Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Clearwebhost - Is this company for real?


FloHost
08-05-2002, 02:47 AM
They sent me a spam email to my email address: travis@flohost.com (duh)



Hi,
All great websites needs a reliable web hosting provider, we are here to provide you with
superb hosting for an affordable price and exceptional support.

Here is our special offer to you:

Signup here: http://65.56.0.102

For $9.99
You will recieve:


* 5000 MB of bandwidth
* 1 Gig of Diskspace (Nobody beats this feature!)
* CGI access for your scripts
* FULL SSH/telnet access for full control of your website
* Online Email manager
* FREE Website Statistics (So you can see full details of your visitors!)
* FREE 1 MySQL Database ($50 value)

* And Best of all 30 day money back guarantee. We stand behind our service and know you will love it!

You can signup by going here:

http://65.56.0.102


Dave Bour


UnSubScribe from our list here:

Hit reply and send an email back with the subject REMOVE and
you will be promptly removed.


----


I went there and I saw this:


For $100 a month I can get this:

1 GB of Disk Space
60000 MB/Month data transfer
24/7 Access To your account
Control Panel
Domain name Registration Services
Free .com or .net or .org domain name ($100 value!)
Graphical Web Usage Statistics
True Virtual server (http://yourname.com)
Full Shell account
Full compiler and script development account
Java and JC++
Perl
Crontab
Online Access to your Control Panel
Instant modifications to your accounts
Real-time support online
24/7 Access by SSH
24/7 Access by FTP
OC-3 (155 megabit/s) redundant connection
Server Side Includes (SSI)
Access to RAW log files
24/7 Tech Support

Email Services

3 Master Pop3 Account
3 Configurable Pop3 Account
3 Forwarding options
3 auto responders

CGI Script Capabilities

Your own CGI-BIN directory
PERL , C , UNIX shell


Database Access

MySQL Access
Control Panel Interface to Database setup



Questions? Try our Signup




Since when does a domain cost $100? Also, if I have questions I have to signup? What the heck, please tell me nobody is hosting with this company. According to them a MySQL database (singular) has a $50 value, give me a break.

Travis Rowland

FloHost
08-05-2002, 02:49 AM

JSpired
08-05-2002, 03:37 AM
I think they've made the rounds quite a few times lately. See here (http://www.webhostingtalk.com/search.php?s=&action=showresults&searchid=507505&sortby=lastpost&sortorder=descending)

okihost
08-05-2002, 04:28 AM
Originally posted by FloHost
They sent me a spam email to my email address: travis@flohost.com (duh)

According to them a MySQL database (singular) has a $50 value, give me a break.

Travis Rowland

Ahh yes the infamous $50.00 database.. :rolleyes:

Lats
08-05-2002, 06:21 AM
Originally posted by AceWeb
Will this company make it to the *'s list?
Very good point!

They've certainly made enough in the spam points collection as far as I'm concerned.


Lats...

JayC
08-05-2002, 09:37 AM
I don't think a company name would be banned here for spamming in the outside world. It's only done for spamming within the forums.

By the way Travis, posting your email address in plain text in a public forum isn't the best way to avoid spam!

FloHost
08-05-2002, 06:36 PM
Originally posted by JayC
I don't think a company name would be banned here for spamming in the outside world. It's only done for spamming within the forums.

By the way Travis, posting your email address in plain text in a public forum isn't the best way to avoid spam!


:blush:

VoxKeysGtr
08-05-2002, 06:48 PM
Where do I sign up for the free $100 domain? Tell me. I can't wait. What a steal! :rolleyes:

Lurleene
08-05-2002, 07:34 PM
What's up with the IP address instead of a domain name? :rolleyes:

Skie
08-05-2002, 07:46 PM
the IP dosen't have contact information.

Smokie
08-05-2002, 07:55 PM
pings at a blazing 264ms

bert
08-05-2002, 08:34 PM
Search results for: 65.56.0.102

Level 3 Communications, LLC (NETBLK-LC-ORG-ARIN-BLK2)
1025 Eldorado Boulevard,
Broomfield, CO 80021
US

Netname: LC-ORG-ARIN-BLK2
Netblock: 65.56.0.0 - 65.59.255.255
Maintainer: LVLT

Coordinator:
level Communications (LC-ORG-ARIN) ipaddressing@level3.com
+1 (877) 453-8353

Domain System inverse mapping provided by:

NS1.LEVEL3.NET 209.244.0.1
NS2.LEVEL3.NET 209.244.0.2

ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE

Record last updated on 09-Nov-2001.
Database last updated on 4-Aug-2002 20:00:00 EDT.




