Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Is this guy for real?????


Acroplex
07-30-2002, 01:02 PM
There is no such thing as an AMD K6-III 725 MHz!
This guy (see auction below) replied with the following insane excuse for listing the computer as such :D

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?MfcISAPICommand=ViewItem&item=2041962181

"Since I am the one who owns the computer and I am the one who did the processor upgrade to an AMD K6 III processor with a clock speed of 725mhz I am only reporting the information that the computer puts out in terms of the processor speed according to the software that came with it."

JTY
07-30-2002, 01:14 PM
It was probably one of those Evertech upgrades. Which some use K6 III, while others used some of the VIA/Cyrix chips. And, I bet his BIOS didn't recognize the CPU.

cabalstudios
07-30-2002, 01:14 PM
maybe he overclocked it? :confused:

DigitalXWeb
07-30-2002, 01:16 PM
Or the multiplier may be set incorrectly in BIOS.

Acroplex
07-30-2002, 01:29 PM
I think he is just BSing in order to make the PC sound more powerful than what it is.

This is not an upgrade. The K6-III maxxed out at 450 MHz and had a max multiplier of 5.5 - with an FSB of 100MHz you cannot reach the number 725 in any combination!

See the Socket 7 AMD CPUs multiplier settings here: http://www.elsaco.com/epox/support/faq-51.html

Tux-e-do
07-30-2002, 10:43 PM
I wonder what the software was?

Windows? :D

Its like when copying files from HDD to HDD always misrepresents the amount of time for transfer.

3423984579 Microsoft minuts

Acroplex
07-30-2002, 10:57 PM
LOL

No clue.

DotComster
07-31-2002, 04:16 AM
Hmmm - Think he would barter it for - my 286?
At least it still has it's EGA moniter :)

Studio64
07-31-2002, 06:55 AM
Possible Answers to the KIII-725 :D..

1) It's not. (My first guess)
2) It's overclocked (Unlucky buyer)
3) It's this (http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=63641) (And we can all get a laugh again :D)