X-treme
02-25-2001, 06:02 PM
Did I miss something somewhere or is this for real?? I noticed that ***** has posted on their site that they are now Verihost certified??? How can that be and how much did it cost them?? Unless this is a new company I doubt things have changed any in the past several months. Or like I said I might have missed something.
X-treme
jtan15
02-25-2001, 06:21 PM
It's all money. Usually (not all the time though) hosts get awards based on how much money they spend on advertising or how much they spend to get their membership. It's a shame. :(
Although if this company is like many web host guilds, it usually doesn't matter where your company stands. All you need to do is pay the membership, and if no one complains to the guild, you are fine. That is how I understand it. Maybe VeriHost is different.
[Edited by Vincent Paglione on 02-25-2001 at 05:23 PM]
dektong
02-26-2001, 08:10 PM
Is cavendo.com the same as *****.com?
I did a traceroute to cavendo.com and the name ***** was revealed there... In fact, cavendo.com have an advertising thread a few days ago, but it has been deleted for some reason... The thread was: http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?threadid=6249
cheers,
:beer:
jtan15
02-27-2001, 12:15 AM
They are probably ***** resellers. I've heard ***** offers a rather nice reseller deal. Either that or they have a dedicated server with *****. :)
[Edited by Vincent Paglione on 02-26-2001 at 11:19 PM]
X-treme
02-28-2001, 05:53 PM
If I recall correctly they have dedicated servers with *****. I remember reading something about the two companies relationship and I am pretty sure that was what was said.
X-treme
Markj
02-28-2001, 11:55 PM
Verihost is run by the same people at TopHosts.com :)
Check it out!
what makes you think that Verihost is run by the same people at TopHosts.com?
MattF
03-05-2001, 07:11 PM
I believe Rob the owner of Tophosts has a vested interest in VeriHost, he is one of the founding members.
However it could be possible that ***** was awarded the VeriHost award due to excellent customer services and knowledgable technicial support, and that when you ring up and ask if you get an IP with the account they do not forward you from department to department and keep you on the line for hours, that they have an excellent uptime record for both DNS :) ,mail and and http, that there has been hundreds of positive reviews about them and many customers come from Word-of-Mouth and not the multi-thousand dollar advertising campaigns, that the management have so much faith in the company and its operations that they do not attempt to block negative reviews or publicity,
[Edited by MattF on 03-05-2001 at 06:14 PM]
Kaith Sutai-Rustaz
03-06-2001, 12:12 AM
ROFLMAO!!!!! :)
You mean you can get positive reviews without bribing and controling the ratings? Wow!!!!
Jburnley
03-06-2001, 01:59 AM
Some people sometimes are too quick to jump to any sought of criticism. Obviously there have been torns of complaints against *****. But the simple fact that they still remain in business means that they are obviously serving more satisfied clients than disgruntled clients. I am not saying here that they may not have some serious problems. I do not know because I have never hosted with them.
However, it may be worth wile investigating more rather than jumping to conclusions solely based on negative criticism on a message board
James Cross
03-06-2001, 10:05 AM
The fact that ***** is still in business doesn't necessarily mean that they are supporting more customers than those they are letting down. It could mean that they are simply able to sign up more customers than they are losing. Speaking from direct experience of dealing with Chris Faulkner their CEO. I can assure you that he's more than willing to break all the rules when it comes to acquiring new customers. The use of fraudulent awards and fictitious quotes from third parties are only a couple of the ones they are currently operating.