Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : Impressive spammer ( auto screenshot)


Roy@ENHOST
07-30-2002, 07:48 AM
HI guys,

I recently received a spam that is technically advanced compared to the usual ones.I even wonder how they did this.
In the spam letter, they actually had a screenshot of my website embedded into it. This is definitely not a manual work but automated one. You can tell by looking at the missing flash files in the screenshot compared to the actual site at www.enhost.com

Anyone knows how this works?

URL:
http://www.enhost.com/enhostdotcom.html
and http://www.enhost.com/enhostdotcom2.html

Joana
07-30-2002, 07:50 AM
I have been getting those for Ages.. been reporting them to SpamCop, their ISP to no vail..

Roy@ENHOST
07-30-2002, 08:03 AM
SeekerCenter.net (http://www.enhost.com/enhostdotcom.html )
has their site hosted by a China Webhosting company so if you wanna make a complain you should learn to type in Chinese.
But even then I doubt they even give a damn.

What impressed me is how they did the auto screenshot. I am still wondering how it is done.

Joana
07-30-2002, 08:09 AM
if you check your logs, i nelieve you would see entries from a local HD with the program name..

alohahosts
07-30-2002, 09:45 AM
I received this but it was for one of my personal sites. the screenshot they used was about 2 years old... go figure.

Andrew
07-30-2002, 10:18 AM
Yeah, I got that last week. I fired back an email to 'Christine' ripping her a new one for sending an spam geared towards one of my customers to support@lightningservers.net. Never got a response...:p

Roy@ENHOST
07-30-2002, 10:36 AM
You mean 'Christine' sent you an email that was addressed to your customer instead?

Anyway anyway to find out who is hosting trafficmagnet?
I tried to WHOIS but their Nameserver is ns5.trafficmagnet.com
instead of ns.theirISP.com
Let's get them to the SPAM COPS :cool:

Originally posted by lightnin
Yeah, I got that last week. I fired back an email to 'Christine' ripping her a new one for sending an spam geared towards one of my customers to support@lightningservers.net. Never got a response...:p

edude
07-30-2002, 10:58 AM
No spammer is impressive in my books :D

WII-Aaron
07-30-2002, 11:28 AM
Do a lookup on the IP, it'll tell you who's thier provider.

http://www.arin.net

Aaron

Roy@ENHOST
07-30-2002, 11:41 AM
I use samspade.org and cant get anything about their ISP from it. http://www.samspade.org/t/lookat?a=202.108.221.169


Originally posted by WII-Aaron
Do a lookup on the IP, it'll tell you who's thier provider.

http://www.arin.net

Aaron

CyberScript
07-30-2002, 12:05 PM
They use a really simple .net thumbnail generator to do this.

Here's the url to the example web service and code:
http://www.gotdotnet.com/playground/services/thumbnailgen.aspx

mwatkins
07-30-2002, 12:38 PM
One word: SpamAssassin

Other than keeping an eye on my reject log, more out of curiousity than need, spam is a thing of the past for me.

GlideTech
08-03-2002, 08:46 PM
I have reported these guys to Spam Cop I don't know how many times. They also spam alot of my customers and its starting to get to me. I do alot of advertising/search engine placement for people so when they receive an email from some spammer saying they are not listed in the search engines, it makes them wonder.

Too bad there really isn't anything you can do to stop this crap.

JSpired
08-03-2002, 09:17 PM
Same here. We've had customers forward the spam to us and question why they're receiving it. We've been getting the same thing ourselves for some time. Also tried reporting it.

Roy@ENHOST
08-04-2002, 03:00 AM
Thats really terrible.

Im doing search engine positioning for my clients too.
God knows how much time I spent tweaking their codes and submiting to both free and paid engines. Then the Email from traffic magnet just blasted the whole effort in one Email.
And customers forwards the mail to me too.

But I was kinda impressed by their use of the auto screenshot though.

Originally posted by GlideTech
I have reported these guys to Spam Cop I don't know how many times. They also spam alot of my customers and its starting to get to me. I do alot of advertising/search engine placement for people so when they receive an email from some spammer saying they are not listed in the search engines, it makes them wonder.

Too bad there really isn't anything you can do to stop this crap.

Roy@ENHOST
08-04-2002, 03:02 AM
Anyway thanks a lot CyberScript for pointing out the page to us. It really answered my question in the first post.:)

iamdave
08-04-2002, 05:55 AM
I get those every month, asking me to promote my site.

Roy@ENHOST
08-04-2002, 06:12 AM
maybe we can setup a site www.anti-christine.com
:D

Hmmm....somehow the domain sounds very anti-christ to me....

Originally posted by AceWeb
I was getting those e-mail from ages too, and from Christine aswell.

VescotUK
08-04-2002, 07:22 AM
Just as well, we can have an antireligous center too... its all a load of crap anyway.

As for spam, im damn glad that we havent gotten much yet... we've had a few... when I get it, the address its from is something like traffic@ultrasarch.com or some crap like that, I just email admin@ultrasearch.com with a LOT of harsh language :) sometimes they use a phony reply address though... esp in xxx spam.

anon-e-mouse
08-04-2002, 09:02 AM
Originally posted by VescotUK
we've had a few... when I get it, the address its from is something like traffic@ultrasarch.com or some crap like that, I just email admin@ultrasearch.com with a LOT of harsh language :) sometimes they use a phony reply address though... esp in xxx spam.
You can guarantee that 95% of spam has a fake email address, that is where spamcop comes in, enable full headers and copy the whole lot into their report box, they will determine the exact people to report it to.

MGCJerry
08-04-2002, 02:59 PM
I get them from Sarah... It makes me want to rip Sarah a new ***hole... :eek:

How bout starting a site trafficmagnetsucks.com ???

The domain is available too :D

Webdude
08-05-2002, 01:04 AM
These people have become among the worst spammers on the net. I'm sure every anti-spammer on the net has tried everything in their power to shut them down. The best thing you can do is block any emails from them thru your servers.