Pretty bad, perhaps they don't even have a real domain name. I wonder if users are really getting their hosting accounts setup.

WiseOnline
08-29-2002, 03:11 AM
Ahh! Look what I found; http://www.you-agree-to-send-me-1000-usd-if-you-send-me-email.com/clearwebhost.com/

LordLardo
09-15-2002, 04:19 PM
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\LordLardo>tracert 65.56.0.102

Tracing route to ns.clearwebhost.com [65.56.0.102]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms 63.199.167.9
2 9 ms 8 ms 8 ms dist1-vlan50.snfc21.pbi.net [206.171.134.130]
3 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms bb1-g1-0.snfc21.pbi.net [209.232.130.28]
4 8 ms 8 ms 8 ms bb2-p14-0.snfc21.pbi.net [64.161.124.54]
5 60 ms 110 ms 9 ms bb1-p13-0.sntc01.pbi.net [64.161.124.241]
6 171 ms 108 ms 10 ms 64.161.1.42
7 33 ms 10 ms 10 ms bb1-p6-3.pxpaca.sbcglobal.net [64.161.1.13]
8 138 ms 109 ms 77 ms 151.164.89.154
9 11 ms 11 ms 10 ms p13-0.core02.sfo01.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.28.
57]
10 11 ms 10 ms 10 ms p15-0.core01.sfo01.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.6
9]
11 56 ms 56 ms 56 ms p14-0.core01.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.4
1]
12 60 ms 60 ms 145 ms p15-0.core02.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.6
2]
13 117 ms 82 ms 143 ms p6-0.core02.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.85
]
14 82 ms 82 ms 97 ms p6-0.core01.jfk01.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.12
2]
15 117 ms 148 ms 96 ms g49.ba01.b002894-1.jfk01.atlas.cogentco.com [66.
28.65.142]
16 200 ms 231 ms 223 ms 209.123.13.58
17 118 ms 83 ms 113 ms ns.clearwebhost.com [65.56.0.102]

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\LordLardo>


Cogent, Cogent Cogent

kkimmel
09-15-2002, 11:15 PM
Now who the hell would pay $100.00 to register thier .com/net/org domain?

AntiSpamHosts
09-15-2002, 11:22 PM
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: Yay for WiseOnline :):)

Lurker
09-18-2002, 07:52 AM
Originally posted by kkimmel
Now who the hell would pay $100.00 to register thier .com/net/org domain? We all did a few years ago. $50 per year with a two year minimum, remember? :)

deadserious
09-19-2002, 12:01 AM
I have recieved spam from them also.



----- Original Message -----

From: danielaaszw@mac.com
Sent: Friday, September 13, 2002 2:04 AM
To: name@domain.tld
Subject: Your Site Information

Hi,
All great websites needs a reliable web hosting provider, we are here to provide you with
superb hosting for an affordable price and exceptional support.

Here is our special offer to you:

Signup here: http://test.colohosts.com/~paid/1/

For $9.99
You will recieve:


* 5000 MB of bandwidth
* 1 Gig of Diskspace (Nobody beats this feature!)
* CGI access for your scripts
* FULL SSH/telnet access for full control of your website
* Online Email manager
* FREE Website Statistics (So you can see full details of your visitors!)
* FREE 1 MySQL Database ($50 value)

* And Best of all 30 day money back guarantee. We stand behind our service and know you will love it!

You can signup by going here:

http://test.colohosts.com/~paid/1/
Daniel Spring


UnSubScribe from our list here:
http://test.colohosts.com/~paid/cgi-bin/removeemail.cgi <-- lol yea right at that working.

I have received this same spam mail from http://www.clearhost.com more than once. Notice they have the exact same page lol. It seems they have a bunch of these pages or urls that redirect to the same page or something.

Akash
09-19-2002, 12:03 AM
Originally posted by Lurker
We all did a few years ago. $50 per year with a two year minimum, remember? :)

i paid $14.95 for my first domain - that lasted 3 years :D