL: 6
;; QUERY SECTION:
;; MICROSOFT.COM, type = ANY, class = IN
;; ANSWER SECTION:
MICROSOFT.COM. 1h53m55s IN MX 10 maila.MICROSOFT.COM.
MICROSOFT.COM. 1h53m55s IN MX 10 mailb.MICROSOFT.COM.
MICROSOFT.COM. 1h53m55s IN MX 10 mailc.MICROSOFT.COM.
MICROSOFT.COM. 1h53m2s IN A 207.46.197.100
MICROSOFT.COM. 1h53m2s IN A 207.46.197.102
MICROSOFT.COM. 1h53m2s IN A 207.46.230.218
MICROSOFT.COM. 1h53m2s IN A 207.46.230.219
MICROSOFT.COM. 1h53m2s IN A 207.46.230.220
MICROSOFT.COM. 1d21h51m56s IN NS DNS1.TK.MSFT.NET.
MICROSOFT.COM. 1d21h51m56s IN NS DNS3.JP.MSFT.NET.
MICROSOFT.COM. 1d21h51m56s IN NS DNS3.UK.MSFT.NET.
MICROSOFT.COM. 1d21h51m56s IN NS DNS1.CP.MSFT.NET.
MICROSOFT.COM. 1d21h51m56s IN NS DNS1.DC.MSFT.NET.
MICROSOFT.COM. 1d21h51m56s IN NS DNS1.SJ.MSFT.NET.
;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
MICROSOFT.COM. 1d21h51m56s IN NS DNS1.CP.MSFT.NET.
MICROSOFT.COM. 1d21h51m56s IN NS DNS1.DC.MSFT.NET.
MICROSOFT.COM. 1d21h51m56s IN NS DNS1.SJ.MSFT.NET.
MICROSOFT.COM. 1d21h51m56s IN NS DNS1.TK.MSFT.NET.
MICROSOFT.COM. 1d21h51m56s IN NS DNS3.JP.MSFT.NET.
MICROSOFT.COM. 1d21h51m56s IN NS DNS3.UK.MSFT.NET.
;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
maila.MICROSOFT.COM. 1h53m55s IN A 131.107.3.125
maila.MICROSOFT.COM. 1h53m55s IN A 131.107.3.124
mailb.MICROSOFT.COM. 1h53m55s IN A 131.107.3.123
mailb.MICROSOFT.COM. 1h53m55s IN A 131.107.3.122
mailc.MICROSOFT.COM. 1h53m55s IN A 131.107.3.126
mailc.MICROSOFT.COM. 1h53m55s IN A 131.107.3.121
;; Total query time: 2 msec
;; FROM: cable.tera-byte.com to SERVER
;; WHEN: Wed Aug 7 08:17:55 2002
;; MSG SIZE sent: 31 rcvd: 497
WWWhois Results:
Connecting to whois.crsnic.net...
Ambiguous query, multiple matches for MICROSOFT.COM:
Whois Server Version 1.3
Domain names in the .com, .net, and .org domains can now be registered
with many different competing registrars. Go to http://www.internic.net
for detailed information.
MICROSOFT.COM.WILL.CRASH.IN.6MN.ORG
MICROSOFT.COM.WILL.BE.BEATEN.WITH.MY.SPANNER.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.SUX.BUT.PYROFREAK.ORG.RULEZ.AND.DIOXYTECH.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.SHOULD.GIVE.UP.BECAUSE.LINUXISGOD.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.RAWKZ.MUH.WERLD.MENTALFLOSS.CA
MICROSOFT.COM.IS.SOON.GOING.TO.THE.DEATHCORPORATION.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.IS.NOT.SEXYCOOL.ORG
MICROSOFT.COM.IS.A.STEAMING.HEAP.OF.****ING-BULL****.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.HAS.ITS.OWN.CRACKLAB.COM
MICROSOFT.COM.FILLS.ME.WITH.BELLIGERENCE.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.BLOWME.ORG
MICROSOFT.COM.AND.MINDSUCK.BOTH.SUCK.HUGE.ONES.AT.EXEGETE.NET
MICROSOFT.COM.AINT.WORTH.****.KLUGE.ORG
MICROSOFT.COM
To single out one record, look it up with "xxx", where xxx is one of the
of the records displayed above. If the records are the same, look them up
with "=xxx" to receive a full display for each record.
>>> Last update of whois database: Wed, 7 Aug 2002 04:49:33 EDT <<<
The Registry database contains ONLY .COM, .NET, .ORG, .EDU domains and
Registrars.
IP Whois Results:
Connecting to whois.arin.net...
Microsoft (NETBLK-MICROSOFT-GLOBAL-NET)
One Redmond Way
Redmond, WA 98052
US
Netname: MICROSOFT-GLOBAL-NET
Netblock: 207.46.0.0 - 207.46.255.255
Coordinator:
Microsoft (ZM39-ARIN) noc@microsoft.com
425-936-4200
Domain System inverse mapping provided by:
DNS1.CP.MSFT.NET 207.46.138.20
DNS2.CP.MSFT.NET 207.46.138.21
DNS1.TK.MSFT.NET 207.46.232.37
DNS1.DC.MSFT.NET 207.68.128.151
DNS1.SJ.MSFT.NET 207.46.97.11
Record last updated on 20-Jun-2001.
Database last updated on 6-Aug-2002 20:00:12 EDT.
The ARIN Registration Services Host contains ONLY Internet
Network Information: Networks, ASN's, and related POC's.
Please use the whois server at rs.internic.net for DOMAIN related
Information and whois.nic.mil for NIPRNET Information.
markcastle 08-07-2002, 10:37 AM Originally posted by citrus
Yeah it's weird, but I've seen it posted here before and it's no big deal.
I'll look for the posts...:)
Yeh - fairplay citrus - i did say "apologies if this has been said before.... " and did a search here before i posted - guess i'll have to search harder next time. Cheers all the same. ;-)
VescotUK 08-07-2002, 10:45 AM Its always like it lol..
The same on aol too.
It all depends on where you look up the info from :)
michaeln 08-07-2002, 10:50 AM Umm it seems those are or once was actual websites. Such as:
http://MICROSOFT.COM.IS.NOT.SEXYCOOL.ORG
It's an old prank, and has nothing to do with "hijacking" microsoft.com. Look again:
MICROSOFT.COM.WILL.CRASH.IN.6MN.ORG
That's not in the microsoft.com domain, it's in 6mn.org. All you have to do is register a nameserver with whatever name you want that creates a sentence ending in your domain name.
VescotUK 08-07-2002, 11:14 AM Too right Jay...
Good advertising too I must say :)
Ok I can tell is is .org, and not the microsoft.com address, but how do they get the MICROSOFT.COM.WILL.CRASH.IN.6MN.ORG address to show up in the whois?
VescotUK 08-07-2002, 04:33 PM Is someone wanting to stick a lovely message up microsofts backend? :)
StarGate 08-07-2002, 08:37 PM Originally posted by RFhost
How they hell did they do that??? I have never seen anything like that before. :confused:
I have, with Yahoo.com ;)
|