Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : is this a scam?


tdotn
08-04-2002, 11:03 AM
Can somebody tell me if this is a scam? just curious.
It says that its expired domains, but look at the domain names, what kind of an idiot would of registered the names anyway? I think these names are suppose to fool you into thinking its a short domain, for example, heres one of their 'expired domains'
"0------------------------------------------------------exercise.com"
yes..that whole thing in between the " " is the domain name, and I think its trying to fool you that the domain name is 'exercise.com'. I doubt anyone would of registered this name in the first place, for it to expire, I think its just their made up list of names to scam people.

visit and click on one of their names...
https://secure.registerapi.com/order/ed/index.php?siteid=2871

what do you think?

okihost
08-04-2002, 11:27 AM
Yeah it is supposed to fool people who dont really know better.. Seems to me like the registrars are getting dirtyer(sp?) by the day now. Some have even been sending out fake expiration notices just to fool you into transfering to them.. The only I know of that has not done anything like this yet is godaddy so i'll stick with them.

Styles
08-04-2002, 09:46 PM
What would the registrars accomplish by 'fooling' you? I believe this is just a procedure used by all registrars to test out their system.

VoxKeysGtr
08-05-2002, 12:40 AM
Originally posted by Styles
What would the registrars accomplish by 'fooling' you? I believe this is just a procedure used by all registrars to test out their system.

I used to wonder what kind of dumbass registered those types of domains. This makes sense, though, a domain test that can't possibly be used or typed in by accident. Cool. :cool:

Tux-e-do
08-05-2002, 12:51 AM
I think these guys are looking at registering domains that are the full length eg 64 characters.

People remember things that are different, now just a way to make them remember how many dash's. :D

rlynch
08-05-2002, 12:59 AM
tdotn had it right. theyre trying to trick idiots into believing their registering exercise.com and others. but i guess if ur stupid enough to fall for that trick, u deserve to be scammed.

rlynch
08-05-2002, 01:03 AM
Originally posted by Styles
What would the registrars accomplish by 'fooling' you? I believe this is just a procedure used by all registrars to test out their system.

waht do tehy get? they get ur money.

"test out their systems"? how naive are u...

Acroplex
08-05-2002, 01:07 AM
You can't register a domain that begins with a dash anymore. It was only available for a short time, due to a software glitch. Now this dufus adds a zero in the front.

rlynch
08-05-2002, 01:09 AM
the best part is the non-existent link to the "Domain Dispute Policy'