Web Hosting Talk







View Full Version : CW Staff trying to send virii...


AdamTuttle
07-25-2002, 06:02 PM
I would just like to show you all a little bit of what happened in the chat room today...

We got a lame flood today in the wingtalk channel on webchat... Where customers can discuss anything they want about CyberWings..

Below is the flood:

<Guest3906> http://dwbridges.phpwebhosting.com/backup/laurie_duncan_with_a_horse/virus/
<Guest3906> http://dwbridges.phpwebhosting.com/backup/laurie_duncan_with_a_horse/virus/
<Guest3906> http://dwbridges.phpwebhosting.com/backup/laurie_duncan_with_a_horse/virus/
<Guest3906> http://dwbridges.phpwebhosting.com/backup/laurie_duncan_with_a_horse/virus/

Now we just thought that was some lamer, but by easily doing a whois we recognized that it was no other then the General Manager of CyberWings, Geek4Rent..

(wholine Guest3906 - address;) Geek4Rent@=XMhk868b52.maine.rr.com * Geek4Rent
(channels; #wingtalk)
(server; arena.webchat.org)

Just a thought, if they want to keep there customers, then they shouldnt be trying to have them infected with virii ;)

Adam

Synthetic
07-25-2002, 06:06 PM
How foolish of them...

eric650
07-25-2002, 06:08 PM
yeah I must say that's pretty pathetic. That and shawn's not-so-reputable history in the google cache. lol

mindboggle
07-25-2002, 06:13 PM
Virii? Isn't it just plain old viruses? :D

webhappy
07-25-2002, 06:51 PM
real interesting; I always thought the correct form is "virii" too

A look at dictionary.com shows virii is NOT a real word.

magick
07-25-2002, 06:58 PM
intrestingly enough - for the first time ever i got an attempted send of a virus to me when i passed through the cyberwings irc channel earlier today, i didnt recognize the user names and should have done a whois but i just left since the chan was modded anyway (as it has been for a couple days now) and made sure nothing got to my machine..
would be surprised if they have a stooge in there doing it too :rolleyes:

Subsim
07-26-2002, 12:16 AM
Goes to show what I have said all along, these CW staff and stooges are not innocent and as in-the-dark as the hapless customers. Apabacas, Geek, and the rest are complicit with Shawn in this scam. They should be ashamed.

skylab
07-26-2002, 03:14 AM
they should all be sued and/or arrested for perpetuating this fraud of a "company".

Global-Host2
07-26-2002, 03:16 AM
"Virii? Isn't it just plain old viruses? "
Virii is what the script kidies call it.

Haze
07-26-2002, 03:43 AM
Virii is most commonly used when refering to more than one virus ( properly known as: Viruses ), though it may not be listed in the dictionary.

shaunewing
07-26-2002, 01:32 PM
Originally posted by Global-Host2
"Virii? Isn't it just plain old viruses? "
Virii is what the script kidies call it.

Yep, it's viruses.

An excerpt from dictionary.com (http://www.dictionary.com/doctor/faq/v/virus.html)

Q. What is the plural of virus?
A. Viruses.
It is not viri, or (which is worse) virii....



There is also an interesting discussion at http://www.perl.com/language/misc/virus.html

--Shaun

Qacer
07-26-2002, 01:33 PM
File a complain against Cyberwings:

http://www1.ifccfbi.gov/cf1.asp

For more info visit:

Cyberwings Owes Me Money (http://www.cyberwingsowesmemoney.com)

shaunewing
07-26-2002, 01:34 PM
Originally posted by webhappy
real interesting; I always thought the correct form is "virii" too

A look at dictionary.com shows virii is NOT a real word.

I always thought this too up until a few weeks ago when I stumbled on a lengthy article at http://www.perl.com/language/misc/virus.html and then later on the FAQ at dictionary.com.

--Shaun.

phpwebhosting.com
07-27-2002, 09:41 AM
Hi,

I wanted to note that we've removed the account in question below. Please let us know if there are any other problems.

Best Regards,

phpwebhosting.com Abuse Dept.

P.S. I also wanted to make it clear that we have nothing to do with "CyberWings" - we just received a notice that this account was abusing. I noticed the referrer link from here when checking things out so I thought I would post a reply here. Good day! :)

anne2000
07-27-2002, 03:55 PM
If Cyberwings personnel like Geek4Rent would attempt to infect Cyberwings customers, what might they do if we gave them the detailed information that they are requesting on the questionnaire - telephone number, postal address, email address, PayPal detailed information, etc.?

Is it safe to give them that information - especially if a person doesn't really think that it's going to do any good?

skylab
07-27-2002, 05:22 PM
read all of the cyberwings posts on this forum and you'll see how obviously unsafe it is to get even close to involved with cyberwings.